We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, surprisingly quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   584 North East Street, Woodland, CA 95776   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Woodland
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, surprisingly quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a weekend in June 2012. We were there for a cycling event in Davis. First of all, this is MUCH cheaper than most Davis hotels/motels. It's only about a 20 minute drive on the freeway to get into downtown Davis.

The room was huge, clean, and comfortable. We were facing into the courtyard near the pool, and even though there were plenty of families and kids in the pool, we didn't hear much noise at all. The motel is also very close to the freeway, but we heard no road noise at all and slept very well. The air conditioner worked well and was quiet. Front desk staff were cheerful and friendly.

We were surprised at how nice this place was- it's someplace you might not notice, but boy was it convenient for our event, and much spiffier than we had expected. We could have paid double the price for a room in Davis, but why?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    104
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
93
82
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent a night here in November so we could attend a seminar that started early the next morning. The hotel was quiet (even though we had an end room close to I-5), extremely clean, and very comfortable. Of particular note to me was the heating system. It was a typical unit mounted under the window. It kept the room comfortable with minimal noise and hot air. Very nice. The free breakfast was spartan but ... free. AAA offered a good discount that made our stay very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The front desk was helpful and the room clean. The courtyard rooms (the quieter ones) were all booked, but I was given a room as far from the highway on the outside of the complex and didn't have any problems. The breakfast was good. It's not far from some very good restaurants in Woodland. The drive to Davis was a breeze as well. BTW my non-flat TV screen was just as watchable as a flat screen...

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We find BW to be a dependable stop for weary travellers...and the Shadow Inn is no exception. Clean, no mold, easy access....and a good night's sleep. As always for us, the breakfast is the downside for us in so many of these hotels... the tasteless coffee and the bland sameness of the available food options you find in EVERY motel nowadays drives us out for breakfast in spite of it being 'free'.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The night clerk was extremely helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean and well kept. I was able to get the rest I needed and make my meeting refreshed the next day. The whole staff was friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at the Shadow in in Woodland last weekend. I liked it very much. It is exceptionally well-maintained, inside and out. The paint was fresh, the rooms were clean, the landscaping and pool were attractive. The rooms have been updated and are very contemporary--the only exception is that the televisions are still tube-style and not flat-screen and the channel selections were pretty limited (not a big deal to me, but there it is). They do have the new "Clean" remote controls, though. Also, the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave. And here's another nice feature: not one, but TWO(!) folding luggage stands in each room (no more fighting with the spouse over who gets to but the suitcase on the stand and who has to put it on the floor).

The public areas were very clean and updated. The complementary breakfast was good (make-your-own waffles, fruit, cereal, pastries--the usual).

The price was right: under $80 per night for a hotel this nice is a good deal.

The staff were friendly and helpful, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stopped in at the Best Western Shadow Inn about 7:00pm without a reservation. Due to the very quick and courteous help at the front desk, we were in our room less than five minutes later. The room was big, clean and nicely appointed. The grounds looked very well kept. The pools were inviting. We had a relaxing evening and good nights sleep.

I'd recommend a night's stay at the Shadow Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodland
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodland
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodland
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Woodland
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Woodland
Comfort Suites Woodland
#1 of 12 in Woodland
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Woodland
Days Inn Woodland
#7 of 12 in Woodland
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
15.7 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#18 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn

Address: 584 North East Street, Woodland, CA 95776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Woodland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shadow Hotel Woodland
Best Western Woodland
Woodland Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Shadow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.