We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Woodland

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Woodland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Woodland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2070 Freeway Drive, Woodland, CA 95776   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have been staying in Woodland off and on for a couple of years for business. The location is very convenient to both the airport in Sacramento and my project site. Close to nice unique restaurants, too! Hotel is clean, spacious, and has nice amenities

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
12
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Arrived in morning around 9:30 am and asked for an early check in, clerk, Latina woman, only saying ethnicity for identification, automatically stated if there is a room available I would have to pay an extra day, I asked her when I can check in and she said not till 12:30. It was hot outside and I told her I have medical issues, but she was too busy small talking to another employee and continued to ignore me.
I went shopping to stay out of heat, temperatures suppose to climb to 108 today, and I came back around 11:30, Another clerk, blonde, I think her name is lizzy, was extremely friendly greeted me, (unlike the bad clerk), and told me she would check to see if there are any rooms available. Upon checking she easily found a room, asked me if I needed a restaurant guide, handed me one and told me of all the services that the inn provides. I asked her for directions and she pulled out a map and directed me. She was the complete opposite of the other clerk, beware of the front desk receptionist, one could care less and the other is extremely welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodland, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear debmata,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I apologize for the service that you have received which is not up to your par. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stay in Woodland once a year for the Davis World Cup, but our usual place was booked, and this was our first time at the Holiday Inn Express.

The location is convenient -- right off the freeway, and a straight shot to Davis for us. The property is spotless, our room large and quiet with all the amenities, I often have a hard time sleeping in hotels, but the bed was ultra comfortable and the blackout shades helped. Breakfast: well above average, with an array of hot dishes in addition to the standard prefab muffins, pastries, and bulk cereals. The pool is indoors, but our kids enjoyed themselves nonetheless, and I soaked in the hot tub.

This is not a resort and you can't really walk to anything, but it's just a short drive into historic old Woodland, where we went for dinner, and there is no shortage of malls. If you're looking for a pleasant and reasonably priced place to stay, you could do much worse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a surprise!!! We have never been to Woodland and were just stopping there on our way to San Francisco/Monterey. It was a beautiful facility, much newer than the its sister in Santa Nella. The bed was VERY comfortable, the room was spotless,smelled great, and was VERY quiet!!! The breakfast was the same as Santa Nella, which we always appreciate!!

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the freeway and it was VERY quite!!! My husband is in a wheelchair an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The HIE in Woodland was very comfortable. The breakfast area was modern yet relaxing. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. They had free lemonade in the lobby and a constant supply of cookies to snack on. The staff was courteous and always smiling. Great stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

the staff assured us it was a safe place to stay. None the less we got broken into right infront of the entrance where we parked. We were told it was surveillanced and never had any issues not to worry. Staff didn't care didn't say anything didn't apologize just said it actually didn't have cameras and call the police... Never stay there so rude and inconsiderate!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodland, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear stephaniegap,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Check-in was quick, as was checkout, and handled by efficient, friendly desk clerks. I asked for the third floor towards the back away from the freeway, two queen beds and received our room at a reduced long term rate since we planned to stay several days. We enjoyed our stay very much. The facility is smoke free and quiet. Our large room was fresh, had beds with firm mattresses, and four pillows with various degrees of softness. The bathroom was very clean and had plenty of extra towels and washcloths. We had a new large, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, great WiFi, worktable and comfortable chairs. Housekeeping was terrific and had an efficient two man crew. Breakfast had an outstanding assortment of choices with variations during our five day stay. The large breakfast room was attended by a young lady who did very well. A push button automatic pancake maker was included. A large indoor pool was beautiful and a fully equipped exercise room is next to the pool. Little extras, such as motion sensing light switches added to a nice stay.

Room Tip: We chose the third floor to the rear of the hotel away from the freeway and our room was quiet. It f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodland

Address: 2070 Freeway Drive, Woodland, CA 95776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Woodland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodland 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Sacramento International Airport, our hotel's location is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Just off Highway 5 and next to E Main St, the Holiday Inn Express® Woodland hotel offers easy access to local attractions and businesses, as well as those in Davis and Sacramento. Also, with a 24-hour notice, our free shuttle can take you to and from the Sacramento airport (SMF) from 4am-1am. Our hotel's corporate benefits are superb, and major businesses like the Target Distribution Center, Rite Aid Center, True Value Hardware Warehouse, Halliburton and Seminis are all located near us in Woodland, CA. Additionally, our hotel's 800 sq-ft meeting room has seating for 40 and access to projectors, a TV with VCR/DVD player and free Wi-Fi. Print, fax and copy services are provided in the 24-hour Business Center, too.Looking for something to do? The City of Trees hosts the Yolo County Fair, Sacramento Valley Scottish Games and various dog shows. Just a few feet from our hotel is the Hay's Antique Truck Museum, or you can visit the Woodland Opera House and Yolo County Historical Museum in the downtown area.We strive to make your stay here special. With perks like an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, fitness center, free Wi-Fi access, complimentary hot breakfast bar and free parking, it's easy to see why we're among the best pet friendly hotels in the Sacramento area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodland Hotel Woodland
Holiday Inn Woodland
Woodland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Woodland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.