We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodlake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast
22702 Ave. 344, Woodlake, CA 93286   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Woodlake B&B and Inns
Yelling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wicky up ranch is a B&B steeped in history, which the owners share with their guests in a homely yet unobtrusive way. From the family pictures on the walls to Monica's father's flying uniform hung modestly in the corner, not only is this a superb B&B but also a real treat to share something so special. Monica and Jack are excellent hosts, supplying great conversation, even better breakfasts and kindly helped us with pre printed maps of trail routes through the nearby National Parks and great dinner suggestions. We were staying at Wicky Up at the end of a two week tour of California during which we had experienced everything from 5* hotels to a $50 motel, but it was by far the best (and absolutely the most relaxing) stay of our trip. Immaculate and comfortable lodgings in spectacular scenery, and breakfasts that make my mouth water just recalling them, we cannot rate it highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at. We felt at home from the moment we walked in the door. We stayed 2 perfect nights inthe upstairs bedroom. Breakfast each morning was a fantastic treat. Monica even adjusted what she made to fit my wife's diet but left my own feast alone. I would advice anyone staying there to listen to any advice that Monica and Jack have to offer about how to plan your time there, it was always right on the money. We will always remember our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Juliana suite and had the whole upstairs to ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have stayed in many B&Bs around Europe and a few in the US. Wicky Up rivals all of them. The breakfasts Monica prepared were some of the best I've ever had, the attention to detail was immaculate and our stay was extremely cozy and relaxing. Monica is very knowledgable about the area, the Sequoia parks and the ranch she grew up on and will surely make your stay enjoyable and memorable. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Wicky Up to celebrate our anniversary and to do some hiking in Sequoia and Kings Canyon. This was the perfect spot, located an easy distance from both parks.
Our hosts were so helpful with easy to follow maps to the parks, nearby restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. We felt right at home in their B&B, with plenty of places to relax after all of our activities, we especially enjoyed the screened in porch/veranda with comfortable wicker furniture, and the sounds of birds and fountains. Jack and Monica have the gift of hospitality and I am so happy we found their place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I had a great time at Wicky-Up. Jack and Monica were the perfect hosts - any questions or problems that came up, they were quick to help. I actually ran into their place by chance - they just happened to have a room for the days I needed (in the summer hot months - hard to find a place last minute - and all other days were booked) and I'm glad I did. Very peaceful and quiet (which is what I was looking for). The house is old fashioned and has a lot of history; it is in great condition (although probably not the best place for young kids unless you want to say - don't touch a lot - lots of old photos and antiques). They gave excellant directions and knew their area very well - so getting around and finding places was much easier and more comfortable (I traveled alone with only a state map). Overall, my experience was great, but like I say - not the best spot for the little ones. Can't wait for my next trip there.
Thanks!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms there - all seem comfortable. For best choice to meet your needs call an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My Husband and I were recommended the Wicky-up by a close friend but had never been to a B&B and were unsure what to expect. We ended up having a fabulous time. Delicious Breakfasts and attention given to everything. Monica and Jack were very welcoming and friendly. Monica helped us plan our days and gave us all the details we would need to have the kind of day we wanted to going to the Sequoia Park and then Horsebackriding. We enjoy getting to know other people so we enjoyed having Monica there at breakfast as there were no other guests while we were there during the week. We do plan to go back in the future and will for sure recommend it to others looking for a place to getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at Wicky-up for the second time, after having been here 2 years prior. We had loved the house and the personal attention from the hosts, so we decided to go back. We were very glad we chose Wicky-Up as our B&B for this Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park visits.

The hosts are wonderful, but they are also people, and they need to understand what you want out of the experience. If you want privacy, let them know. If you want to be entertained, let them know. If you have an issue with your room, or anything, they're more than happy to accommodate, but if you don't tell them what you need, then you can't expect them to make your stay what you want of it.

The food is excellent, as are their suggestions on where to go, be it for a park visit, or for dinner. Again, let them know what you are looking for. They can suggest a greasy spoon in the mountains to eat with the biker crowd, as well as a French fancy restaurant to go to, but you need to tell them what you are looking for. (I hope I made this clear).

My wife actually remembered some things she had when we were there the first time, and told Monica the first night. She remembered some orange-chocolate chip cookies she loved. Next day, the innkeeper had them baked for her. Same with something else she had the first time. They were very accommodating and attentive to our needs and wants, so our experience was perfect.

If you're looking for a cozy place to spend some time away from home, perhaps to visit the national parks in the area, this bed and breakfast is definitely for you! We would gladly go back a third time.

Room Tip: Talk to the inkeeper about what your expectation and room needs are. They are very helpful in getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22702 Ave. 344, Woodlake, CA 93286
Location: United States > California > Woodlake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woodlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack and Monica Pizura welcome you to join them on a working orange ranch and to step back in time as you enter their gracious turn-of-the-century iconic home now celebrating its 17th year anniversary. Designed in 1901 by an architect for Monica's ancestor, Illinois State Senator Fred E. Harding, the incomparable two-story Craftsman/Victorian-style home shows exterior elements of a British Colonial style found in India and Africa.  A must-stay for lovers of history, antiques, architecture, original art, oriental rugs and a perfect idealic retreat to explore the majestic Sequoia park and other  local attractions.Choose the peaceful country-feel of the Juliana Suite with private shower/bath and stunning views of trees, mountains and sunsets; the more formal Lucy Harding Room with its unique cedar panels, vintage queen-size bed, private shower/bath with sounds of the Pond Fountain or the brightly-decorated Garden Cottage with stacked beds (the top a twin, the bottom a full-size feather bed), intimate enclosed garden shower and private patio entrance.   Whatever room you choose, you will be immersed by the charm and delightful  environment of this historical inn.Wicky-Up is a member of the Slow Food movement, growing its own fresh herbs and tomatoes and buying fresh, organic and locally whenever possible. A candlelight breakfast of culinary delights, served on Villeroy and Boch china,  features fresh-squeezed Heirloom Washington navel orange juice from the ranch and blended organic rain forest coffee in a dining room appointed with 19th century  antiques. Classical music quietly plays in the background.  On the menu, some favorites are baked French Toast Naranjo, Fiesta Soufflé, Omelets with Roasted Rosemary Potatoes (Sundays only), Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, Lavender/Honey Glazed Grapefruit and  Poached Pears in a Cranberry-Lemon reduction.Our in includes Wi-Fi, Port wine and a variety of beverages to be enjoyed on the verandah, in the garden, or by the fireplace; fresh cut flowers; fluffy bathrobes; bedside chocolates; gardens with cooing doves; a detailed tour of the historic home and unforgettable, old-fashioned hospitality.We welcome and endeavor to make your visit and experience here a truly memorable one.*Wireless Internet access (WiFi) available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wicky-Up Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list