We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villagio Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Villagio Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villagio Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Balloon Over Wine Country
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Little England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have noticed this hotel gets very mixed reviews, many of the problems seem to be around road noise. We live in. A very quiet area so any potential noise had me slightly concerned. I am pleased to report we had no problems what so ever, we sat out on out balcony, ate breakfast outside and afternoon wine. The room was large and well furnished the staff polite and the minor problem with the phone fixed within minutes.
We used the concierge service and found her recommendations perfect for us and she helped make our stay memorable.
Based on our experience I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Breakfasts and wine tastings are both very good - don't miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    141
    36
    20
    12
See reviews for
32
313
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We always choose to stay at Villagio. Service is welcoming, friendly, and attentive. The rooms are charming, comfortable and cozy. We also live the private terraces and fireplace. The breakfast is always amazing, and other services there are outstanding. We've been going for years, and it always feels like a special place to us. Great staff and great service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After vacationing in Napa Valley several times we decided to indulge ourselves at the Villagio Inn and Spa and it was well worth it. Mini suites are nicely appointment with high end products such as Nespresso coffee makers and Occitane products. Rooms were very comfortable with large bathrooms and comfortable chairs and beds. Staff was very accommodating. I highly recommend the Spa which was exceptionally clean and spacious and my massage therapist was one of the best ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Annual Mother-Daughter spa getaway is a mini trip to be pampered, wined and dined that no other spot in the Wine Country can provide. Consistent high level of serve in every detail - providing bikes , bocci, afternoon tea, change brunch each day - and the spa adds to the total perfect trip .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Am a local who came to the hotel for an event. I don't mind paying for quality and pampering but didn't see either one. As for location, the hotel is right up against highway 29 which never settles. Road noise can be heard from most any location on the grounds despite the running fountains. Senior staff and concierge not friendly. Bar tender is cordial as well as some of the cleaning staff but it is not universal. Guest checkin feels extremely impersonal. Hotels charging $350 or more call you by name and give you that 1:1 attention. This hotel charges $500 a night and I felt like just a number checking in or out. Other issues: 1. hotel is not green minded. California is in a drought and these guys change towels twice a day even if you hang them up rather than leaving them on the floor. Hotel still provides paper newspapers. Haven't seen that in a while. 2. Hotel touts weddings but keep in mind you are a number. Grooms and brides are not known or catered to. One groom asked the concierge for some flowers and he was told that since it was Sunday he should walk out in town and pick up the flowers. People charging $500 a night don't do this. 3. Rooms are spacious but they lack wall outlets and the bath area is old school. For $500 a night the bath should be pretty memorable.... Don't let the location draw you in. Napa isn't that big. You can stay other places in the valley and still get to the things you want in Yountville.

Room Tip: No room escapes the noise...breakfast is gourmet but you can't possibly eat the value of it whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

for the noisy air conditioning units inside of the rooms. Newer inns and hotels have air condensers which sit outside of the rooms which keep the rooms quiet. My husband and I had a lovely upstairs suite which had everything going for it except for the A/C noise and the proximity to Highway 29. I would not stay again unless we chose an upstairs room closer to the Lobby (east of the "fountain" stream) to escape the highway noise, and unless it were a cooler time of the year so that we didn't have to run the A/C. Other than that, the included breakfast (wonderful buffet style), the vibe, the location, the grounds are excellent.

Room Tip: Upstairs corner room far away from the noise of Highway 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The old adage of "you get what you pay for" is never more evident than at the Villagio. This place is pricey and there are lots of good reasons why! First is the location. You cannot beat its central Yountville location, meaning you can walk to some of the best restaurants around (Bouchon Bakery is literally steps across the street). There are also some cute little wineries and tasting rooms to visit nearby that you can easily reach on foot as well. Second is the service. This is a first-rate hotel with first-rate service. When I checked in at the front desk, the lobby bartender immediately ran over with an icy cold glass of fizzy club soda with fresh lime. Nice!

The hotel grounds are stunning with gorgeous manicured landscaping. The place has a cozy, exclusive vibe without any of that super snobbery bull that you get at some of the other swankier places in town. This is a homey hotel (hence the "Inn"). Our room was HUGE and spacious with a fireplace, in-room Nespresso espresso machine, a large outdoor balcony with small bistro table, and a double sink roomy bathroom vanity area.

The hotel had thought of everything from a bottle of wine in the room for arrival, a log for the fireplace, extra cushions for sitting on the floor, wine glasses and opener and more. The little touches are what made it so nice. The room itself was great but the decor was a bit dated. This hotel feels more like an intimate farmhouse than a luxury resort property. If you know that going in, you won't be disappointed. It was NOT run down by any means, just "quirky" and "quaint."

We had a room on the "noisy" side by the highway but the road noise did not bother us at all. I don't think you should stress if you get put in one of the highway facing rooms. Our room overlooked a cute little hidden 24 hour saltwater pool with two spas. We went for a dip around 11 pm one night and we were the only folks there. The spas could use some refurbishment as the concrete was discolored and peeling and looked kind of gross. This is a minor observation and wasn't a big deal.

In the evenings, a local winery will stop by to do a tasting in the lobby along with some bread, crackers and cheeses. Worth a swing by if you are around. The complimentary breakfast is worth getting up for! While not as fantastic as I had expected, it was a pretty darn impressive spread. Fresh California berries, freshly made waffles, omelettes and granola and more. Dine outside by the second pool. Best of all, you can have all the sparkling wine you can drink! There's a nice espresso machine in the lobby too but I thought our in-room Nespresso made a better cup of espresso.

Stop by the concierge desk for local maps, tourist information, and to pick up some 2 for 1 tasting coupons. I'd love to stay here again because the service was so great, the amenities were top-notch, the location was incredible, and the rooms were comfortable. I felt so relaxed after just 2 nights here. I would've stayed longer but it was hard to justify the $300+ per night rate; we wanted to have a LITTLE money left over to buy wine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#5 Family Hotel in Yountville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villagio Inn & Spa named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, Spa Villagio and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine upon check-in, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. A daily champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. Villagio Inn & Spa has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villagio Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.