We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly town” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Isabella

Lake Isabella
6755 Wofford Blvd., Wofford Heights, CA 93285
7602992049
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“unfriendly town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stopped for one night, attempted to buy gas the next morning, checked all gas stations NO GAS.
Took main road out of town to look for gas. NO LUCK.SET OUT ON MY TRIP,WHICH TOOK ME THROUGH WOFFORD. We say a person filling a five gallon can. We asked the attendant and he told us no gas. We continued on our trip only to learn that there are no gas stations along our route over the mountain. We would have run out of gas in the middle of nowhere, with no cell phone service were it not for a kind resident that we met along the way.

STAY AWAY FROM WOFFORD HEIGHTS CA.!
THEY DON'T LIKE OR WANT TOURISTS !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    1
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This is a dead lake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went down to this lake on my travels, it is depleted by at least 70% and has a foul smell as with any body of water in this condition, trees are sticking out everywhere in the water, except for possibly the bass fishermen,this lake is not much good, leave it alone and let it recover!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lake Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Low Water but still nice spot to hang out, cool off, BBQ (gas only) and spend time with the fam at a very low cost.

Enjoyed the amazing display of fireworks on the 6th !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wofford Heights, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Kern River Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Lake Isabella is fed by the Might Kern River which starts on the back side of Mt. Whitney. Boating, fishing, windsurfing, kayaking, camping. Lake Isabella has it all. The Kern River Valley offers all kinds of outdoor sports, nice motels and places to eat. I kinda jaded because I live here. Used to camp here as a kid and loved it so much, I moved here as an adult.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Low Lake but Still Birds, Kayaking and SUPs'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Dam needs structural work so they have let the Lake level get very low - and it will get lower for the next several years.
We kayaked from a launch ramp near the dam to the far end of the Lake and then up into the S. Fork Kern River, which is just a trickle now. This took about 2.5 hours, including bird watching and paddling slowly through the trees. Another group was paddling SUP's and had fun near the Dam.
The White Pelicans are there in large numbers, very dramatic and always fun to watch.
Fishermen were out, but those we talked with were not catching anything.
Paddle on the Lake only when the wind is not high. Wind direction can change during the day, so be watchful. It often blows up from the canyon in the afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Isabella also viewed

 

Been to Lake Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Isabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.