We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Save Saved
You added Napa Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
V.I.P. WINERY TOUR
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were at the Napa Valley Lodge for 4 nights in September. The rooms were beautiful and all the employees were very friendly, courteous and helpful - from the maid service to the front desk personnel to those in the dining room. The breakfasts were good, The location is a short walk away from several great restaurants and wineries to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Marianne M,

Thank you for your gracious comments. We feel our caring and understanding staff is our biggest asset. Their commitment to our guests is the reason we are successful and so many come back to visit us again and again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    594
    198
    49
    14
    3
See reviews for
89
512
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Napa Valley Lodge was highly recommended to us by a Napa resident and relative that we hadn’t seen for 47 years and we were not disappointed by his suggestion.

Our too short a stay at the Napa Valley Lodge was the highlight of a five and a half week first trip to North America covering the east coast of the US and Canada, and California.

From the very friendly and professional welcome on check-in, our room and the excellent champagne breakfast was first class. Our King Room, with a very pleasant view of the vineyard, was spacious, well equipped, tastefully furnished and immaculately presented.

The Napa Valley Lodge is ideally positioned in the centre of the Napa Valley in the picturesque small town of Yountville close to fine restaurants and fabulous wineries.

We hope to return in the future for a stay longer than three nights and we would not hesitate in recommending the hotel to other Australians intending to visit the Napa Valley.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Madison Street maybe noisier than vineyard or pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Aussies69,

Thank you for your kind comments. Building lasting relationships with our guests is extremely important to us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and will visit us again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I completed an extensive search and was happy that we chose the Napa Valley Lodge. The room - as promised - was overlooking the vineyard at a quiet part of town. The bed was very comfortable and the fire place in the room was an excellent bonus. The bathroom was VERY new and updated. We also took the complimentary bikes for a ride around town and that was a nice touch. It was in close proximity to everything in town.

The only negatives are that the shampoo and condition products left my hair greasy and the complimentary breakfasts didn't accommodate gluten free diets unless you wanted to eat cheese. So, if you enjoy a continental breakfast you will be golden!

We will be staying here; however, the next time we visit Napa. It's a perfect location, in a clean/updated room, and a nice pool area. I had a hard time checking out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We read various reviews on the Napa Valley Lodge. Most were positive. And rightly so. Clean, convenient, great staff and all the amenities you could ask for. We would easily return.

As for some of the negatives that stick in my mind:
1. "Too close to the highway." Its not closer than any other hotel. There was no traffic noise. Have an extra glass of wine if that is a concern.

2. "A refurbished La Quinta Inn." Maybe so? But, even if it is, so what? Its beautiful. The location is great. The pool is warm. The bocce is well maintained. And the breakfast is superb.

3. "Expensive." Matter of opinion, I guess. The old adage applies: You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Bruno M,

Thank you for your honest and detailed review. You are absolutely correct. Of the 6 hotels located in the Town of Yountville we are the second farthest in distance from the highway according to Google maps. We were originally a Best Western back when the property was originally purchased in 1972 and as you noted we are so many renovations and upgrades removed from the original design as to be unrecognizable. We pride ourselves that we are able to provide an excellent value for lodging and service in the town of Yountville. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My Husband and I took a trip to Napa Valley to celebrate our 50th Birthdays. We had a wonderful time exploring the area, going to Vineyards, great resturants and really enjoyed our stay at The Napa Valley Lodge. It was recommended by family friends who go out there every year and stay at the lodge. I would recommend it to anyone. The service is wonderful, delicious breakfast, cookies and coffee-all complimentary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear miamendonca,

Thank you for spending your special birthdays with us! It’s wonderful to hear that we were recommended to you by other guests and that you had the same wonderful experience here as they had. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent stay at Napa Valley Lodge. The hotel boasts a superb location in Yountville and is just a short stroll from some first class restaurants. The hotel has a beautiful setting with a great pool and bar area. The rooms are luxurious, spacious and modern. The staff were very knowledgeable and able to suggest and organise a variety of tours around Napa this was particularly helpful as we were visiting from overseas (Australia). Looking forward to our next visit already.

Room Tip: While a view is preferable even those without have a beautiful and more private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear MichaelR,

Thank you for choosing the Napa Valley Lodge during your visit from Australia. We take pride in having such a wonderful staff that truly cares about every guest’s experience, and are always willing to help. Thank you for taking the time to commend them for all their hard work and efforts.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Right in the heart of Yountville, and the gateway to all the valley, Napa Valley Lodge is a true haven of luxury & service. Rooms are beautiful, & have everything you need for a perfectly comfortable stay. What a way to start the day with a scrumptious breakfast brought to your door; cookie, fruit & tea & coffee are always available in the lobby. It's an easy walk to several of Yountville's great restaurants, and Yountville escapes some of the hustle & bustle found in some of the other towns along Highway 29. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Operations Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Karen 1294,

Thank you for your review. We have taken care to continually expand and improve our Champagne continental breakfast and are happy that you noticed and appreciated our efforts. We love our location across from Yountville Park at the North end of town, yet close enough to walk to all the restaurants and wine tasting rooms in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Mark Stohlman,
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa Valley Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is set in a vineyard in a quiet setting away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and serene pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible.The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, vaulted ceilings, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, On-Command video, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.