We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Railway Inn

Save Saved
You added Napa Valley Railway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Napa Valley Railway Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6523 Washington St., Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Yountville B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

The Railway Inn was a great place to stay, would highly recommend it. Lovely clean rooms and in a perfect location right in the centre of Yountville.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

Excellent value in this typically overpriced region. Rooms were clean and large and conveniently located. The resturant next door was good for breakfast and for dinner. Watching the baloons take off on saturday morning was exciting (some may not be keen on the bustle and commotion of a balloon liftoff, but it only lasts a half an hour or less and I thought it was great and have great pics). The exercise facility is also a plus. My test is always "Would I stay there again or did I see something else in town that looked like a better deal?" My answer is I'd stay there again for convenience, cleanliness and price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

My husband and I have been staying in the Napa Valley for years and have always been intrigued by the Railway Inn. We finally decided to try it a couple of weeks ago. Cute rooms, nice toiletries and most of all the location can't be beat. Yountville is one of the most charming little towns in the Valley, and the RI is in the heart of it - literally walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping you could want. AND the price is insanely good. You can't touch other accomodations in Yountville and surrounding areas for less than $200/night. We stayed in a caboose - clean, comfortable - for $140/night. And this is during the busiest season! True, if you're a high-maintenance guest, you will not be happy with the lack of staff available to you. But if you're like us (getting up early, out all day drinking wine and eating in amazing restaurants, just to come home to comfy surroundings to rest up for the next day of eating and drinking...) you'll be very pleased. One suggestion: you may want to request cars on the east side of the hotel - where you're less likely to hear the hot-air balloons in the morning. We didn't hear them at all and we were in room #8. Also - we were there during a heat wave (100 degrees each day) and though there's AC in the rooms, they are window units and had a tough time keeping the place cool. Other than that - Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

We stayed at the Napa Railway Inn and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are tastefully appointed and very clean. Yountville is one of the best towns in Napa Valley and the Railway Inn is in the heart of it all, within walking distance to shops and incredible restaurants and bakeries. You can even use the quaint gym adjacent to the railcars (which is quite private, "member-only"). The value cannot be beat either. Mediocre chain hotel rooms in the area go for twice as much per night and aren't nearly as charming. If you have a side of adventure and don't mind a minimal staff (there are only 15 or so rooms), I highly recommend the Napa Railway Inn. It is an experience to happily remember. And the wine helps, too.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2005

My husband is a train buff, so I booked a night at the NVRI. We were upgraded to a caboose, because the car I booked had "shower issues." Yes, it is a series of train cars, but inside they look like a shabby Motel 6. "Satellite tv" didn't work, and shower was HOT only - and the "emergency" number posted was specifically if you locked your key in your room, no staff on site at all (we were checked in by a 15-year-old girl). And yes, for 2 hours in the early morning you get to listen to them filling up the hot air balloons - VERY NOISY. It is in a great location, but I'd spend the extra $10 per night and stay right down the street at the Napa Valley Lodge. There are also 2-3 other boutique hotels within a couple blocks that looked much nicer too.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

I enjoyed my visit here in the converted train car. The room is narrow but big. The room pleasingly decorated - nice color choices. The shower controls were too hot or or too cold. Also the showerhead itself was not working properly. Left a note since no one on site. No response. Could have used more channels and a refrigerator. Great location. Property well maintained. A hot-air balloon took off in the parking lot behind the hotel. Fans and propane created unwelcomed noise at 630 in the morning. Will definitely recommend to a friend to try ar least once. Access to nice work out facility next door a big plus

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

this is the place to stay if you don't want/need alot of attention. It's in the middle of the Napa Valley, great spot to stay and go north or south for wine tasting. I stayed in one of the caboose's, and I'm planning to return to the Napa area soon and hopefully stay there again.... an Okie

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa Valley Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Railway Inn

Address: 6523 Washington St., Yountville, CA 94599
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napa Valley Railway Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Napa Valley Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Railway Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Railway Inn Yountville, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Railway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.