We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Get-A-way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villagio Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Villagio Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villagio Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Yountville
Valley Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Get-A-way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Having never been to the Napa Valley before, I was looking for a special experience to celebrate my wife's birthday. After massive amounts of research I selected The Villagio... and am very happy I did. The grounds are just the right size, not too big and not too small, very personable. Like walking through a courtyard in Tuscany. Great room, impeccably manicured landscaping, in-room expresso machine, excellent bed, the best free breakfast in town with mamosas and well equiped omelet bar,and everyone was very friendly. The first two nights we ventured off site and patronized a couple of the excellent restaurants within walking distance, pricey but very good. The final 2 evenings we just stayed at the hotel, ordering off the Terrace Menu and eating on the patio. Very nice and relaxing, and the food was good too. But the best part of the whole experience was in the evenings staying at the hotel in the lounge, partaking of some of the excellent regional wines while listening to the piano player. Yes, they actually have a piano man every wednesday through saturday, and he is absolutely wonderful. If you enjoy listening to the piano while relaxing in front of a roaring fireplace... you have got to come here. I highly recommend The Villagio and Frederick... the piano man...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    136
    33
    19
    12
See reviews for
31
292
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to Villagio with a friend last year and just went again with another friend. These were very enjoyable girls' night out. We love the quite ambiance and the breakfast was a great plus. The employees were polite but professional. And, yes, you have to visit the spa for a "complete" stay - it was super relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here after a trip to San Francisco and it was everything and more of what we had heard. Awesome upstairs unit with a bed my fiance didn't want to leave!! No, it wasn't my uncanny ability to keep her captive with my charm......it was the bed itself. It was a task to get her going to her massage once she snuggled in! About the massages. Hers: very good. Mine: less than average. It happens sometimes I assume, but nonetheless, the spa facility was top notch!
The grounds are very nice, but we arrived after autumn had set in and most of the foliage had disappeared. A nice little store right across the street had all that stuff we like to get on our little trysts.....great wine and cheese selection and all the other stuff we shouldn't be eating but indulge in on these little adventures. Bottom line: class act and yes, expensive. Look for specials when available. We've stayed at the Villagio's sister property, Vintage Inn, up the street and we both agreed we prefer the Vintage Inn. The grounds are a bit more mature and the rooms have a bit more character. You can't go wrong with either property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel and Yountville! The complimentary breakfast and mimosas were wonderful! The rooms are spacious and equipped with everything you could hope for when traveling, including a state of the art espresso machine and fireplace. The staff is friendly and the hotel overall is a true find for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What Villagio did well, they did quite well. What they didn't do well, they just didn't. For an Inn that seemingly commands the room rate that Villagio requires, you would have thought it would have been an "A" plus Experience all the way around.

What they did right: hot chocolate on arrival, breakfast, staff, spa, turn down service, and location.

What they didn't do right: room temperature, water pressure, tiny bathroom, and a very uninspired room Decor.

We have stayed at many, many places in the wine country over the past 15 years, and Villago's location and accessibility to Yountville was second to none. But at over $400 a night, I expected an opulent room. On the Sonoma side you have Vintners Inn that has impressively furnished rooms, and the feel of being at home away. Villago is Spartan by comparison. There was so much extra space, no comfortable spot to sit, and the fireplace could handle not much more than a butane lighter before exceeding the manufacturers recommended burning capacity. Clearly, money was spent on things where traffic was high and not where only a few would notice. Faux walls should not look dirty in low light but our room's did.

This should have been a home run, but wasn't. If you want location and don't mind treaking down to the spa for a great shower, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently stayed here for three nights on my bachelorette party. We chose Yountville for its walk-able nature and central location and were not disappointed in the Villagio Inn & Spa. Where to start? The breakfast is AMAZING. Like another reviewer said: there is something for everyone. I wanted to eat healthy and was able to get egg whites in my omelets and have organic yogurt and granola. The others who wished to indulge in waffles, biscuits, etc. could.

We were probably very obnoxious being on a bachelorette trip but the staff was super accomodating. The driver, Kenny even took us down the street to pick up dinner and the next night took us to dinner because it was just a little too cold and far to walk in heels :).

The spa is also one of the best. Not only was the massage wonderful, but they also provide you with complimentary sparkling wine and great food while you wait! We could have stayed there all day.

The grounds are great. The rooms are great. It was all great.

Some people complain about highway noise. We had a room close on that side and while I could hear the noise, it did not bother me...could have been all the wine we drank too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We really enjoyed are last stay in Yountville at the Inn and Spa. There were several amenities including the spa itself and daily breakfast that made our vacation that much better. Great location as well with an easy walk to several wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villagio Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Inn and Spa

Address: 6481 Washington Street, Yountville, CA 94599
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#5 Family Hotel in Yountville
#6 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villagio Inn and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villagio Inn & Spa named to Travel+Leisure Magazine's 2012 "500 Best Hotels in the World", as well as T+L's 2011 Top 50 Hotels in the United States. An AAA Four Diamond Award Property, it blends the active, contemporary flavors of California's Napa Valley wine country with the warmth and charm of a countryside village in Tuscany. Villagio's 112 guest rooms, Spa Villagio and executive conference center are situated in a lush garden setting and just walking distance to the Town of Yountville's michelin star restaurants and celebrity chefs. Every guest room features oversize sunken bathtub, fireplace, robes, a complimentary bottle of wine upon check-in, flat screen television and in-room coffee and tea. A daily champagne breakfast buffet and afternoon tea service is included with every stay. Villagio Inn & Spa has recently been recognized as a winner of TripAdvisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Villagio Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Hotel Yountville
Villagio Inn And Spa Yountville, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villagio Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.