We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeshore Lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barewood Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Barewood Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Barewood Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barewood Inn & Suites
7013 Wofford Boulevard, Wofford Heights, CA 93285 (Formerly Barewood Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wofford Heights
Northridge, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lakeshore Lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My cousin and I stayed there last weekend (Aug 3rd) and was pleasently surprised. The room was clean and well-maintained, and the beds were comfortable! The man who checked us in was very kind and sweet (we made reservations just two days earlier). Not exactly the Hilton, but all things considered, I"d stay there again when passing through Kernville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We took a two week vacation throughout California and this was by far the nicest place we stayed. We liked it better than the Marriott, Best Western, and private cottages we stayed at. Michael, the GM, was VERY accommodating with our late arrival. We stayed in room #10. It was very clean and quite charming. The lovely hand painted wall decorations, dried flowers, quilted bedspread made this the perfect country style retreat. The Jacuzzi-style bathtub is big enough for two. Bubble bath liquid and scented soaps were provided for us. The bed was incredibly comfortable. It was a quite location with more than we could ever have expected. I HIGHLY recommend this location and hope to return there someday. It was the perfect end to our romantic 25th wedding anniversary adventure/vacation. Thanks SO much to Barewood for giving us the best possible ending to our trip!!

Room Tip: Room #10 is perfect for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Californa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and found the place to be quite clean and cozy. Lots of towels, which I like. Nice view of the lake from the porch in front of each room. Very well-kept grounds. The motel is older, as are all the motels in this area, but quite charming. And the price was right!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Stay was very pleasant. Room clean, comfortable bed, nice towels. Very nicely decorated with excellent Wifi. Coffee, popcorn and candy as an extra. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Isabella, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I went to the Wofford Heights area "house hunting" Nov 11, 2011 and stayed in Room #10. We were so happily surprised :-) It may not look like a Hilton on the outside, but the bed was definitely one of the best we have ever stayed in. The whole room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. It had been raining all day and we were cold when we finally checked into our room. What a surprise to find the makings for hot cocoa - how perfect; and the next morning the coffee that is provided in the room was actually really good. We would definitely recommend Barewood Inn to anyone

Room Tip: Room #10 has a corner jacuzzi tub, along with a separate shower. It also has a small sitting area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We needed lodging in the Kernville / Lake Isabella area on a Saturday to take a rafting trip the next morning. It was a last-minute trip, and every place I called was full or *very* expensive. Also, most places in the area have a 2 night minimum on weekends during the summer. When I called the Barewood they had room and a 1-night stay was not a problem.

I reserved a room, which was at the Lakeshore Lodge.....a sister property right down the road. A room with 2 queen beds was only $95 at the AAA rate. Based on reviews here, I was a bit concerned as it seemed all too easy.

When we arrived at the Barewood as instructed, the manager showed up right away. He was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. We drove over to the Lakeshore and were in Room 33. My concerns went away. The outside was tidy and well-kept, while the room was clean but a bit dated. The shower was clean and in good repair and the towels and sheets were fine. Beds were very comfortable and there was no traffic noise or lights to disturb our sleep. The room included a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and bar sink. However no dishes or silverware was provided but there are small markets within a mile and a large Von's about 10 miles away. WiFi is free but the signal was weak but usable.

The lock was the retro motel key and plastic fob....not too secure but I wasn't worried about it. Security conscious travelers might want to lock valuables in their car.

The Lakeshore Lodge is a great value if you need a clean, basic place to stay and for people needing only one weekend night's lodging.

Room Tip: Lakeshore is a bit isolated feeling- try to get a room at the Barewood first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our family of 7 stayed at this very large but comfortable lake side home for the 4th of July weekend 2011. The home had every amenity possible including a very nice jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. The home was furnished beautifully and was very clean and user friendly. Lakeviews right outside the kitchen deck and able to walk out the back door to cool off in the lake. Convenient for our water toys and also enjoyed Kern River Rafting just 5 minutes away. We had a GREAT family vacation and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barewood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barewood Inn & Suites

Address: 7013 Wofford Boulevard, Wofford Heights, CA 93285 (Formerly Barewood Motel)
Location: United States > California > Wofford Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wofford Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barewood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barewood Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.