We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Woodland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Woodland to your Saves list
Motel 6 Woodland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1564 East Main Street, I-5 at East Main Street, Woodland, CA 95776   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Traveling with a group of 4 teenagers on a road trip, we chose Motel 6 because of the price and, no-frills reliability - or so I thought.

The place has a grimy feel to the outside...I think it is functioning as an extended stay hotel for vagrants. There was a woman sitting on the stairs having a smoke at 1:00 a.m. who couldn't be bothered to move over as we carted our luggage up to our rooms.

The rooms themselves have been renovated with laminate wood flooring. The bathroom is a standard Motel 6 throne and hose-off, except the showers are a bit larger than I remember. The beds, though, were the ultimate in skeezy. Between our two rooms, three of the beds had pubic hair on the sheets, and one of the sets of sheets had stains.

Housekeeping came up and changed the sheets, and manager gave us a $25 refund on our stay. While I appreciated that small sop, it will not be enough to entice me back ever again, or to warn others away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    5
    5
    11
See reviews for
7
2
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Return trip... Very tired when I arrived. Front desk was friendly and efficient, check-in was fast. Room was identical to the one I'd stayed in on the outbound leg in Red Bluff main thing clean and no odors. Front desk called after I was in room to see if everything was sufficient. Again location was close to food, gas and the freeway...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at the Woodland Motel 6 because I was exhibiting at a dog show at the Yolo County Fairgrounds. If you are traveling with a dog, Motel 6 is a good choice in general. They have a generous policy of allowing dogs without any size limits and they do not charge a pet fee. I have to praise the housecleaning staff because they vacuumed up all the dog hair and left the room very clean. The front desk staff was very friendly too. Unfortunately, the Woodland Motel 6 is adjacent to an I-5 exit and the area seemed to have quite a few transients loitering. If I had not had a large dog with me, I would not have felt safe walking at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night earlier this week. I don't expect much from a Motel 6 but this was ridiculous. The woman who checked me in was very nice but was having trouble getting the cleaning staff to tell her if my room was ready. It wasn't so they put me in another room. When I walked into the room it had the awful smell you get in a beauty salon. There was dried wax all over the top of the storage area and the bathroom was gross. The carpets looked like they had frightening fluids spilled throughout. Anytime you went outside you would hit a wall of smoke from all the people smoking there. A lot of the people that stay there seem to be long time residents and give the appearance of a halfway house. It was a scary place. Even if you are on a tight budget it is best to avoid this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because we had spent 15 hours on the road, and our 6 year old was complaining of aching legs. So, while in a perfect world we would have continued on to Sacramento, we figured it was best to put her (and her sleeping 3 year old brother) to bed. Checked into this motel w/ little problem, and the front desk staff was friendly enough. But the hotel was a disaster area, one of the worst I've ever seen. There was a HUGE (8" diameter) stain between the two bloods that looked like blood, no joke. The kids were so tired, and we had already brought enough stuff up from the car that we just put down a towel and tried to ignore it. It was a non-smoking room, but the comforters had cigarette burns. There was a woman downstairs feeding 8 cats in front of her room. There were blood (?) splatters on the curtains. The bathroom was a few months overdue for a serious cleaning. All in all, the room was cheap, and I guess the saying "you get what you pay for" is certainly true in this case. Unless you are spectacularly tired (as we were) or you've got exhausted kids (as we did), stay the hell away from this dump. There is absolutely nothing redeeming about it at all.

Room Tip: Best way to get a good room is to chose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

While en route to Carlsbad, CA, my two cats and I stayed one night (thank goodness!) at the Motel 6 in Woodland, CA. A previous Motel 6 accommodation (Medford, OR) was just dandy. But here in Woodland, the disgusting unidentifiable body fluids on one of the pillows, the HUGE (and I mean HUGE) dead spider in one of the overhead ceiling lights, the smell of stale cigarettes in my non-smoking room, the crusted-over shower...well, it's not pretty. I read the reviews before coming here, but my reservations were made before I left home. And since I'm on a schedule, I thought I'd risk the stay. Mistake! I should know to trust Trip Advisor reviews. Don't make this same mistake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Appearance of room was allright, the comforter was a gross texture so we removed that only to find the blanket beneath unwashed and with body fluids crusted on it. That is pretty disturbing...

Besides that, it is very noisy. A better bet we found after leaving was the econo lodge a mile or so down the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Woodland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Woodland

Address: 1564 East Main Street, I-5 at East Main Street, Woodland, CA 95776
Location: United States > California > Woodland
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Woodland 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Woodland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Motel Six
Woodland Motel 6
Motel Six Woodland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Woodland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.