We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near Sacramento Airport/UC Davis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn
584 North East Street, Woodland, CA 95776   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Leesport, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near Sacramento Airport/UC Davis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Best Western Shadow Inn is a great choice if you are flying into or out of Sacramento International Airport (SMF). Only a 12 minute drive on I-5, if you are either going to Davis or into the north Central Valley, it is an excellent location. The amenities are what you'd expect from a Best Western--though we left too early on this trip for the breakfast and the weather didn't cooperate to try out the pool. There are also two outdoor spas. The in-room microwaves and refrigerators are a definite plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    69
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
63
55
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

You can find more upscale lodgings and restaurants in Sacramento, but you'll also find congestion, noise, air pollution, and much higher costs. If all you need is overnight lodging near Sacramento's airport (SMF), stay here instead.

18 mins west of I-5, and 10 mins north of I-80 @ Davis (exit I-80 just west of Davis, go north on CA Hwy 113), Shadow Inn is 12 mins from the airport...and without any of the traffic leading from Sacramento, itself, to the airport.

Not fancy, but quite comfortable, well-maintained, nice pool area, 2 hot tubs, sparse but adequate continental bkfst, friendly/helpful/efficient staff, various prices below $100/night. There's an independent 'diner' across the parking lot, but if you want to eat somewhere in Woodland head the few extra blocks to downtown/historic district and make your selection there.

Woodland's not a 'destination' town, but if clean, comfortable, quiet, inexpensive lodging near Sacramento airport is what you need, this is the place.

Room Tip: 2-story bldg, we chose upper floor so can't comment on lower floor sound-proofing. I-5 is a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It is one of the less expensive Best Westerns we've stayed in. I try to keep that in mind as I critique it. Little things I noticed: they buy the absolutely cheapest, thinnest TP there is. Same with the plastic ware in the breakfast room. There is very nice plastic ware (forks, spoons, etc) out there, but this motel buys very flimsy cheap stuff. The continental (i.e., cold) breakfast is barely adequate. No options on fresh fruit, no fruit salad, etc. The coffee is not hot--only warm. The WIFI connection is slow (probably another money-saving strategy).
On the other hand, the room was clean, the shower was especially good, and the room was quiet.
One final note: The owner showed his lack of regard for the guests who pay for his Beemer by parking it 24-7 right smack in front of the entryway, inconveniencing everyone checking in. The staff just shrugged and said, "We'll, he's the owner so he gets to park where he wants to." Likewise, I guess, I get to spend my hotel dollars where I want to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

There with my grand kids on a very hot week for Woodland and the pool was both clean and in good shape. The staff worked with us to make our stay fun and wanting to return when we visit the area. The cable was very limiting however and a bit of poor quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved our room. The ladies at the front desk are so friendly and let us check in early as it was so hot. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast was a good continental breakfast and the pool area was fantastic. We all had a good swim. Just very friendly and accommodating people that work there. Will come back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location, great staff, very friendly. Beds adequate. Room very clean. Only downside, was someone was smoking outside our room by pool, and cig smoke likes to travel! Otherwise would stay again definitely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the shadow inn for the Yolo County Fair. The room was hot even with the AC blowing full blast the entire time even when we were not in the room which wasn't much due to heat outside. AC don't cool room very well. Hotel was nice people were nice. Breakfast left something to be desired for your diabetic guests. hard boiled egg is the only protien you offer and then the sugar content of everything else

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn

Address: 584 North East Street, Woodland, CA 95776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Woodland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shadow Hotel Woodland
Best Western Woodland
Woodland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.