We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ultra modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bardessono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bardessono to your Saves list
Bardessono
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ART@bardessono
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Switzerland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“ultra modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

While most of the hotel on the west coast have a traditional style, Bardessono is ultra chic, luxurious yet informal. We loved the room design while the restaurant (though beautiful designed interior) felt a bit cold for a romantic dinner.
Service is good with a relaxed ambiance. Breakfast and pool snack are very fresh and tasty. For dinner we expected a bit more, the restaurant was also nearly empty while many other restaurants very fully booked that night.
We had a nice sunny room on the upper floor with a big terrasse, next to the entrance. From the pool, we saw some rooms on the ground floor which seemed to be rather dark with no view. The hotels best part in my eyes is the pool with the great cabanas. On both days, the pool - even it was hot- was nearly empty. No problem to find a lounger or cabana. Nice touch is the complimentary sun cream and water at the poolside. Yountville is a small lovely town with some excellent upscale restaurants (dress up for dinner!) in walking distance to Bardessono, and close to many wineries. If you love sparkling wine and french chateau, visit Domaine Carneros.
Would definitely stay at Bardessono again and recommend it!

Room Tip: upstairs for a bright and sunny room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Luxuryvoyage,

Thanks so much for staying with us and writing this review. I'm so sorry our restaurant was not a hit with you. Delighted that you enjoyed your room and our pool, though.

We hope to see you back here again one day.

All the best,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    71
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
651
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Bardessono is in a class of it's own in Napa. It's a true luxury property, but with proximity to all the best restaurants in Yountville - something you can't get anywhere else in Napa. The grounds and rooms are so beautiful - it feels very private and lush throughout the property. The staff was attentive and there if you needed anything, but not obtrusive. I will definitely be back, and would recommend Bardessono to anyone traveling to Napa.

Room Tip: Go for the Spa room - the steam shower/outdoor shower combination is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear ceta7819,

Thanks so much for this nice review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated both our staff and our convenient location.

Please return....soon and often.

Best.

JIm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I cannot thank the staff at Bardessono enough for the wonderful time we had celebrating my husband's birthday! Harris, the concierge, helped me arrange wine tastings, lunch and dinner reservations, and most importantly a great surprise for my husband! We had five other couples with us so we had to have a "plan"! And Harris delivered! Dinner at Lucy was fabulous! The service was outstanding! Our rooms were so peaceful and beautiful! The location is perfect! We were able to walk to dinner the other two nights we were there. I would totally recommend Bardessono!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Franny65,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Your Mississippi (and Tennessee) contingent were so wonderful to serve. It was a pleasure meeting several of you.

Now you know where to come for birthdays and anniversaries.

Thank you for being with us. We look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I spent a lot of time on Tripadvisor and other sites choosing a hotel for our recent visit to wine country. We had had a hectic, stressful year, so the most important thing was that whereever we went needed to be stress free, peaceful and relaxing. Although it required spending more than we had ever spent on a hotel room in the past, we chose Bardessono for it's location, spa-like setting and outstanding reviews. Immediately after booking, I was contacted by the concierge via email regarding our stay and was able to book a couples massage in our room for the day of arrival. I figured this would be a good start to our trip after a long day of traveling and cross country flight. Our massages went off without a hitch and were excellent. Great start!

Upon arrival, we were immediately pleased with our large, spacious and very private spa suite. The grounds are lovely and relaxing with many water features and beautiful landscaping and design. The pool is awesome with great views of the surrounding Napa hillside and big double loungers with canopies.

The next day we spent touring wineries and ended with dinner at Bottega which we were able to walk to right in Yountville. I really liked the fact that we were able to walk to a multitude of great places for lunch, dinner, shopping and also several wine tasting rooms. This is not typical of most wine country retreats and one thing I wanted to avoid was the stress of driving back to our hotel late at night in the dark after dinner or after imbibing at tastings. Bardessono was an excellent choice in this repsect.

The staff was uniformly courteous, accomodating and friendly. The bartenders were particularly nice and great to talk with. Overall, the level of accomodation is excellent. Beware that the rooms do not have vineyard views or the typical "cozy wine country feel" that some people expect, so if you are looking for that, stay elsewhere. We knew this in advance and purposely chose the sleek, spa-like atmosphere of Bardessono and were very pleased.

We spent three nights at Bardessono at the start of our 10 day tour of Northern California. Our one problem occurred on our second full day at the hotel. We had decided to spend the whole day lounging at the hotel to enjoy the perfect weather and relax before our 4 hour drive to redwood country the next day. At about 10 am that morning, some type of construction started in a closed off area of the hotel very close to our room. A large crane was brought in and there was a lot of noise from saws and other equipment being used. We tried to position ourselves at the pool as far away from the din as possible and tried very hard to just ignore it hoping that it would stop soon. After about an hour and a half, it was definitely disturbing our use and enjoyment of the facility. I am not typically one to complain and never have before, but I did go to ask the front desk how long this would go on and was told all day. At this point I was upset given the amount we had spent specifically to have a peaceful, quiet environment. I talked to the Manager, James who was very apologetic and offered us the use of a steam spa suite on the other side of the resort for the day. He also sent over some sparkling wine which was appreciated. After spending about an hour in this room, we could still hear the noise and were disppointed that we were spending the time indoors instead of outside on this gorgeous day. I spoke to James again and expressed my disappointment. Again he apologized and then agreed to discount our room. He also treated us to a complimentary dinner that evening in the restaurant which was unexpected and I really felt that went above and beyond what was needed to accomodate us for the interruption. Overall, the situation was handled professionally, courteously and appropriately for an establishment of this caliber. We were pleased with the outcome and will return to Bardessono as a result. A special thank you to James and the whole staff for making our stay pleasurable. For service and luxury in wine country, Bardessono is a very solid choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Kitty33,

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, but so sorry it was marred by some work we were doing on our Ballroom patio. We removed four large stone pillars that were exterior art and very attractive, but inhibited our capacity in this area. We tried to time this demolition work so as to be minimally intrusive and disruptive. But, in your case, we failed miserably. It was a one time project, and we have no construction or other disruption planned for any time soon,

Your patience and understanding are deeply appreciated, as are your kind words about James DeLuca, our Director of Front Office Operations. We hold him in equally high regard.

We look forward to your return one day soon, and we promise a construction-free experience next time.

Warm regards from your friends at Bardessono..

Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The staff at Bardessano is absolutely at the top of their game. Friendly, efficient and professional, a combination that is hard to master for any top flight resort. The resort is absolutely beautiful as well. We will definitely be back.
Lucy’s restaurant is also a gem. We had a lovely dinner and a breakfast as well and with all the restaurant choices in and around Yountville, Lucy’s scores in the top group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear CaliTRaveler2013,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as Lucy, our restaurant. Your kind words are deeply appreciated.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again.....soon and often.

All best wishes.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was initially skeptical about the location of Bardessono: It appeared wedged into the small town of Yountville. The concern faded as soon as we were greeted by the concierge and staff that welcomed us throughout our visit and remembered our names. The setting, in Yountville, is convenient for walking to the several outstanding nearby restaurants (including Michelin starred venues). The restaurant onsite, Lucy's, offers fine, creative dining that compares well with its competitors. The location is also convenient as a base station for winery tours through the valley and hillsides. Previously, we had stayed at Auberge du Soleil. While another excellent (though somewhat tired) choice, Auberge requires long drives to its hillside setting after dinner. The tranquil, quiet oasis offered by Bardessono offers a centrally located, high quality, newer alternative to Meadowood and Auberge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I just finished responding to the previous review which was not as complimentary. Your perspective is a nice balance between the two. We aleways love being compared to Auberge favorably. It's an excellent hotel and set the bar very high for us newcomers to the Napa Valley luxury hotel landscape.

We hope we'll see you back here soon.

All the best,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful, sleek hotel with modern lines in the heart of Yountville, very close to restaurants.
Room is spacious and staff mostly are professional and accommodating. Pool is lovely.

Niggles:
--Staff could be more polished (training on graciousness and hotel etiquette refresher course) for a better experience.
--This is not a "comfy" plush hotel, but more a sleek urban hotel. It lacks a hominess and warmth.
-- There is no view of beautiful grape vines and vineyards, just the local town, so this hotel does not have the "wine country" feel to it.
-- Noise: Machinery noise from hotel equipment is easily heard nearly everywhere on the property. Almost sounds like a factory.
-- For a spa environment, this is not the quiet, serene setting that is appropriate.
-- Restaurant is off its game, but nearby are an abundance of restaurants to cater to all whims.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBTYountville_CA, General Manager at Bardessono, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are very late in responding to this review. Apologies to all readers and particularly George Sanders, who wrote it. We have scoured our records to identify Mr. Sanders and correspond with him directly to learn more about the circumstances driving the "niggles". This review is very troubling, as it calls out two areas of our hotel of which we are extremely proud - our restaurant and our service throughout the hotel. While not perfect, we did and do work very hard to earn our #1 Trip Advisor ranking out of 54 hotels, resorts, and inns in Napa Valley.

Mr. Sanders is right about several things. We are an in-town location, with wonderful convenience to the very best Napa Valley has to offer. We do not have expansive views. And our in-town location does bring with it ambient noise associated with any town. Our ambience is contemporary, even sleek, and a bit minimalist. It is not homey, B&B-ish, plush, or rich with carpet and fabric. To be so would be be contrary to our extraordinary commitment to the environment, as evidenced by our status as one of three LEED Platinum certified hotels in the U.S.

Our staff, however, is extremely skilled, warm and friendly; and by the end of a typical stay here, our guests will know many of us and depart as friends to our team and bardessono.

Our rooms are quiet and every bathroom is designed as a spa treatment room - very serene and a perfect place for massage and other treatments. They each have their own massage table built in to their cabinetry.

As I reread this, it sounds a bit defensive. I can't help it. We are fiercely proud of our hotel. But it is not for everybody. For those wanting a country, rural, remote, and scenic experience/setting, where a vehicle is a requirement, we recommend our competitors - Auberge du Soleil, Calistoga Ranch, and Meadowood.

Let me close by inviting Mr. Sanders to contact me directly. Jim Treadway, General Manager, jim.treadway@bardessono.com, 707.204.6001.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bardessono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardessono

Address: 6526 Yount Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#1 Family Hotel in Yountville
#1 Business Hotel in Yountville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#1 Green Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bardessono 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bardessono is a newly defined experience in hospitality that weds “deep green” with luxury, a subtle aesthetic, privacy and graciousness. This 62-room hotel with its 68-seat restaurant and bar, and in-suite spa butler program models hospitality after the enduring expressions of land and family that fostered and sustained the original Bardessono family farmstead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Splendia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bardessono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bardessono Hotel Yountville
Bardessono Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardessono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.