We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun with a professional outfit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kern River Outfitters

Kern River Outfitters
6602 Wofford Heights Blvd, Wofford Heights, CA 93285
(800) 323-4234
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Southern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fun with a professional outfit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went with them twice already, one each on the upper and lower Kern River in July 2011. They are a professional outfit, which means that they'll require you to pass a swim test (in PFD - personal flotation device) before they allow you on the class V Thunder Run of the upper Kern. That was one of the best runs I've taken, almost all IV/V's. Don't worry, there are other runs on the Kern that are not as challenging for those who may be nervous. The scenery on the river was OK, but the experience was a blast. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING was great....except the Kern River!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Okay, it's not that the Kern River was bad or dirty or anything. Our half day trip was on Aug 4 2012 and that was sorta late in the season, which means the water flows were lower than earlier in the season. The rafting companies have nothing to do with that, they just have to deal with it. And deal with it they did. Guides were nice, competent and fun. I'm not saying runnning the river wasn't fun, but since I had been rafting a couple of time before I realized that the duration and intensity of the rapids wasnt quite as exciting as it had been before. The guides NEVER mentioned it (they might have been bored as hell with the easiness of the trip but you would NEVER had been able to guess it from the way they talked and acted) and so if it was your first time you wouldnt even had know anything about that. But again, not their fault and it was a BLAST anyway. Several of our group of 7 had never been rafting before and everyone loved it.

I was also slightly surprised by the pricing in the store they run and where you meet for your trips. I thought the prices were VERY reasonable. Sunglasses, and other necessities you need for the trip and if you forgot them could be bought reasonably. They got you by the short hairs there but they don't really take advantage of it. All very nice people working for this rafting company all around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time rafting!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just went on the 2-day lower Kern rafting trip & our group had about 25 people & 6 rafts & obviously 6 guides ... the "A" team as they jokingly called themselves on the bus ride back & I'd have to completely agree with that! All were really friendly, helpful, knowledgeable & fun - there seemed to be really great cameraderie amongst them which made for a really pleasant 2 days on the river & at camp. Jared was the leader, the others were (if i can remember them) Travis, Kyle (or Raffi), Calhoun Boone, Chase and Matt. They were great about communicating & giving instructions on what to do & not to do in case we fall off the raft.

Matt was our guide & he was excellent - I would definitely request him again if we were to go back. He has a great personality & has interesting tales of his travels around the world....wish i could have heard more! Will tell jokes, do some SNL skits - made for fun 2 days.

The camping is actually really nice - of course, no showers & yes, only port-a-potties, but they do a good job of keeping them clean. But it's ok because the location is great & you can hike up a short distance & get in the water & float down...over & over again. There are "campsites" located in various spots & you just pick the one you want & grab the thick pads to sleep on and your "room" is ready! Great views too.

They provide some board games, horseshoe, chairs to read or take a nap. Meanwhile, the guides prepared some spinach dip, bread, chips & salsa...then dinner was tri-tip, chicken, pasta, vegetables & spinach salad.......all cooked perfectly! And they actually made brownies for dessert!! Coffee, tea, hot cholocate was ready the next morning, then scrambled eggs, some thick bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola & bagels...you will not go hungry on this trip!!

Great trip, would totally do this again with them & everyone in our group had a great time - all the kids, teens & adults!

And don't forget to tip!!! They deserve it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“First Class operation here.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We can't say enough great things about these people. All the guides are fun, capable guys that can cook great meals. Our group of 17 did the 2 day overnight trip and enjoyed the entire experience. The food provided was top notch.....fresh fruit, deli meats, 6 different breads to choose from, guacamole, all the condiments, trimmings, cookies, m&m's, juice, water.....they do a good job with lunch. The camp was good, it is challenging to get around, don't think stairs but climbing through boulders and hills, but as long as your in good shape and mobile it's fine. They work very hard for you.....dinner was 1st class with tri tip/chicken bbq, pasta, salad, grilled veggies, garlic bread and dutch oven brownies for dessert. The river experience is terrific, safe, and fun. Great experience.....if your going to do a rafting trip, use these guys, you won't be sorry. Do wish they would let you purchase single photos, they only let you purchase the entire disc (one per raft).....so if your group is spread amoung 3 guides, you need to buy 3 discs. But that's about the only thing I could complain about. Thanks to Cal, Matt and everyone.......

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“River fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a good rafting experience for families and beginners. I had a wonderful day on July 4th. It was fun to relax and float on a 100 degree day!. The river is low, so the rapids are not really big, but two of them were EXCITING! My guide, Rafi did a great job making the day fun and safe. The lunch served was very good. I'm signing up for the two day trip.I only wish they would allow you purchase 1-2 pictures. I was a solo traveler so didn't know my raft mates- would've loved a couple of pics- not $70 package.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kern River Outfitters also viewed

Wofford Heights, CA
 
Wofford Heights, CA
Wofford Heights, CA
 

Been to Kern River Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kern River Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.