We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, Try some other Napa Valley dining highlights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bottega Napa Valley

Bottega Napa Valley
6525 Washington St, Yountville, CA 94599
(707) 945-1050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bottega Napa Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Yountville
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chef Michael Chiarello has returned to his culinary roots by creating seasonal farm-to-table Italian cuisine reflecting the bold flavors of Chiarello’s heritage in his signature style 1st made famous at Tra Vigne in the 90’s. An award winning chef/vintner & Food Network host, Chiarello celebrates his Italian roots and the Napa Valley with a menu echoing his long practice of using the finest locally/sustainably produced food. Located in Yountville, in the heart of the Napa Valley, Bottega’s extensive wine list represents hard-to-find favorites of the Valley and interesting Italian selections. Chiarello restored the integrity of an old 1800’s estate by uncovering beautiful hard wood floors, timber beams, old brick walls and windows. The inviting dining room is accented with reclaimed antiques, warm fabrics and eclectic light fixtures lending to the restaurant’s old world comfort.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Try some other Napa Valley dining highlights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We cannot recommend Bottega even though we had looked forward to it all week. Our dinners were average, prices were not. The menu seems to be getting away from its roots and trying to be all things to all people. Another couple who had dined separately shared the same opinion at our hotel the next day. The service was good, but you can do much better at other restaurants in Napa, especially Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen or Redd.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    334
    190
    60
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

We arrived there too late for lunch after touring a few vineyards, so had to settle for the bar menu, but glad we did..excellent interesting combos of flavors, incl. The truffle Parmesan fries, the prosciutto/focaccia "popover" was delicious as were the arancini and calamari. Lovely outside heated seating area. Great job, Michael Chiarello!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Food Best Service in Napa Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We spent 10 days touring around both Napa and Sonoma and Bottega by far was the best experience and that includes other "Michelin Star" restaurants in the area. They have a great outdoor dining area, great service and an enjoyable atmosphere. Wines by the glass, they had two pour sizes, the larger one we could split and enjoy a diffrerent wine with each course. The food was fabulous as well, the presentation superb. We will certainly be back on the next trip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Superb lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and Iwanted a light lunch and shared 3 appetizers washed down with a glass of wine each. The Calamari was superb.

The atmosphere is just great, service is good and the food is superb.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fan of Chef Michael Chiarello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I have several of Chef Michael Chiarello's cook books as well as watched several of his cooking shows. My wife and I had a chance to dine at this fine restaurant. The service was exceptional and staff was friendly. I started with the Organic Prosciutto “house cured”, pasta fritta, compressed summer melon prosecco nuvelo & daikon radish sprouts and my wife had the oysters. My antipasti was excellent. Lot's of different flavors going on from lightly salted to sweet from the melon and prosecco. The oysters on ice were also very good. The main meal followed. I had the Calabrian Sausage and Lemon Ricotta Tortellini spicy broccoli rabe, tomato-pork jus, mosto oro olive oil. The dish had a little kick and was just the right portion. My wife had the Angry Tomato Strozzapretti (pasta) summer heirloom tomato sauce, calabrian chili, crispy basil & orange essence. A very nice somewhat sweet dish and the tomatoes weren't angry. The decor is very well laid out with nice lighting. The restaurant can get a little loud during dinner do to the tile flooring. I would however pay this restaurant a visit again when I'm back in Napa.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega Napa Valley also viewed

Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bottega Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottega Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.