We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UTOPIA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bardessono

Save Saved
You added Bardessono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bardessono
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Spa Package
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Hartford
1 review
“UTOPIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

That's right, this is the "UTOPIA" of the Napa area. If you can imagine a place where the best restaurants in the country are a street away and a hotel that will give you FREE transportation to and from, its true... Rarely can one say the best thing about a 5 star + hotel are its management and staff, but in this case its 100% accurate. From the moment you arrive to the moment you are sadly departing the most professional, courteous, and personable staff welcome you as if you are family not just once but every time you come in contact with them. In addition, the 62 luxury rooms are surrounded by beautiful plush landscaping and soothing water ponds that are meticulously maintained. If your desire to visit immediately has not been peaked yet, add in a restaurant that houses its own garden to provide the freshest and most flavorful fruits, vegetables, and herbs, with an outstanding chef and restaurant menu that serves Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner on a level equal to REDD (a michelin star restaurant) which is a scarcity for a "hotel" restaurant which is usually mediocre at best including the 5 star ones (those of you who have been know what I speak of).... Oh.... did I mention the hand-crafted one-in-a-million type cocktails using those ingredients as well???? If you are visiting the area and are fortunate enough to book a reservation here you better do it immediately. This combination of luxury, mgmt, outstanding staff, food, and beautiful surroundings only occurs in one place "UTOPIA" and Bardessono is it!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There are NO BAD rooms to choose from, each has amazing amenities and luxurious eco-friendly charact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Citizen860,

Can't thank you enough for this. I know who you are because you were so complimentary during your stay. I so appreciated being "summoned" to our restaurant, Lucy. I didn't know what to expect, and have to admit to being relieved that all you wanted to tell me was how much you were enjoying your stay.

We all look forward to serving you again on your trip our way next May.

All the best and many thanks.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    657
    61
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
533
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Fantastic property. Hotel was modern and luxurious with HUGE room/suites. Bathroom was over-the-top and bigger than many rooms in NYC!

We had a beautiful terrace big enough for two chaise lounges and a bistro table and chairs. Great mountain views. The service was incredible. Great bar and restaurant with excellent wine choices by the glass or bottle. The pool was a perfect way to end each wine touring day. Which, by the way, the hotel helped arrange a wonderful car service for all our wine touring.

We went in early August and are already planning our trip back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear NewDemRex,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Your review is thoughtful and comprehensive. We really appreciate it.

A small word of caution to readers.....only our upstairs rooms have views, and the views from a number of them are a bit unremarkable. In our marketing, we are careful not to promise sweeping views of the Valley, as we are in in-town luxury hotel. But the view from our rooftop swimming pool is stunning.

Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to your return.

Best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Bardessono is a 62 unit hotel in the heart of downtown Yountville, walking distance from any Bib Gourmand or Michelin Star restaurant you can think of.

62 units? How do they even make money? Well, my friends that's why the rooms have dat price tag on them. :(

What's included in your reservation:

Bikes to ride around downtown
A three hour test drive of a hybrid Lexus
Wifi (yay!)
Valet parking

It is one of the most beautiful hotels I've had the opportunity to stay at. Bardessono is truly an architectural marvel. I highly suggest taking a walk around the grounds to appreciate the water features, art, and greenery.

The rooms are absolutely gorgeous. I LOVE how modern they look. We stayed in a king steam spa suite that we could barely bring ourselves to leave.

My question is why does Bardessono even have a spa?

Who needs a spa when you have a two person, extra deep, self drying, jet tub in your room? Did my boyfriend and I take nine baths in the course of the two nights we stayed there? MAYBE. Did we pump a cup full of shower gel each time to make bubble baths because their bubble bath soap costs $32? DEFINITELY.

The steam shower is SO relaxing. There's a door in the actual shower that leads to your patio where you have an outdoor shower. Yes, you get your own patio with high walls for extra privacy. The patio also include a lounge area separated from the shower by some plants.

Fun fact: they include hair conditioner in the room! None of that shampoo/conditioner stuff, ACTUAL hair conditioner.

In-room fireplace is awesome.
Bed is very luxurious and comfortable.
Complimentary water bottles in the fridge!
Complimentary roasted almonds bedside!
iPhone dock and media center present so you can plug in your laptop to watch movies.

I can't complain about one thing.

Even the service is exceptional. Glass of chardonnay upon check-in and a personal guided tour of the grounds? Yes, please!

Will I be back? Undoubtedly.

Room Tip: You cannot miss out on the King Steam Spa Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Trang H,

What a wonderful and thorough review. So glad you experienced so much of what we have to offer. And you're right. We are pricey, but we believe our value proposition is sound. We subscribe to the old adage....."you get what you pay for".

Thanks so much for staying with us. We look forward to your return.

Best wishes from your friends at Bardessono,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Bardessono for our anniversary in a Tufa suite (suite 104). I am very glad that we picked that suite, as with the rain, we really used the fireplace. The room was enormous, and delightful. The bathroom was the best part, with a tub for 2, big shower, separate vanities, and a large dressing area. It was the special touches that really elevated the Bardessono: the turn down service was really a mini-clean, including all new, plentiful towels; filtered cold glass water bottles left in our wine chiller; our personal welcome with red wine, then chocolates and champagne in the room; the concierges which gave us great information and made a French Laundry reservation for us; the in-room massages; the lovely bath products--plus no tiny bottles; quick wi-fi and docks/speakers for all our iPods/iphones; umbrellas and so-quick arriving courtesy cars...the list just goes on.

We will be back. We highly recommend this hotel for a lovely, romantic stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Notacamper99,

What a wonderful review. Thank you. We so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Tufa Suite 104 is wonderful, as is Tufa Suite 101, mentioned in the previous review.

We hope you'll return....soon and often.

It was a pleasure serving you.

Best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
874 helpful votes 874 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I, along with our dog, stayed the past 4 nights at the Bardessono for our second visit in 2 years. We again stayed in a Tufa King Suite, but this time we had a more private location (room 101) with our garden being located to the outside of the property as opposed to our last one located within the property--giving our room more privacy and more natural light.

Service was extraordinary again. My husband made a mistake on our room service breakfast order one morning, and I thought the hotel had erred. Within 15 minutes, room service brought a corrected order even though they had not made the mistake! And on our final morning, we called room service but were told the hotel cancelled all room service due to the heavy rains--and were instead offering complimentary breakfast in the restaurant. Very nice touch under difficult circumstances.

Everyone on the staff couldn't have been friendlier--and most knew our names and even that of our dog.

The breakfast menu is a bit limited, but everything was very good. If we were to request anything, it would be that the hotel try to expand their breakfast offerings in the future. On our first visit, we thought the towels were a bit cheap--and these had been replaced on this second visit with much nicer towels. We were pleased to see the hotel trying to improve, even with it being our favorite stay in Yountville now.

We definitely plan to return yet again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Tar Heel BIll 92,

Thanks so much for stying with us again and writing us this positive review. You also wrote us a very constructive review after your first stay. Thank you for that, too.

You are nice to acknowledge our quest for continuous improvement. We take a chapter from Lexus's playbook and relentlessly pursue perfection. "Our best today,....better tomorrow."

The towels we opened with were organic cotton and very expensive, but gave the perception of not being plush. And from a size standpoint, appreared skimpy. Our guests have appreciated the change to more traditional luxury terry.

Sunday morning, room service was impossible due to the downpour and high winds. Thank you for your patience and understanding. And I'm so sorry you caught our worst weather ever here.

Hope you'll be back for a third time in the not-too-distant future. You're a pleasure to serve.

(On a personal note, my stepbrother is a Tarheel...class of '69. He was UNC's lacrosse goalie.....)

Best.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

If you love modern architecture and a perfect location, you have to stay at the Bardessono. Besides that, the service was perfect. Nice restaurant, bar and pool if you need to relax after a long day of amazing wine tours. And the room? A dream come true. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear RP1313,

What a nice review. Thank you. And thank you for staying with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here and time in Yountville and Napa Valley. We are in the heart of a very special place.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again.

Best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We only stayed here for one night and we thought this was too short. The one thing that really stood out about Bardessono is its service. Even before we arrived, the concierge team personally contacted us to ask if we would like to make any restaurant reservations as well as spa reservations. We were so impressed at the time they put in to do this for us. When we arrived we were given a personal tour of the hotel before going to our room. I thought that was a very nice touch to the service as well.
I also love the nice lexus shuttles they had to take guests around town. They even let you drive one for a few hours!!
Overall, it was an excellent place to stop on Yountville. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Praemala,

Thanks so much for staying with us and posting this wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time here, and your kind words about our service are deeply appreciated by all of us. Good reviews make our day, and are nice rewards for our people here who work very hard at delighting every guest.

We hope we'll see you back here....soon and often.

Best.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bardessono 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardessono is a newly defined experience in hospitality that weds “deep green” with luxury, a subtle aesthetic, privacy and graciousness. This 62-room hotel with its 68-seat restaurant and bar, and in-suite spa butler program models hospitality after the enduring expressions of land and family that fostered and sustained the original Bardessono family farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardessono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.