We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic respite in the vineyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Save Saved
You added Napa Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
V.I.P. WINERY TOUR
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bothell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic respite in the vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After a long, stressful drive pulling an overloaded trailer with an overloaded van, I & my wife "found" the wonderful Napa Valley Lodge early one evening recently and were blown away by the friendly, helpful staff and the spotless, comfy accommodations. We had paid the bit extra for a fireplace and were rewarded with a romantic fire in our room overlooking the wonderful courtyard next to a vineyard. Needless to say, we dined in our room. There are plenty of great dining establishments within an easy walk in sleepy Yountville where we found our delicious spread. We enjoyed a nice bottle of Napa Cab that was in the reasonably priced, well stocked Honor Bar!
In the morning we enjoyed a wonderful, complimentary European Style breakfast and we were on our way, well rested, well feed and ready for the rest of the drive to Seattle!
I can't wait to come back to Napa where I guarantee I will be staying at "The Lodge"!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Crazyhorse349,

Thank you for your raving review of our property and staff. We are so glad you "found" us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Happy travels until then!

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    594
    198
    49
    14
    3
See reviews for
89
512
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during the busy Valentines day/Presidents Day weekend. It's a beautiful hotel with a great vibe conducive for relaxation. The staff was truly one of the best aspects of this hotel, in fact it was as if they were more determined than us to give us a gala time. We had not made any reservations for tastings and the hotel gave us recommendations and got us in at the last minute, into some hard to get places. In fact, for one tasting, we got a one on one tour, and it was free, because we were hotel guests!.
I had let the staff know that we were celebrating my husband's birthday, and we checked in to find a nice bottle of wine chilling for us, courtesy of the hotel. Very nice touch
The hotel room itself was nice with a fireplace that a nice bathroom. Our only gripe was that we had to walk a few minutes across a parking lot to get to the pool and hot tub. But the breakfast was very nice and well stocked.
All in all, this was an excellent stay and we would like to thank the staff for making it so good for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear lovestotraveler99,

Thank you for your gracious comments. We feel our caring and understanding staff is our biggest asset. Their commitment to building lasting relationships with all our guests is the reason we are successful and so many come back to visit us again and again.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Napa I highly recommend this hotel. It is within walking distance from downtown Yountville with great dining options and is also in a great setting. The hotel is exceptionally well kept and the staff was very helpful. We staying in a room with a fireplace, and the bathroom is huge (with a sitting mirror)! All the toiletries are L´occitaine. The breakfast is great, it´s in a beautiful room overlooking the vines, with a great fireplace. They have Starbucks brewed coffee and many hot and cold breakfast options. We had an issue with a tour booking and the hotel management took it upon them to solve the matter, so to make our stay even more enjoyable, they took care of everything.

Room Tip: If you can, try to obtain a room facing the inner courtyard, not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Raquel10,

We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We take pride in having such a wonderful staff that truly cares about every guest’s experience, and are always willing to help.
Thank you for taking the time to commend them for all their hard work and efforts.

Warmest Regards.

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights while in the Napa Valley area. Rooms are very nice, complimentary breakfast was complete with mimosas, great restaurants within walking distance and fantastic wineries within short driving distance. Highly recommended, would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Charlotte C,

Thank you for your review. We have taken care to continually expand and improve our Champagne continental breakfast and are happy that you noticed and appreciated our efforts. We love our location across from Yountville Park at the North end of town, yet close enough to walk to all the restaurants and wine tasting rooms in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Napa Valley Lodge proved to be a wonderful base for exploring Napa Valley. A beautiful hotel with a wonderful ambiance within walking distance of great restaurants and wine tasting rooms. We rented bikes just across the street for an easy ride around the valley past numerous vineyards. The people at the front desk were very helpful with tips about enjoying both Yountville and Napa Valley.

JCK

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear John K,

Thank you for your review. We are lucky to be located in such a wonderful area, and glad to hear you took the opportunity to explore its beauty. We have our own bikes now, which are complimentary for our guests to use, and hope you will be able to take advantage of these during your next stay.

Warmest regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved our one nights stay here. The room we had overlooked the vineyards, had a fireplace which was great when we got back from dinner and the room comes with a huge walk in shower, nice little touches like nice toiletry products and a nice choice of things in the mini bar. We enjoyed a relax in the spa pool and a swim in the heated pool on a February evening and then sat by the fire pit for about an hour with a class of local napa valley wine. If we visit the area again we are sure to return to this hotel. Our biggest disappointment was having to leave.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear 8ee8y,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy that you appreciated our new local organic toiletry products, as well as some of our locally produced mini bar items. We would think it rare to read in most climes that you were able to relax outside in the evenings and swim in the pool in February:) Just one of the great benefits of visiting and living in California, Yountville in particular.

We look forward to you crossing the ocean and visiting with us again soon,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a girlfriends get-away, 4 of us in all. From the moment I booked this hotel, they helped me with recommendations and made reservations for us at wineries & restaurants.The rooms were spacious and the beds & pillows were very comfortable; each room had its own Keurig machine in it. We were all more than impressed with the complimentary continental breakfast; it went way beyond our expectations. The firepit around the pool served as a great location to hang out with some wine and meet new people. Every staff member seemed to genuinely be concerned about our comfort. The icing on the cake was when I returned home, I received a call stating they had found a gold piece which belonged to my bathing suit and did I want them to send it to me. I highly recommend Napa Valley Lodge.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if stairs are a challenge, stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Monicasch62,

We are gratified to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed many of our recent improvements, such as the Kuerig coffee machines in all our guest rooms and the upgrades to our continental breakfast. In addition to the comfortable pillows in our rooms we now offer a pillow menu for our guests, so you may further customize your comfort during your next visit. We are happy to learn that our new initiative to immediately identify lost or misplaced items left behind in rooms and contact our recent guests is meeting with positive results.

Warmest Regards,

Mark Stohlman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#2 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa Valley Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is set in a vineyard in a quiet setting away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and serene pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible.The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, vaulted ceilings, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, On-Command video, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.