We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic home in century-old orange groves with excellent hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodlake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
22702 Ave. 344, Woodlake, CA 93286   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Woodlake B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Historic home in century-old orange groves with excellent hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

I posted a video and a recipe from this B&B here:
http://foodandwinemavens.blogspot.com/2010/03/san-francisco-weekend-getaway-fresno.html

Hubby and I did the blossom trail and stopped here for the night. We reserved the suite upstairs and arrived after dinner around 8PM. The fireplace was lit downstairs, complimentary water bottles and chocolate-orange cookies were waiting for us in the room as well as Ferrero Rocher chocolates. Monica was there to let us in, show us around, and even advise us regarding our morning trip. The dark-wooded common areas immediately struck me as rich with history.

There were plenty of things to do for a quiet evening. Trivial pursuit, scrabble, backgammon, cards, plenty of VHS tapes and VCR/TV in our room (mostly Hepburn-era and WWII movies), a huge selection of excellent books (including many vintage books).

If you reserve the suite, you basically have the run of the upstairs. The bathroom is down the hall from the room but it's all yours. There is a bonus room up there for children, just next to the bathroom, that is super adorable with a huge dollhouse to play with. There's a cozy reading nook and table up there as well, in case you don't want to fraternize with others downstairs. But IMHO, the common rooms are the most lovely to spend time in. The bed is soft and felt like it would swallow me up but we slept solidly. Robes, alarm clock, and cd player were also provided.

Monica is very friendly and easygoing. She served us breakfast and chatted with us while we were dining. In the past, we've experienced hosts that are overbearing, overly friendly, and too inquisitive as well as the other extreme of completely apathetic. Luckily, Monica was a pleasure to talk with.

The breakfast was excellent. It was the best omelet I've ever had- not over-fried, very thin and delicate. There was also fresh squeezed OJ, mineral water, tea/coffee, broiled grapefruit, and a blueberry muffin. We were full until dinner.

After breakfast, we walked the grounds from the house through orange orchards to a big red barn with a beautiful panaromic view of the area. Make sure to take your camera on this walk.

The house is in a very convenient location. We drove for about 20 minutes from the house along Dry Creek Rd, which has a beautiful view and plenty of wildflowers (this was March 14th). We decided to continue for another 40 minutes to King's Canyon and Grant Grove in Sequoia National Park. Gorgeous views! We then drove back on 180 through Fresno to get home to SF. This area is so beautiful, any extra driving around here is just a pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
garden grove, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Jack and Monica are wonderful host. Charming, elegant, warm and inviting will frequent often while in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lissone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

I, my husband, my brother, my cousin, my brother in law and his wife have stayed for one night. The place is really beautiful and seems to return in the last century!
Breakfast was plentiful, although we have not tasted the famous omelets the other reviews are talking about ..
Monica is a fantastic host . thank you!
A 'ciao' from Italy!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I was fortunate enough to be able to stay 5 nights at the Wicky-Up Ranch. Monica and Jack are the perfect hosts along with their two sweet dogs, Fozzy and Bear. I stayed in the cottage which is located behind the main house. The cottage was comfortable, private and quite. I absolutely loved the outdoor shower, which had a beautiful mountainside view. Monica is a master chef who created the most memorable candlelight breakfasts each morning. The ranch is a working organic orange farm, and beautiful landscaping surrounding the houses with bubbling ponds and cooing mourning doves. The main house is beautifully decorated in craftsman style woodworking and a wrap around screened porch that entices all who enter to sit and relax. I was looking for a place to stay while waiting to pick up Sequoia mountain hikers, and I chose the perfect setting and location. I would truly give the Wicky-Up 5 stars!

Adrianne
Akron, Ohio

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We just returned from a 3-day weekend getaway and were fortunate to stay at the WickyUp Ranch. What a find! This is a gorgeous, beautifully decorated, historically rich Craftsman home on a working organic orange farm. We could not have been more delighted with our stay, from the large, welcoming open-air front porch to the artfully decorated, and painstakingly maintained decor to the warm reception we received from the innkeepers, Monica and Jack! You are given freshly-baked cookies when you arrive -- not just chocolate chip, but with a hint of orange in keeping with the orange groves that surround the lovely home. We stayed in the Juliana Suite, which basically meant we had full run of the lovely upstairs with its charming 1950s era restored bathroom. Every detail beckons relaxation, historical reflection and pampering. Monica acted as our tour guide and offered excellent maps and suggestions as to how to explore Sequoia. We don't believe we could have had such a memorable trip, including awe-inspiring hikes in the tranquility and majesty of Sequoia, without Monica's help, nor would we have seen so much in such a short time. The candlelight breakfasts that Monica and Jack prepare are fit for royalty, and served in he most lovely dining room. The "story of the house" is fascinating, and Monica is the fourth generation family member to occupy this home, and she is happy to share its rich history with her guests, which adds such a unique warmth to your stay. Well, suffice to say we loved the WickyUp and recommend to anyone who appreciates the best in B&B's and is planning a trip to or near Sequoia.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Nothing I can write will come close to describing the beauty, serenity, warmth and intrigue that a stay in Wicky Up Ranch can offer. But I will try to do Monica & Jack's hospitality some justice.
As we drove toward the Ranch, in the dark after a long day on the road, the smell of orange blossom permeated the car from miles away. We'd arranged a late evening check-in which meant that we couldn't quite envision how the surroundings looked - but the smell certainly gave us some clues. Upon arriving at the Ranch, we walked up to the house under a canopy of trees decorated with white lights, the stars above glistening in the perfectly-clear sky. The stillness was incredible.
As we entered the house it felt as though we'd stepped back in time - the furnishings and decoration are a meticulous and quirky collection from Monica's family history. However, the house is in no way ancient or stuffy, which I'm sure can be attributed to Monica's sense of style - she's a beautiful and sophisticated woman. Immediately we were engaged in fantastic conversation about the history of the Ranch and its name, and felt at home right away. By strange coincidence we'd been recently married at a place called Wikiup Rancho, so our decision to stay in this B&B was more due to the bizarre connection rather than any other criteria. How pleasantly surprised we were!
The room in which we stayed, the Lucy Harding Room, is situated downstairs in the main house. It is cozily decorated with more antiques from the family heirlooms and a cute bathroom, plus plenty of extra amenities (CD player, bottles of water, white-noise machine for the light sleepers). We were shown where to find extra drinks in the kitchen and were offered a nightcap of Port before being warmly wished goodnight.
Waking up at the Ranch, to the sound of doves cooing outside, makes you feel like you are still in a dream. However, it was easy to shake off sleep and start the day when we looked outside and finally saw our surroundings: endless orange groves tucked up beside the foothills of the Sierras. With coffee in hand we had a short pre-breakfast stroll through the gardens before being called in for one of the finest breakfasts I have ever eaten. Nevermind the fantastic freshly-squeezed orange juice (but of course), the organic white grapefruit, Jack's omelettes made to order, and the earth-shatteringly good blueberry bread - this breakfast table was full of convivial chat of a kind we hadn't experienced at any other B&B (and indeed not even in our own homes!). I'm sure this is at least partly due to the fact that Monica & Jack own this home, and so obviously cherish it (unlike other B&Bs which are just run by staff) - but it's also apparent how much they enjoy sharing their home and their lives with others as well. The care and love they have invested in their home is apparent in every detail. It is not only a fascinating little piece of history, it is THEIR history - and it feels like a distinct privilege to be allowed to participate in it.
Along with one other guest and a neighbour who had joined us for the morning, I suspect we sat around the breakfast table for nearly an hour - in no other B&B have we ever been compelled to stay so long over breakfast. I'm only sorry we hadn't left time in our itinerary to linger for another night. It just means we will have to make plans to return.
Wicky Up Ranch might be that little bit out-of-the-way, but it also isn't designed to be a pit-stop in some random destination: Wicky Up Ranch IS the destination, and it's worth all the time and effort to get yourself there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

When you arrive at Wicky Up you will be struck by the heavenly scent that I thought was jasmine but turned out to be orange blossoms. You will also notice the lovely flower garden and hear the sounds of singing birds. You will think that you have chosen well and indeed you will have.

The main house is a wonderful historic home that is beautifully furnished and maintained. However I stayed in the Calico Cottage, which is the most adorable little hide-away imaginable. The bedroom and bathroom are undoubtably compact but every creature comfort has been considered and accomodated. The indoor space is charmingly decorated with a yellow, white and blue color scheme.

The cottage's private outdoor area provides additional living space. The outdoor shower is such fun. The patio with its flowers and view onto the apple orchard is a delightful place to sit and relax. It is furnished with a round table and 4 chairs.

Jack and Monica are gracious hosts. One feels like a welcomed guest. While I had free use of main house I chose to enjoy my cottage until I went to the main house for breakfast on Sunday morning. Jack looked very 'cordon bleu' in his chef's jacket. Monica looked beautiful. There were three other guests for breakfast. Jack and Monica introduced us and got the conversation going.

The table was very beautiful with lovely china. We began the meal with organic white grapefruit which Monica says is hard to find. Then Jack made us delicious omlettes while Monica encouraged us to take more of her sinfully good blueberry bread. Given that Monica and Jack run an organic orange farm the orange juice was exceptionally good.

The three other guests, Jack, and Monica had such interesting stories. I loved the time I spent with them. I was sad to leave. There was so much more I wanted to know about all of them.

Jack and Monica are natural facilitators. They find links between people and get communications flowing. They seem to run their B&B out of a passion for hospitality rather than out of an economic need. If you are ever anywhere in the vicinity of Wicky Up (Fresno, Sequoia National Park) grasp the opportunity and stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22702 Ave. 344, Woodlake, CA 93286
Location: United States > California > Woodlake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woodlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack and Monica Pizura welcome you to join them on a working orange ranch and to step back in time as you enter their gracious turn-of-the-century iconic home now celebrating its 17th year anniversary. Designed in 1901 by an architect for Monica's ancestor, Illinois State Senator Fred E. Harding, the incomparable two-story Craftsman/Victorian-style home shows exterior elements of a British Colonial style found in India and Africa.  A must-stay for lovers of history, antiques, architecture, original art, oriental rugs and a perfect idealic retreat to explore the majestic Sequoia park and other  local attractions.Choose the peaceful country-feel of the Juliana Suite with private shower/bath and stunning views of trees, mountains and sunsets; the more formal Lucy Harding Room with its unique cedar panels, vintage queen-size bed, private shower/bath with sounds of the Pond Fountain or the brightly-decorated Garden Cottage with stacked beds (the top a twin, the bottom a full-size feather bed), intimate enclosed garden shower and private patio entrance.   Whatever room you choose, you will be immersed by the charm and delightful  environment of this historical inn.Wicky-Up is a member of the Slow Food movement, growing its own fresh herbs and tomatoes and buying fresh, organic and locally whenever possible. A candlelight breakfast of culinary delights, served on Villeroy and Boch china,  features fresh-squeezed Heirloom Washington navel orange juice from the ranch and blended organic rain forest coffee in a dining room appointed with 19th century  antiques. Classical music quietly plays in the background.  On the menu, some favorites are baked French Toast Naranjo, Fiesta Soufflé, Omelets with Roasted Rosemary Potatoes (Sundays only), Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, Lavender/Honey Glazed Grapefruit and  Poached Pears in a Cranberry-Lemon reduction.Our in includes Wi-Fi, Port wine and a variety of beverages to be enjoyed on the verandah, in the garden, or by the fireplace; fresh cut flowers; fluffy bathrobes; bedside chocolates; gardens with cooing doves; a detailed tour of the historic home and unforgettable, old-fashioned hospitality.We welcome and endeavor to make your visit and experience here a truly memorable one.*Wireless Internet access (WiFi) available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.