We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ain't worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Oaks Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Oaks Inn to your Saves list
Valley Oaks Inn
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   600 North East St, Woodland, CA 95776   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Centerville, Utah
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ain't worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I would not recommend this place to anyone unless you think Motel 6 is a sweet place to lodge. They advertised king beds but have none. Light bulbs are out and need replacing. The bathrooms are without ventilation. The queen bed has a trampoline like effect when your partner moves around. Pillows are stale smelling and not fresh.

The check in process took longer than getting a mortgage at our bank. And to think we passed up a very good Best Western to find this place. Never stay here again.

Room Tip: Yeah, just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Older but very clean. Half mile to Nelsons grove campground. Walk to nice restaurant on other side of freeway for breakfast. Our room was spotless, very nice managers on sight and staff was wonderful. Stayed downstairs, nice lawn to relax in chair.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

A good hotel for an overnight stay - close to the highway but not bothered by traffic noise. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and they welcomed our two small dogs for a small extra fee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed talking with the manager, Yogi, who checked us in and helped us with problems with our keys (we had reservations for three nights, but we had to get a new key each day). Out room was immaculate, the mattress was firm and comfy. The fridge worked and was quiet. But the furniture was very worn, the carpet and bathroom floors felt "sticky" as if too much cleaning fluid had been used. Its location is between the freeway and the access ramp, but we heard very little road noise in the room. (Our room was on the access ramp side, which I am sure helped.) There is no coffee in the room, but the lobby/breakfast area had coffee by 5:30 am each day. The breakfast offering was the smallest I have ever seen, but the coffee was hot and fresh. No good place to walk the dog, but there is a great dog park in Woodland which we used several times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked through Expedia and had a hard time with all involved . I was super specific about what was required as my husband and I were traveling with my 88 year old mother. I was told that Expedia called the motel and they had a walk in shower and 2 queen beds. When we arrived they said I never asked for queen beds or told them it was for 3 people, I really resented being accused of lying. I have the confirmation email with my exact request. Bad deal all around. We got a better room with what we needed at the Shadow Inn Best Western for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If your on the road and your looking for a comfortable, clean and quiet place to stop near Woodland, Ca. this definetly the place to make your stop. Reasonably priced, with the nicest front office staff. Light breakfast from 6am to 9am. What was a plus was they allow dogs and when your traveling it's very difficult to find a clean hoel that allows pet's. I will always stop at this gracious hotle when I'm in there area. Thank you fro your great service

Room Tip: My room was in the back so very quiet;but think rooms on the north side would be much quieter. No co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family was traveling home from L.A. and when we were dog tired we could not find a hotel around Sacramento and Woodland that had availability. A gentleman at one of the spendy hotels referred us here. The owners were so kind,and polite. When we arrived they had already went to our room to turn on the AC so it was cool when we got in. They even offered to keep the pool open longer if we wanted to take a quick swim before going to bed, which after being in a car with 4 kids for 9 hours was wonderful. The grounds and room were very clean and comfortable. Yes, the rooms are old, and our shower broke and we had to switch rooms, the sheets on one of the beds was worn out and would not stay in place, but other than that it was a better room than more expensive chains we've stayed at. The continental breakfast is all processed carbs, so some fresh fruit choices and real o.j. would be a welcome addition. We will definately stay there again when traveling to L.A.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an "inside" room. The rooms facing freeway can be a little too noisy. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Oaks Inn

Address: 600 North East St, Woodland, CA 95776
Location: United States > California > Woodland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Valley Oaks Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valley Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Oaks Hotel Woodland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Oaks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.