We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Napa Valley Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LOWEST RATE ANYWHERE!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rancho cucamonga, CA
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Wow, excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about this place! The rooms are well appointed and have fireplaces, the location is just right off Washington street where all the best resturants are located and the staff was great.

The hotel had lots of nice extras including coffe in the lobby, complimentary champagne breakfast, turn down service (and they place delicious cookies on your pillow) and free bike rentals.

The staff was friendly and welcoming. Loved this place!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    224
    58
    14
    3
See reviews for
110
595
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Napa Valley Lodge is over-priced for what it offers. The location is good and if you get a room on the first floor next to the vineyard that is cool, but the quality of the rooms is like a converted holiday Inn/Best Western in the $75/day catagory.

The people working the front desk are very kind and helpful.

They offer a happy hour with a local wine seller, but they quickly ran out of wine.

If you can get in the Harvest Inn north up the highway (St. Helena) the cost is about the same and they have far better rooms and grounds.

The real advantage of this hotel is that you can walk into the town where the restaurants are located.

Room Tip: 1st floor room on the vineyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This was a great choice for our three day post-Christmas Napa Valley trip. The room was relatively affordable ($220/night) and the room was spacious and clean. We had a room with a fireplace, which was a nice December touch. We also really enjoyed the included breakfast, the hot tub, and the workout room. The breakfast was surprisingly good. The workout room had just a few cardio machines, but that worked for me. The pool was a tad too cold for my partner to brave for his daily workout. The location is perfect for walking through town.

If you're not that familiar with Napa Valley, Yountville (where this is located) is the southern most of the "cute" and touristy towns. It was an easy ten minute drive up to Rutherford where we had an arranged wine tasting and tour at Honig, and about twenty easy minutes up to St. Helena where we decided to go for a movie.

We had a great meal right across the street at Ciccio... A highlight of the trip.

We were really pleased with this choice, and we plan t return next time we visit Napa Valley.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pheonix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My friends and I have been planning this trip to CA for a while now. We are doing a tour from San fran down to Los angeles. I was debating whether to stay in Sonoma or Napa. We came for the wines and thought sonoma might be a better option but we opted to stay in Napa because Napa lodge looked so nice online. First off... I must say the wines in this region are amazing. Best ive ever had! wow!! I was blown away. The lodge was very clean, rooms were spacious, people were professional, dining was good and the fire pit at night was amazing for us to sit around and have girl talk. If we are back in California we will definitly come back here! Thank you NVL

Room Tip: Try the quail its amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. Sounds like you found some great wines and had a chance to spend some special time with your friends. That is what the Napa Valley is all about. I want to thank you for staying at the Lodge and allowing us to share in your adventure.
Best regards,
Tim McGregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was blown away !!I did my homework for about a year before deciding on Napa Valley Lodge Customer Service = EXCELLENT, Location = EXCELLENT , and the room was amazing fireplace , bathroom, bath robes , and pillows . We were within walking distance to all fabulous restaurants. This is a definitely a place I will return to. We also received a bottle of Champagne when we checked in and we were able to check in early . It reminded me of Italy ;) very Tuscan style architecture.

Room Tip: We had room 44 2nd floor our view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Napa Valley Lodge a couple of nights for our 25th wedding anniversary. The place was fantastic. Very spacious, clean and relaxing. We greatly enjoyed the time we had there. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We chose the NVL due to its central location in Yountville and the close proximity to numerous quality restaurants. For that alone, I would choose this place again. There are other good things about this place as well, including the champagne breakfast (included in the room rate) and the pool area. The beds are also very comfortable as well.

However, there are were a few things that were disappointing about our room. First, there was no bathtub in our room, which was a little surprising considering how much it costs to stay at this resort. Second, our room was located at the end of a building on the first floor - I'm not sure why, but it was always very dark and cold - no sunlight ever came near the windows. And the one closet in the room (located in the bathroom) was rather disgusting - full of peeling paint and brown stuff.

One last thing - the room boasts a Keurig which I had heard so many good things about - but the coffee it made in our room was terrible. We much preferred the coffee in the breakfast area (not a big deal).

All in all - we would stay in Yountville again but probably look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms on the first floor at the end of a building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Love2Travel93,
Thank you for your comments, positive as well as constructive. I am sorry that we could not make this a 5 star stay for you. While many of our rooms are furnished with an oversized walk-in shower, we do have rooms with oversized jetted tubs that I am sorry we did not offer to you as an option during your stay. In regards to the condition of the closet, I will research this right away and make the needed paint repairs to this room. I regret that you had to point this out to us. While we feel that the Keurig machines are a nice offering to our guests, we understand that they are not for everyone and thus we offer fresh brewed Starbucks at our breakfast and in our lobby. I am glad that you had a nice stay with us and hope that you will give us the opportunity to give you a 5 star stay in the future.
Sincerely,
Tim McGregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
#4 Business Hotel in Yountville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is located at the north end of town away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible. The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.