We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bottega Napa Valley

Bottega Napa Valley
6525 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 945-1050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bottega Napa Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chef Michael Chiarello has returned to his culinary roots by creating seasonal farm-to-table Italian cuisine reflecting the bold flavors of Chiarello’s heritage in his signature style 1st made famous at Tra Vigne in the 90’s. An award winning chef/vintner & Food Network host, Chiarello celebrates his Italian roots and the Napa Valley with a menu echoing his long practice of using the finest locally/sustainably produced food. Located in Yountville, in the heart of the Napa Valley, Bottega’s extensive wine list represents hard-to-find favorites of the Valley and interesting Italian selections. Chiarello restored the integrity of an old 1800’s estate by uncovering beautiful hard wood floors, timber beams, old brick walls and windows. The inviting dining room is accented with reclaimed antiques, warm fabrics and eclectic light fixtures lending to the restaurant’s old world comfort.
Ardsley, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent in all respects, service, food, decor. We had a meal we will remember (and its tough to remember after drinking wine all day). For us at least, a much better alternative to the French Laundry. Save this place for your last night in Napa.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    332
    190
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sometimes the hype is counter productive to the actual experience and that was certainly the case here. Don't get me wrong, the food was good and the atmosphere was charming but nothing was truly remarkable. If given just one dinner in the area, this would rank no higher than my third option. So if your in the area for an extended stay, then enjoy. But for one night, Mustards or Brix would be better choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After a day of touring wineries we visited Bottega for a delicious Italian meal. The atmosphere was lovely as we sat at a covered outside eating area with a big fireplace. Scott, our waiter was very knowledgable about the menu and specials. The wine menu had a nice variety of wines both California and Italian, many available by the glass or carafe. For our entree we split a dish of grilled octopus which was quite nice. Next we shared a pasta dish with rabbit and a great sauce. Last we split the duck dish which consisted of perfectly cooked duck breast, duck confit, and a very interesting black rice side dish. Of course, we had no room for desert, but Scott packed us some wonderful caramels to go. I would highly recommend Bottega when visiting Yountville.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The food was okay. The service was okay. The night we went it was very loud. We couldn't hear the waiter over the noise. A couple next to us had their child, maybe 18 mos old, crawling around on their table top. Not what I expected. Maybe we just went on a bad night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Top Choice in Napa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We mulled over the French Laundry, certainly impressive, but $600-$700 for a dinner for two was prohibitive. So, having seen Michael Chiarello on Top Chef Masters we figured his restaurant Bottega would be top notch.

Wow, were were not disappointed. We started with the Polenta and Octopus appetizers, then I had the Lamb Chops, my wife the Goat Milk Braised Pork Orecchiette chantrelles.

Did I use Wow already? Incredible flavours, beautiful restaurant, add desert and wine and we made it out the door for about $200.

I'm not taking anything away from the FL, but this was a fabulous meal! Will visit again.

Only real complaint was appetizer portions were modest.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega Napa Valley also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bottega Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottega Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.