We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back for another bday trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodlake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
22702 Ave. 344, Woodlake, CA 93286   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Woodlake B&B and Inns
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Going back for another bday trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just booked another stay at this adorable B and B. Stayed last year for my birthday and had such an enjoyable time, I'm booking again this year. We stayed in the Garden Cottage last year because it was the only room available. It's got a queen size bed with a twin bunk on top, so if you're looking for a romantic stay, I'd suggest the other rooms. But we really enjoyed the garden cottage with its private outdoor shower. The inn is in the middle of an orange grove just outside the Sequoia Nat'l forest. So it's stunning and quiet and at night the sky is so clear and the stars are amazing. There are wonderful gardens and ponds on the grounds, great for spending the afternoon with a book or even a picnic. The inn keepers are super friendly and the breakfast was a gourmet treat. The nearby town has a few restaurants and a deli. I'd suggest stopping in on the way to pick up some snacks and wine. We had dinner at Monet's which had live music while we were there and the food was amazing. I know we will be back here again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Book this place for a little get away for my husband and I. The hosts were wonderful even before we arrived making suggestions for us for dinner after we arrived from a long flight. The restaurant recommended was a hit! We arrived at the location and was a little surprised at the surroundings, but stepping out of the car, we felt like we were home. The walk way up to the front door was so inviting. At the urging of Monica, we watched a video about the Sequoias and listened to her recommendations for sites to see in the Park. Our accommodations were WONDERFUL! So comfortable and so inviting. We took their advise and took a hike up the hill to watch the sunset. So beautiful and so relaxing. We even enjoyed a couple of oranges (with permission) right off the tree. Breakfast was WONDERFUL! The attention to detail was beautiful. The food was locally made/grown and was so flavorful. The conversation at breakfast was so enjoyable. Monica placed our order for a packed lunch at a local deli and gave us directions of how to get in the mountains. She even timed our departure so that our wait going in the park through the construction zone would be minimal. (She was spot on - we waited 2 minutes after pulling into the line!).

Would I go back - YES! In a heartbeat......
Recommend to someone else - YES! You must stay here if you are going this way.

We hope to one day get back there with our family. Thanks Monica and Jack for all the attention to detail and making our stay so WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was reminded of scenes from `Gone with the Wind` when staying in this old family homestead and wished we could postpone our sightseeing of the National parks to investigate further the treasures that fill the home and garden.
Monica and Jack were warm friendly and welcoming and we felt totally spoiled throughout our 2 night stay. Our every wish was anticipated and catered for, the bed luxurious, the breakfasts a round of treats and our departure reluctant!

Room Tip: Have dinner at Monets in Exeter if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Whimsy, relaxing walks and conversation, excellent food. Four friends stepped back in time to enjoy the ambience of working orange groves and grazing cattle. Monica and Jack are gracious hosts. Jack's sculptures are quite remarkable, sprinkled about the grounds and inside the house. Monica is the curator, well versed in the history of her family and the 100 year-old house in which she was raised. Amenities of the modern world were never very far away, but the sensation of isolation on a turn-of-the-century farm was real. Top it all off with walks, scenic drives, and morning breakfasts of uniquely prepared foods and drinks. When you do go for a walk, take Sweet Pea. She does not bark and is a great companion.

Room Tip: Only two rooms. Take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arriving at Wicky-Up Ranch is like stepping into a slower more gracious era where your needs and wants are indulged with great warmth and skillful attention. The turn-of-the century Craftsman house is comfy and beautiful at the same time, with interesting family keepsakes adding to the pleasing ambiance. The bed was divine and we woke to the sound of mourning doves. This was followed by some of the best breakfasts we've ever had in our travels. Monica and Jack were friendly and helpful with planning our days in Sequoia and Kings Canyon and knew just the right places to have dinner in the surrounding areas. But, it was the little things as well. We appreciated sitting out under the veranda and enjoying refreshments after our drive to the ranch. And, it was nice to find a card acknowledging our anniversary on the pillow that night. This is a rare find and we totally enjoyed our three-day stay. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert,CA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our innkeepers were not only welcoming, but warm and gracious. We had great conversations with Monica and Jack about the local history and orange growing. They provide concierge service to make sure we saw all the most important sights in the area. The beds were dreamy and comfortable and the food was beautifully presented and tasty as well; all served in the cedar paneled dining room with high end china from Villeroy and Boch. The close proximity to Sequoia National Park made it a perfect choice of lodging.

Room Tip: For complete privacy chose the Sunset Room upstairs. The Lucy Harding room downstairs with the ceda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were greeted by a whimsical, sculpted, marching band in the driveway which set a delightful tone for our visit. Our hosts graciously took as much time as necessary to help us get from the B&B to both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. Their directions and suggested plans were most helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic and were made with the freshest of ingredients. Both Monica and Jack are great cooks! Our sleeping accommodations were terrific (and quiet) - the mattress was firm and felt like new. We enjoyed walking the grounds through orange groves and viewing the lowing cattle in the nearby hills. The "ranch" is beautifully appointed with collectables and antiques and has a comfortable screened in porch. Definitely 5 stars! Wish we lived closer by so that we could visit more often.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22702 Ave. 344, Woodlake, CA 93286
Location: United States > California > Woodlake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woodlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack and Monica Pizura welcome you to join them on a working orange ranch and to step back in time as you enter their gracious turn-of-the-century iconic home now celebrating its 17th year anniversary. Designed in 1901 by an architect for Monica's ancestor, Illinois State Senator Fred E. Harding, the incomparable two-story Craftsman/Victorian-style home shows exterior elements of a British Colonial style found in India and Africa.  A must-stay for lovers of history, antiques, architecture, original art, oriental rugs and a perfect idealic retreat to explore the majestic Sequoia park and other  local attractions.Choose the peaceful country-feel of the Juliana Suite with private shower/bath and stunning views of trees, mountains and sunsets; the more formal Lucy Harding Room with its unique cedar panels, vintage queen-size bed, private shower/bath with sounds of the Pond Fountain or the brightly-decorated Garden Cottage with stacked beds (the top a twin, the bottom a full-size feather bed), intimate enclosed garden shower and private patio entrance.   Whatever room you choose, you will be immersed by the charm and delightful  environment of this historical inn.Wicky-Up is a member of the Slow Food movement, growing its own fresh herbs and tomatoes and buying fresh, organic and locally whenever possible. A candlelight breakfast of culinary delights, served on Villeroy and Boch china,  features fresh-squeezed Heirloom Washington navel orange juice from the ranch and blended organic rain forest coffee in a dining room appointed with 19th century  antiques. Classical music quietly plays in the background.  On the menu, some favorites are baked French Toast Naranjo, Fiesta Soufflé, Omelets with Roasted Rosemary Potatoes (Sundays only), Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, Lavender/Honey Glazed Grapefruit and  Poached Pears in a Cranberry-Lemon reduction.Our in includes Wi-Fi, Port wine and a variety of beverages to be enjoyed on the verandah, in the garden, or by the fireplace; fresh cut flowers; fluffy bathrobes; bedside chocolates; gardens with cooing doves; a detailed tour of the historic home and unforgettable, old-fashioned hospitality.We welcome and endeavor to make your visit and experience here a truly memorable one.*Wireless Internet access (WiFi) available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.