We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Anniversary Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Lodge

Save Saved
You added Napa Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Napa Valley Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Retreat
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yountville
GreenLeadersBronze level
los angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“AMAZING Anniversary Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Napa Valley Lodge went above and beyond to ensure that our 1 year wedding Anniversary was nothing less than spectacular! From the minute we walked in it was special, they wished us a Happy Anniversary and informed us that they had upgraded us to their best room, the Bella Vista suite. We were then handed a sheet full of a variety of breakfast items and were told that we could choose whatever we wanted every morning to be brought up to our room... Wow. Well, it doesn't stop there, when we entered our phenomenal suite there was a complimentary bottle of wine along side a note wishing us a pleasant Anniversary stay from the staff at Napa Valley Lodge. Our room. OMG, it was huge, the balcony overlooked the vineyard, our bathroom had a soaking tub and 3 shower head shower, fireplace in front of the massive king size bed and a whole separate suite area complete with a second TV, love seat and table with chairs overlooking the vineyard views. The staff was super accommodating and friendly and our room was cleaned daily. The location is perfect, walking/driving distance to the best restaurants including BOTTEGA RESTAURANT and BOUCHON BAKERY. If you can afford the Bella Vista Suite, go for it... so worth it :) Thanks Napa Valley Lodge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Napa Valley Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear carlritz,
Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words regarding your stay with us. Overlooking the gorgeous vineyards, the Bella Vista Suite is truly a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the special touches that go into making you feel a part of our home and want you to know that it is truly a pleasure to have you as our guests. We certainly hope that you can visit us again on future anniversaries.
Best regards,
Tim McGregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    208
    53
    14
    3
See reviews for
96
529
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Napa Valley Lodge was more than we could have imagined. The room we had was large, with an adorable fireplace, a balcony with a view to an expansive vineyard, a large bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. Just one example of the friendly and accommodating staff we encountered during our experience was the maintenance gentleman who noticed us having snacks near the pool in the evening, and kindly offered to light the fire pit for us. We loved everything from the cookies left bedside in the evenings, to the breakfast tables directly next to a vineyard and mimosas. Plus the Yountville shuttle that picks guests up right at the front door and drops off at the popular restaurant area was great. We went into staying here, knowing it was at the top end of what we wanted to spend, but it was worth every penny, and we aren't even considering staying anywhere else when we return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my first trip to Napa and loved the location of the hotel. Our room was upgraded to a vineyard view and was awesome to sit on our porch and look out at the vineyard. The room size was perfect and the bathroom was very spacious. Breakfast each morning was a great touch by the fireplace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our trip to Yountville was our first in nearly 15 years to the Napa Valley. Things have changed and it is a much busier place than I remember. The Napa Valley Lodge was a logical choice for us wanting the intimacy of a smaller lodge with superior amenities close to Highway 29 (for winery exploration!).

We stayed in a King Junior suite. The room was large, luxurious and clean. My wife and I were able to move around without stepping over each other. The bed was extremely comfortable. I enjoyed the secluded balcony as I sipped piping hot coffee in the morning and enjoyed wine during the evening. The bathroom has an incredibly large bathtub and oversize shower. All amenities were top shelf and we enjoyed the fireplace each night (with Hotel provided dura flame style log). The NVL offers turn down service at night and complimentary bottles water on each night stand, so you remain hydrated after enjoying your favorite reds each day.

If you are in the area, Dean and Deluca’s is a great place to pick up a sandwich before wine tasting, and the Press restaurant served the best pepper crusted ribeye I have ever tasted.

This trip we spent alot of time on Spring Mountain. We loved the view, ambience of Sherwin. Spring Mountain Vineyards was truly enjoyable. Our favorite host on the mountain was Cobin at Terra Valentine. He is an impressive young family man that is a teacher of wine tasting and knows his subject well. The wine of course speaks for itself, and the views from the balcony of the winery are stunning. We enjoyed our packed lunch in the courtyard of this magnificent winery.

All in all a great trip that saw us stay in Fisherman’s wharf in San Francisco, as well as the East Brother’s light station in San Francisco Bay.

Room Tip: Sorry we did not try the on site restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Three girlfriends and I just stayed here. What a fabulous stay! Everything was perfect! The room was beautiful and the grounds are just gorgeous. Everyone who worked there was so nice. We stayed on the 2nd floor and had a lovely view of the courtyard & pool area. I woke up early before my friends and went down to the lobby to get coffee and enjoyed it by the fire pit in the courtyard. The breakfast was so good! Not just bagels and pastries either! Felt like I was in a dream! I will be recommending this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this hotel for a girls trip because we could book a room with 2 double beds, which is hard to find in Napa Valley! The room was lovely, roomy, and we had a fabulous view of the pool/garden area and some of the valley. After touring wineries we spent the late afternoons drinking (more) wine by the pool in the afternoon sun. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous and reminded me of the huge spread of choices that were served at the hotels in Europe. Yountville was centrally located and was a nice town to walk around in during the evenings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a portion of our honeymoon, and although our room was not ready at 3pm when we got there, we were able to sit outside near the pool and enjoy a glass of wine (keep in mind it was about 55*, and took about 10 minutes for someone to greet us). The pictures are a bit deceiving, as you can see the expressway from your room- we had a second floor 'suite' with a fireplace and balcony facing the pool/fire pit area. The rooms were very nice, and we were greeted with a congratulations bottle of wine, which was very nice! The hotel is within walking distance from all the 'downtown' bars, wineries, and restaurants. Oh, and the free breakfast- AMAZING! Full breakfast with anything you would want- eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, mimosas, etc. Such a nice surprise! I would stay here again, or suggest to friends/family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Lodge

Address: 2230 Madison St, Yountville, CA 94599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Yountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yountville
#2 Green Hotel in Yountville
#3 Business Hotel in Yountville
#3 Spa Hotel in Yountville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yountville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yountville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa Valley Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Napa Valley, in the charming town of Yountville, the Napa Valley Lodge is just steps away from world-renowned restaurants, specialty shops, and award winning wine tasting rooms. The Lodge is set in a vineyard in a quiet setting away from the hustle and bustle of Yountville, but within easy strolling distance. Our property is designed in the Tuscan villa style and adorned with lush landscaping and thoughtful details at every turn, from trickling fountains to our popular outdoor fire pit and serene pool area. The Lodge welcomes you with a friendly and experienced staff that is committed to making your stay as special as possible.The Napa Valley Lodge's 55 guestrooms are spacious, private, and graciously furnished. Our guestrooms feature private verandahs, many with courtyard, garden, or vineyard views, vaulted ceilings, and fireplaces. A Champagne continental breakfast buffet is served complimentary every morning from 8:00am-10:00am.All rooms are non-smoking, have deluxe honor bars, complimentary wireless internet (WiFi) access, flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, On-Command video, desks, and fresh brewed coffee. All guest bathrooms have been completely renovated with walk-in glass showers, granite vanity counters, and limestone floors. For your convenience, our guestrooms include irons, ironing boards, two plush micro fiber robes, hair dryers and a variety of complimentary personal amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Napa Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Yountville
Napa Valley Yountville
Napa Valley Lodge Yountville, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.