We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the facts...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Napa Valley Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Feb Early Bird 10% Off
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nyack, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Just the facts...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Napa Valley Lodge is located off CA-29 which is a very busy roadway. If you have a vineyard view and your patio door is open, you'll hear the traffic. The heated pool is nice...water's warm enough to use in cool weather. Routine maintenace appeared lax; the lighted make-up mirror's batteries were dead along with the clock's light batteries. The sink drain was slow and wasn't remedied after we reported it. The in-room safe is oversized and can hold a laptop. We had to ask for more hangers as there were only about ten when we arrived. Only suites have tubs and the water is hard. The flat screen TV was about 32"....DVD players are not available. The cable reception is in true HD, not stretched to fit the screen and they have 61 channels that include two movie channels, HBO and Showtime. The rooms have Keurig coffee makers and the teas and coffees for it are complimentary. Wi-fi is fast and unsecured. Breakfast includes several hot and cold beverages, dry cereals (skim milk available), biscuits w/gravy (looked like hot oatmeal), assorted fruits, assorted cheesees, assorted pastries, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and sausage and waffles that you make yourself. While the breakfast options are varied, they never changed and became a little monotonous after about 5 days. The gym has only three pieces of excercise equipment; treadmill, reclining bike and all motion elliptical and there are weights available. There are TV's built into the equipment with complimentary headphones. The Lodge is about a 10 minute walk to downtown Yountville and the staff was very helpful, fast and will do just about anything to make your stay a good one.

Room Tip: Room 27 had a wooshing noise that never stops, even if the a/c is off...perhaps from air or water ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    213
    56
    14
    3
See reviews for
101
562
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have stayed at other hotels in Yountville, and the Napa Valley region. All I can say is the Napa Valley Lodge if number one in customer service. Napa Valley Lodge staff made all our dinner reservations., arranged our limo for our tour. The accommodations awesome, view awesome, breakfast awesome, friendliness awesome . What more can I say. Stayed here many times over the years. Will always return to this Yountville classic.. Plus it is in walking distance to many five star restaurants, and to the village of Yountville.

Room Tip: Ask to face vineyards. But all room are great , spacious, and I must say, romantic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Ruth W,

Thank you for your gracious comments. We feel our caring and understanding staff is our biggest asset. Their commitment to building lasting relationships with all our guests is the reason we are successful and so many come back to visit us again and again.

Thank you for being such a valued guest, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at their sister hotel, the Bodega Bay Lodge, and we were very impressed. Yes, this is a nice place, but pricey for the accommodations compared to Bodega Bay.

We had a upstairs midsize room with a balcony facing the vineyard that was showing off its brilliant red and orange Fall colors, but they failed to mention it is catty corner to a cemetery and across the street from a mediocre apartment complex. The room decor was true to the Tuscany earth tones with special attention to details, furniture, bedding and bath. Although we did not use it, the fireplace was a nice touch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They offered a small wine tasting reception in the evening. There was not a dining facility on the premises, but there were a number of upscale restaurants within walking distance in Yountville. Their breakfast buffet was absolutely fabulous and compared to that of a hotel I stayed at in Rome.

Although our stay at the Napa Valley Lodge was very enjoyable, it seemed a bit cramped and confined. I would probably stay elsewhere in the future. I would not recommend bringing young children.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Last year my husband and I went to Napa with another couple who had never been to the area. All of us stayed at the Bardessona and enjoyed it very much. This year we took our 20 something daughter with us and could not reckon spending the price of two rooms at the Bardessona. We decided to try the Napa Valley Lodge and were quite pleased with the two rooms in which we stayed. Both were King rooms- ours was the King Vineyard and our daughter's was the King Garden. Really spacious and well appointed, with large bathrooms done in beautiful tumbled marble tile, great amenities and a good breakfast provided by the pool area next morning. We really enjoyed staying at this property and would definitely stay again. For the price point compared to the Bardessona, you get a bigger bang for your dollar.

Room Tip: King rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I considered several hotels before selecting Napa valley lodge. I definitely made the right choice.
It was a very quiet location, felt like it was miles from the road. Great spa type music playing at the pool, plus food and beverage service at the pool. Breakfast was much much more than continental, in a lovely room with a fireplace and outdoor seating right next to the vineyard. Enjoyed fireplace in room, as nights are cool. Loved the large stone shower in the bathroom. Absolutely loved the bathroom products. I felt like I was in a spa in my room. Location is great on north end of town, for access north to St Helena and Calistoga, and direct access to silverado trail. Definitely would return there and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Front desk clerk recommended room with a view, which I had overlooking pool and gardens, lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear B D,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and detailed review. It is wonderful to hear that you were so very well pleased with all aspects of our property and services and that you enjoyed our local organic & sustainable EO (Essential Oils) bath & body amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Two more ladies in our group turned "50" this year and we came back to Napa Valley again to celebrate. Part of what we love about this trip is the Napa Valley Lodge. The location is perfect...on the end of town so it is peaceful, but conveniently located (walking distance) to everything that Yountville has to offer. We especially enjoy the delicious breakfast buffet (mimosa too) which is a great way to reminisce about what we did the previous day and what we have coming up that day. Love the cozy fire pit outside and the pool area. Rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are really nice! Hope to stay at the Napa Valley Lodge again soon!

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the lower level since our trip is like a slumber party and sometimes we get a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Deb0811,

Thank you so much for choosing the Napa Valley Lodge for your visits to the Napa Valley. We love the opportunity to build lasting relationships with our guests and look forward to your next visit!

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed in the Merlot suite, which is gigantic! Large comfy bed, fire place, huge bathroom and balcony overlooking the pool area. Great location, tastefully decorated, with a very well stocked mini bar. The hotel provides breakfast, but little else in the way of food- however, there are a number of highly rated restaurants near by- but be prepared to book well in advance for them. The staff are helpful in suggesting places to try, and also will give out an extensive list of nearby vineyards to visit (again some places are by appointment only). Thee are also bikes that can be used by hotel guests on a first come first service. These are good bikes for a short cycle, but if you want to do some of the main wine makers on route 29- you would be best to hire a bike as you have to sign a contract agreeing not to cycle on 29, which means you miss the benefits of cycling that path! There is a constant supply of fresh coffee and tea throughout the day- if you aren't out viewing the local wine cellars etc. The hotel is pricey, but not bad in comparison to other hotels within the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is set in a vineyard in a quiet setting away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and serene pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible.The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, vaulted ceilings, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, On-Command video, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.