We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and relaxing with exceptional rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bardessono to your Saves list
Bardessono
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Luxurious and relaxing with exceptional rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Bardessono for our anniversary in a Tufa suite (suite 104). I am very glad that we picked that suite, as with the rain, we really used the fireplace. The room was enormous, and delightful. The bathroom was the best part, with a tub for 2, big shower, separate vanities, and a large dressing area. It was the special touches that really elevated the Bardessono: the turn down service was really a mini-clean, including all new, plentiful towels; filtered cold glass water bottles left in our wine chiller; our personal welcome with red wine, then chocolates and champagne in the room; the concierges which gave us great information and made a French Laundry reservation for us; the in-room massages; the lovely bath products--plus no tiny bottles; quick wi-fi and docks/speakers for all our iPods/iphones; umbrellas and so-quick arriving courtesy cars...the list just goes on.

We will be back. We highly recommend this hotel for a lovely, romantic stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Notacamper99,

What a wonderful review. Thank you. We so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Tufa Suite 104 is wonderful, as is Tufa Suite 101, mentioned in the previous review.

We hope you'll return....soon and often.

It was a pleasure serving you.

Best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    68
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
600
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
938 helpful votes 938 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I, along with our dog, stayed the past 4 nights at the Bardessono for our second visit in 2 years. We again stayed in a Tufa King Suite, but this time we had a more private location (room 101) with our garden being located to the outside of the property as opposed to our last one located within the property--giving our room more privacy and more natural light.

Service was extraordinary again. My husband made a mistake on our room service breakfast order one morning, and I thought the hotel had erred. Within 15 minutes, room service brought a corrected order even though they had not made the mistake! And on our final morning, we called room service but were told the hotel cancelled all room service due to the heavy rains--and were instead offering complimentary breakfast in the restaurant. Very nice touch under difficult circumstances.

Everyone on the staff couldn't have been friendlier--and most knew our names and even that of our dog.

The breakfast menu is a bit limited, but everything was very good. If we were to request anything, it would be that the hotel try to expand their breakfast offerings in the future. On our first visit, we thought the towels were a bit cheap--and these had been replaced on this second visit with much nicer towels. We were pleased to see the hotel trying to improve, even with it being our favorite stay in Yountville now.

We definitely plan to return yet again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Tar Heel BIll 92,

Thanks so much for stying with us again and writing us this positive review. You also wrote us a very constructive review after your first stay. Thank you for that, too.

You are nice to acknowledge our quest for continuous improvement. We take a chapter from Lexus's playbook and relentlessly pursue perfection. "Our best today,....better tomorrow."

The towels we opened with were organic cotton and very expensive, but gave the perception of not being plush. And from a size standpoint, appreared skimpy. Our guests have appreciated the change to more traditional luxury terry.

Sunday morning, room service was impossible due to the downpour and high winds. Thank you for your patience and understanding. And I'm so sorry you caught our worst weather ever here.

Hope you'll be back for a third time in the not-too-distant future. You're a pleasure to serve.

(On a personal note, my stepbrother is a Tarheel...class of '69. He was UNC's lacrosse goalie.....)

Best.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

If you love modern architecture and a perfect location, you have to stay at the Bardessono. Besides that, the service was perfect. Nice restaurant, bar and pool if you need to relax after a long day of amazing wine tours. And the room? A dream come true. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear RP1313,

What a nice review. Thank you. And thank you for staying with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here and time in Yountville and Napa Valley. We are in the heart of a very special place.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again.

Best wishes from your friends at Bardessono.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We only stayed here for one night and we thought this was too short. The one thing that really stood out about Bardessono is its service. Even before we arrived, the concierge team personally contacted us to ask if we would like to make any restaurant reservations as well as spa reservations. We were so impressed at the time they put in to do this for us. When we arrived we were given a personal tour of the hotel before going to our room. I thought that was a very nice touch to the service as well.
I also love the nice lexus shuttles they had to take guests around town. They even let you drive one for a few hours!!
Overall, it was an excellent place to stop on Yountville. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Praemala,

Thanks so much for staying with us and posting this wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time here, and your kind words about our service are deeply appreciated by all of us. Good reviews make our day, and are nice rewards for our people here who work very hard at delighting every guest.

We hope we'll see you back here....soon and often.

Best.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is by far the nicest hotel/spa in Yountville. It is close to great restaruants and walking distance to a number of winieries. The staff is super knowledgable and the concierges are unreal! We will be coming back very soon.

Room Tip: We did one of the Spa suites and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Bradley S.,

Thanks so much for staying woth us and posting this wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our concierges and location as much as we do.

Look forward to your return.

Best wishes.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Bardessono. I found and researched the property via Trip Advisor, so I felt confident that I had found the place for us. Everything was absolutely incredible from the town itself to our huge room with an even bigger bathroom, to the bartenders (Brady), to the rooftop pool, to the food. The one major downside was the spa. We booked 2 treatments, didn't spare any expense, and I was beyond disappointed. I would recommend a stay there, but just don't use the spa services.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Chieffi22,

Thank you for staying with us in June and recently posting this review.

I'm so sorry you were dissatisfied with your spa services, though. Any details you could offer would be greatly appreciated. My direct line is 707.204.6001 and my email is jim.treadway@bardessono.com.

Best wishes.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff was friendly....valets very nice. The rooms are large. We as others struggled with the spotty technology...gas fire place kept going off...lights on..off ...dim...no way...tv not so tech advanced...mildew in shower, blood spot in bath, soap and shampoo chained to the wall of the shower. Hmmmm. Stayed many a nice place...not our favorite. At the end of our trip even evening water and chocolates spotty service. For $ 550 a night...NOT SO IMPRESSED!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Beth K.

Thank you for staying with us and posting this review. I'm so sorry your stay with us was so unsatisfactory. No excuses for the housekeeping issues you experienced. At our price points, our guests have every right to expect absolute perfection in all aspects of their stay.

As for our bath amenities, yes, they are in volume dispensers mounted on brackets. The product is Ren out of the U.K., one of the finest and most environmentally friendly lines of shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, and skin lotion in the world. We don't believe in little plastic containers of bath amenities. They are simply very bad for our world.

I'm sorry you didn't like us that much. Should you choose to return, I promise you our typical housekeeping execution - hospital-like cleanliness throughout.

Sincerely,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bardessono 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardessono is a newly defined experience in hospitality that weds “deep green” with luxury, a subtle aesthetic, privacy and graciousness. This 62-room hotel with its 68-seat restaurant and bar, and in-suite spa butler program models hospitality after the enduring expressions of land and family that fostered and sustained the original Bardessono family farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardessono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.