We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bottega Napa Valley

Bottega Napa Valley
6525 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 945-1050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bottega Napa Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chef Michael Chiarello has returned to his culinary roots by creating seasonal farm-to-table Italian cuisine reflecting the bold flavors of Chiarello’s heritage in his signature style 1st made famous at Tra Vigne in the 90’s. An award winning chef/vintner & Food Network host, Chiarello celebrates his Italian roots and the Napa Valley with a menu echoing his long practice of using the finest locally/sustainably produced food. Located in Yountville, in the heart of the Napa Valley, Bottega’s extensive wine list represents hard-to-find favorites of the Valley and interesting Italian selections. Chiarello restored the integrity of an old 1800’s estate by uncovering beautiful hard wood floors, timber beams, old brick walls and windows. The inviting dining room is accented with reclaimed antiques, warm fabrics and eclectic light fixtures lending to the restaurant’s old world comfort.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“New favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My spouse and I went to Bottega Napa based on the reputation of chef owner, Michael Chiarello. The entire experience was even better than expected. Menu items and drinks were unique and fairly priced. Service was outstanding! Next time I'm in Napa, I will definitely go back!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    334
    190
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good food but OVERPRICED!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went to Bottega on a friend's recommendation after a day of wine tasting. Make sure to use Open Table to get reservations well in advance. The food was good but pricey! The Ricotta Gnocchi della Nonna was excellent! Light and tasty. The Polpo alla Griglia (octopus) appetizer was out of this world! Cooking so tender. Very surprising! The Pollo alla Diavola sul Mattone chicken ($28) was baked chicken. The Maiale “Spagnolo” alla Griglia (roasted pork) ($32) was ok. $25 corking fee for any bottle of wine you bring is excessive and unattractive. $15 glass of wine is over the top after being out in the wineries all day. This is a very upscale restaurant. Well appointed space. Good service. The food is good just probably would have eaten somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lunch dinner or just drinks-great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have family in town and we normally go here or r & d since we can walk ..have had the private room got my birthday w girls ..took my sister here , sit in patio by fire for apps and drinks..a great spot w yummy food ..yountville can be crowded and trendy w bachelorette parties(yuck) but mostly it is middle aged folks who don't need to flaunt it so much.. And enjoy the finer things..always enjoy it here..but yes bring am ex w no limit as it will be pricey-not French laundry or as hoc pricey.. But you are not in Kansas anymore ..this is napa valley and if the beckams and kardashians come here..us regular people have to pay..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not that good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nicely designed restaurant, but the food is just plain wierd combination wise. We ordered three dishes of pasta, one was blend and plain out wrong, the others was meh.. Our first restaurant flop in napa valley... skip this one

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lunch with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

long time visitors to napa valley but first time to bottega. the setting was very nice, the service was spot on.
the food was good overall, however, my wife did not care for the bolognese she ordered. i had a short rib sandwich, asked for it to be cooked medium but it came medium rare. our friends had the flank steak and the prawns over pasta. the flank steak was excellent, seasoned just right.
we ordered desserts to share, the tiramisu was presented in a way i had never seen before. it was good, but i had better.
the prices were a little high but if the owner is a celebrity chef what can you expect.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega Napa Valley also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bottega Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottega Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.