We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn
584 North East Street, Woodland, CA 95776   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A real jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I usually do not stay in Best Westerns that aren't Plus or Priemier, but this was an exception. This is probably the best Best Western in which I've ever stayed -period. Right off freeway. The cleanest room and grounds by far - and that includes Sheratons and Westins! Although it is older, it is updated (granite countertops) and our King room was huge facing the inside courtyard and beautiful pool area. The staff was super friendly and helpful giving us a wonderful restaurant in town (#428) in which to dine. Their "continental breakfast" actually had make your own waffles with other cereals, doughnuts, hard-boiled eggs, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    73
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
69
60
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This motel has a very good location, just off Interstate 5, near Sacramento Airport. It is outside the town of Woodland, surrounded by farm fields, and shares a parking lot with a restaurant (we didn't go there) and a gas station. Most of the guests seemed to be traveling families plus some truckers. We stayed there to visit our son at the University of California, Davis, which is about a 15 minute drive from the motel. Staff was excellent, friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and mostly comfortable, with a microwave and refrigerator. The included continental breakfast was basic, but adequate: cereal, waffles, bagels, muffins, doughnuts, fruit, juice. The pool area is quite pleasant. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because of a couple of problems. I had some trouble with the wireless, which was not very reliable in my room (but fine outside and in the lobby), and the pillows were so thick they hurt my neck, so I ended up just using a pile of towels (the bed was comfortable otherwise, with a firm mattress). The main problem, though, was that the air conditioning was very noisy and kept me awake: it cycled on and off loudly and repeatedly until we turned it off. The weather was not too hot when we were there, but that might be a problem in the heat of summer. I would go back, but probably not in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were walk-ins at this hotel, and were offered the "discount rate". It sounded reasonable and I liked the fact that the entire hotel was Allergy Free, No Smoking, and No Pets.

The negatives: Our mattress provided very little support and the bathroom was downright dinky. Even with the air conditioner on full, we couldn't cool the room enough for our tastes.

On the plus side, the room included a microwave and mini-fridge for a reasonable price. And per their policy, the room was clean; I had no allergy issues. Overall, I would say it was worth the price we paid, but other than the cleanliness it has nothing to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western after flying into the Sacramento Airport late at night. The desk clerk on our arrival was very nice. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Continental breakfast was minimal. Grounds clean and well kept. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

A nice location to get a flight. One big downside is no wifi. Which in today's society is kinda something in looking for. Other than that a clean hotel with easy access. Only used it because airport is only about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were stopping through before a flight the next morning. When I requested a room a little closer to where the wifi actually worked, I was informed that all of the wifi was down and that wasn't possible. Ironically when we walked to doors down the wifi was fast and easy to use. The front desk associate was far more concerned about his pizza than my needs.
Also the room we were in was stiflingly hot and uncomfortable all night even with the AC at full blast.
There are many other options close to the airport that I will choose next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were there visiting family. The house became too crowed so we opted to find a room for the night. What a great choice we made. Room was huge and very clean. The free breakfast was your standard but there was plenty. Coffee was excellent. The front desk staff both at checkin and checkout were very friendly and helpful. Price was very reasonable and we will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: This hotel is a easy drive to the Sacramento Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn

Address: 584 North East Street, Woodland, CA 95776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Woodland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shadow Hotel Woodland
Best Western Woodland
Woodland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.