We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last-minute value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barewood Inn & Suites

Barewood Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barewood Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Barewood Inn & Suites
7013 Wofford Boulevard, Wofford Heights, CA 93285 (Formerly Barewood Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wofford Heights
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great last-minute value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We needed lodging in the Kernville / Lake Isabella area on a Saturday to take a rafting trip the next morning. It was a last-minute trip, and every place I called was full or *very* expensive. Also, most places in the area have a 2 night minimum on weekends during the summer. When I called the Barewood they had room and a 1-night stay was not a problem.

I reserved a room, which was at the Lakeshore Lodge.....a sister property right down the road. A room with 2 queen beds was only $95 at the AAA rate. Based on reviews here, I was a bit concerned as it seemed all too easy.

When we arrived at the Barewood as instructed, the manager showed up right away. He was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. We drove over to the Lakeshore and were in Room 33. My concerns went away. The outside was tidy and well-kept, while the room was clean but a bit dated. The shower was clean and in good repair and the towels and sheets were fine. Beds were very comfortable and there was no traffic noise or lights to disturb our sleep. The room included a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and bar sink. However no dishes or silverware was provided but there are small markets within a mile and a large Von's about 10 miles away. WiFi is free but the signal was weak but usable.

The lock was the retro motel key and plastic fob....not too secure but I wasn't worried about it. Security conscious travelers might want to lock valuables in their car.

The Lakeshore Lodge is a great value if you need a clean, basic place to stay and for people needing only one weekend night's lodging.

Room Tip: Lakeshore is a bit isolated feeling- try to get a room at the Barewood first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our family of 7 stayed at this very large but comfortable lake side home for the 4th of July weekend 2011. The home had every amenity possible including a very nice jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. The home was furnished beautifully and was very clean and user friendly. Lakeviews right outside the kitchen deck and able to walk out the back door to cool off in the lake. Convenient for our water toys and also enjoyed Kern River Rafting just 5 minutes away. We had a GREAT family vacation and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We had a nice stay in the motel, we booked via email which was dealt with promptly by the manager and booked a room with jacuzzi bath. The room was well laid out, clean and had the usual amenities, however at $85 per night we do feel this was a little on the pricey side. We only stayed one night so cant really comment much on the service of the hotel however the receptionist was a little abrupt on check in.

I would recommend this motel for short stays only, purely based on the limited facilities nearby however it is in a peaceful location close to the lake.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The website does not begin to do this motel justice. We were in Room #10, a very large L shaped room with a huge vanity, corner jacuzzi tub, free internet and very nicely appointed. With a table and chairs in front of each room on the porch, it was lovely to just sit and view the lake across the way. The owners were very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and incredibly accommodating. I highly recommend this motel!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We had a great time up at the Kern River Valey Motels (Barewood and Lakshore Motels). The weather was perfect for hiking and playing around the lake during the day. We also had a nice time skiing at Alta Sierra. The house that we stayed in was great for our family and would hold at least 1 other family if we wanted it to. Very clean and comfortable. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Seriously this may be the worst place I've ever stayed at. I don't even know where to begin! We chose the Lakeshore Lodge for it's location and the fact we could park our trailer there. Another BIG reason is that my partner had some work to do online. We were told they had free wireless. To our surprise she went to do her work last night and was told not only does the computer not work their wireless was down and had been for a few weeks! Hello........some important information to share when you call to ask about wireless, don't you think? The reception staff acted like they could care less and could not even bring themselves to apologize for their oversight.

So, we get to the room and spent the first 10 minutes killing bugs. After a long day at the lake we managed and decided to stay. I went to take a shower and to my disgust there was hair all over the shower. Plus, there was ONLY cold water the entire time.

The lake was great, the accomodations were horrible.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at the Lakshore Lodge, affiliated with Barewood Inn & Suites in Wofford Heights CA. (All part of The Kern River Valley Motels". These were the only accommodations we could find available in the area for five people, so we didn't have much choice. But we would NEVER stay here again.

We had adjoining rooms, #23 with 2 queens and number 24 with 1 king. The rooms were large, which was nice. They were decorated in a homey fashion, but actually TOO homey.

There were HOLES IN OUR BED SHEETS. The mattress had a "dip" in the middle that my husband and I kept rolling into.

There were 3 or 4 different kinds of towels in the bathroom. Two green ones, of completely different shades and some mismatched white ones. A green one had bleach spots all over it.

The rooms were VERY DIRTY! It was quite obvious the floors had not been swept in quite awhile, after seeing all the dust, crumbs, small pieces of candy, etc. There were cobwebs in various places, including on the artwork. And one large one in the corner that had dead bugs in it. Not very inviting. No sweeping and no dusting didn't leave us feeling very confident as to the cleanliness of the rest of the room.

There were dead bugs on the windowsill in the bathroom. The nice "spa" tub that I had been looking forward to looked dirty, and had quite a bit of hair and dead bugs in it. Needless to say we didn't use it. There was no shower in this room, but thankfully our kid's adjoining room had a shower in it, which wasn't very clean either.

We didn't have much choice but to make the best of this situation, but we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barewood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barewood Inn & Suites

Address: 7013 Wofford Boulevard, Wofford Heights, CA 93285 (Formerly Barewood Motel)
Location: United States > California > Wofford Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wofford Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barewood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barewood Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.