We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodlake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast
22702 Ave. 344, Woodlake, CA 93286   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Woodlake B&B and Inns
Camarillo, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arriving at Wicky-Up Ranch is like stepping into a slower more gracious era where your needs and wants are indulged with great warmth and skillful attention. The turn-of-the century Craftsman house is comfy and beautiful at the same time, with interesting family keepsakes adding to the pleasing ambiance. The bed was divine and we woke to the sound of mourning doves. This was followed by some of the best breakfasts we've ever had in our travels. Monica and Jack were friendly and helpful with planning our days in Sequoia and Kings Canyon and knew just the right places to have dinner in the surrounding areas. But, it was the little things as well. We appreciated sitting out under the veranda and enjoying refreshments after our drive to the ranch. And, it was nice to find a card acknowledging our anniversary on the pillow that night. This is a rare find and we totally enjoyed our three-day stay. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert,CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our innkeepers were not only welcoming, but warm and gracious. We had great conversations with Monica and Jack about the local history and orange growing. They provide concierge service to make sure we saw all the most important sights in the area. The beds were dreamy and comfortable and the food was beautifully presented and tasty as well; all served in the cedar paneled dining room with high end china from Villeroy and Boch. The close proximity to Sequoia National Park made it a perfect choice of lodging.

Room Tip: For complete privacy chose the Sunset Room upstairs. The Lucy Harding room downstairs with the ceda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were greeted by a whimsical, sculpted, marching band in the driveway which set a delightful tone for our visit. Our hosts graciously took as much time as necessary to help us get from the B&B to both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. Their directions and suggested plans were most helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic and were made with the freshest of ingredients. Both Monica and Jack are great cooks! Our sleeping accommodations were terrific (and quiet) - the mattress was firm and felt like new. We enjoyed walking the grounds through orange groves and viewing the lowing cattle in the nearby hills. The "ranch" is beautifully appointed with collectables and antiques and has a comfortable screened in porch. Definitely 5 stars! Wish we lived closer by so that we could visit more often.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wicky up ranch is a B&B steeped in history, which the owners share with their guests in a homely yet unobtrusive way. From the family pictures on the walls to Monica's father's flying uniform hung modestly in the corner, not only is this a superb B&B but also a real treat to share something so special. Monica and Jack are excellent hosts, supplying great conversation, even better breakfasts and kindly helped us with pre printed maps of trail routes through the nearby National Parks and great dinner suggestions. We were staying at Wicky Up at the end of a two week tour of California during which we had experienced everything from 5* hotels to a $50 motel, but it was by far the best (and absolutely the most relaxing) stay of our trip. Immaculate and comfortable lodgings in spectacular scenery, and breakfasts that make my mouth water just recalling them, we cannot rate it highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at. We felt at home from the moment we walked in the door. We stayed 2 perfect nights inthe upstairs bedroom. Breakfast each morning was a fantastic treat. Monica even adjusted what she made to fit my wife's diet but left my own feast alone. I would advice anyone staying there to listen to any advice that Monica and Jack have to offer about how to plan your time there, it was always right on the money. We will always remember our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Juliana suite and had the whole upstairs to ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have stayed in many B&Bs around Europe and a few in the US. Wicky Up rivals all of them. The breakfasts Monica prepared were some of the best I've ever had, the attention to detail was immaculate and our stay was extremely cozy and relaxing. Monica is very knowledgable about the area, the Sequoia parks and the ranch she grew up on and will surely make your stay enjoyable and memorable. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Wicky Up to celebrate our anniversary and to do some hiking in Sequoia and Kings Canyon. This was the perfect spot, located an easy distance from both parks.
Our hosts were so helpful with easy to follow maps to the parks, nearby restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. We felt right at home in their B&B, with plenty of places to relax after all of our activities, we especially enjoyed the screened in porch/veranda with comfortable wicker furniture, and the sounds of birds and fountains. Jack and Monica have the gift of hospitality and I am so happy we found their place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22702 Ave. 344, Woodlake, CA 93286
Location: United States > California > Woodlake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woodlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack and Monica Pizura welcome you to join them on a working orange ranch and to step back in time as you enter their gracious turn-of-the-century iconic home now celebrating its 17th year anniversary. Designed in 1901 by an architect for Monica's ancestor, Illinois State Senator Fred E. Harding, the incomparable two-story Craftsman/Victorian-style home shows exterior elements of a British Colonial style found in India and Africa.  A must-stay for lovers of history, antiques, architecture, original art, oriental rugs and a perfect idealic retreat to explore the majestic Sequoia park and other  local attractions.Choose the peaceful country-feel of the Juliana Suite with private shower/bath and stunning views of trees, mountains and sunsets; the more formal Lucy Harding Room with its unique cedar panels, vintage queen-size bed, private shower/bath with sounds of the Pond Fountain or the brightly-decorated Garden Cottage with stacked beds (the top a twin, the bottom a full-size feather bed), intimate enclosed garden shower and private patio entrance.   Whatever room you choose, you will be immersed by the charm and delightful  environment of this historical inn.Wicky-Up is a member of the Slow Food movement, growing its own fresh herbs and tomatoes and buying fresh, organic and locally whenever possible. A candlelight breakfast of culinary delights, served on Villeroy and Boch china,  features fresh-squeezed Heirloom Washington navel orange juice from the ranch and blended organic rain forest coffee in a dining room appointed with 19th century  antiques. Classical music quietly plays in the background.  On the menu, some favorites are baked French Toast Naranjo, Fiesta Soufflé, Omelets with Roasted Rosemary Potatoes (Sundays only), Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, Lavender/Honey Glazed Grapefruit and  Poached Pears in a Cranberry-Lemon reduction.Our in includes Wi-Fi, Port wine and a variety of beverages to be enjoyed on the verandah, in the garden, or by the fireplace; fresh cut flowers; fluffy bathrobes; bedside chocolates; gardens with cooing doves; a detailed tour of the historic home and unforgettable, old-fashioned hospitality.We welcome and endeavor to make your visit and experience here a truly memorable one.*Wireless Internet access (WiFi) available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list