We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villagio Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villagio Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Villagio Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WinterScape In Yountville
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Mt Pleasant, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Was so pleased to pull up into the Villagio in Yountville. Just precious! It was such a great location for doing wineries and put you so close to many great restaurants. We really loved Redd!

Was hesitant about our stay because we had read about the noise complaints. We didn't notice that at all. The staff was super helpful and quick to act on our requests. We got upgraded to an interior room with the spa package which was a great deal for the area. Room was great with a nice big tub, a patio and fireplace.

Am looking forward to the new spa completion and our next trip there.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    149
    36
    20
    12
See reviews for
39
331
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

Great location! Hotel is a "glorified motel" type atmosphere, but rooms are spacious with nice amenities. Public area is lovely, with a feel of being in Provence. Excellent breakfast and mid afternoon snacks. Fabulous concierge who assisted us with visits to boutique wineries, restaurants reservations and other suggestions.
Rooms need to be in inner courtyard, otherwise too much traffic noise. Rooms have terraces or patios, depending on whether room is upstairs or down.
Comfortable beds. Some furnishings need refurbishment.
Good housekeeping
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

I stayed at the Villagio in November 2006 and most recently in July 2007. I had a better trip in July than last year. This hotel is wonderfully located for exploring vineyards in the Napa area. The free breakfast buffet every morning is fantastic. On weekends they even have an omlette station and waffle station. It's no skimpy continental breakfast for sure. We had some sort of suite room which was very nice. We were on the bottom floor though and could hear a lot of noise from upstairs. I liked the Molton Brown products in the bathrooms. The pool was busy and kid-filled but was still a nice place to sit. The gym is really just that guests can use a small, local gym nearby which was less than ideal. Basically, I'm not passionate about this hotel. It's more than basic and we enjoyed our stay. The amount of free food and wine is also to be appreciated. If you are looking for a hotel to really sink into like a resort, this is not the place. However, we were busy wine tasting, etc so this is a nice home base for those purposes. We also loved being able to walk across the street to Bistro Jeanty (try the mussels!) and Redd (good but not outstanding). The hotel rates are always about $300 which is a little high for the value of the stay. So, in all, we had a good time and would stay here again. There is nothing particularly inspired or special about the place though.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — lack of on-site gym
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

The hotel is absolutely marvelous. The mediterranean style and very attractive rooms which include huge bathtubs, comfortable bed, excellent view and atmosphere are very relaxing. The hotel is close to restaurants ( I must recommend Bistro Jeanty - excellent food!), shopping, and other smaller cities such as St. Helenna. Nearby wine tasting sites are excellent, especially Darioush (beautiful winery!) You can go olive oil tasting in St. Helenna and enjoy freshly baked bread or sandwiches there. There's a also a casino about an hour and half away, but worth the drive. The massages at the spa were definately not the best, but they tried. The facility is clean, the pool is clean, the complimentary breakfast is excellent, especially the waffles. I will definately return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Spa
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristenthoms
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

Hotel was awesome, service was even better. Waiters by the pool got everything in a timely manner and we never had to flag anyone down. They are constantly making sure your comfort level is not only satisfactory but complete.
Although the hotel is only 45 minutes from my home, I would have never guessed such a great establishment could have existed so close. I felt like I was in a tropical area, miles and miles away from home. It exceeded our expectations by miles. Also, the complimentary bottle of wine and champagne breakfast made it worth the trip in itself.

  • Liked — The service and free champagne breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise from the fwy and construction
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

If I lived by the saying, "if you can't say anything nice, do not say anything at all" this review would be blank.
My wife and I stayed one night here at the end of a fantastic Napa weekend. We will never stay here again.
We arrived in business attire at 5:00 pm; we were ignored for 30 minutes before being checked in. No huge problem since there is a small bar in the lobby. It would have been better if the bartender knew the difference between a glass of sparkling wine and a glass of sparkling wine with some type of peach syrup in it. However, they do serve Paul Hobbs sav Blanc by the glass.
Upon walking to our room, it looked as if this was a Residence Inn with a small canal and fountains cut into the sidewalk. The rooms were decorated with shoddy furniture at best. In our room, there was a descent bottle of white wine. However, no ice! After 15 minutes of waiting for ice to be delivered, I called to see if an ice machine was available and was made to feel like I had never stayed in such a nice place and that she would "check on" my ice. Another 15 minutes went by and I found an ice machine around the corner.
The wake up call never came! (Thank god I set the alarm on my phone)
Breakfast is presented nicely. But if you are not into a food trough with people and children grabbing the bagel from your plate I would recommend skipping it.
I wish that I knew of a better place in the area but as of now, I do not. I will however, post it here after our next Napa weekend.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the accomodation
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

You would imagine - that for the price you pay here, that walking out of your room wouldn't feel like you were staying at motel six. call me crazy, but for three hundred bucks a night, i shouldn't see car headlights outside my room door & window.

don't get me wrong, the rooms are great, the spa is ok and the pool is nice but for that price, i expect more. our room keys had problems and the new spa construction was noisy and annoying. For this kind of money, i'd recommend the sonoma mission inn or silverado.

if you have to stay here, insist on a room that faces the courtyard rather than the parking lot and wait until they finish the new spa because the old one isn't that great.

on the up side, the rooms are huge and very nice and the tub makes my top ten list of best tubs for it's extra long length. the breakfast buffet was excellent and was included in the price of our room.

  • Liked — the tub
  • Disliked — parked cars outside my door
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Family Hotel in Yountville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villagio Inn & Spa named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, Spa Villagio and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine upon check-in, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. A daily champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. Villagio Inn & Spa has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villagio Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.