We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I gave Ume another chance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ume Restaurant

Ume Restaurant
8710 Old Redwood Hwy, Windsor, CA 95492
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Windsor
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Glad I gave Ume another chance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

When Ume first opened, I wasn't impressed. I'm happy to report that I'm now a fan because I always wanted this restaurant to succeed. The food was good, especially the sushi. But, the service was excellent! And, I think in my first review, Ume charged for green tea and extra bowls of rice. It appears that is no longer the case.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Ume has fantastic food and the place is adorable. My favorite is the garlic shrimp. Be sure towalk around town of Windsor after dinner.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Yummy sushi !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

best sushi in Sonoma County. Trust me. not up to the standard of San Francisco or Austin but in a county almost totally bereft of good Asian food...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little Japanese Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Live in Santa Rosa and were getting tired of the same old Japanese restaurants so decided to give this one in Windsor a try. Read some of the negative Trip Advisor reviews but none of them turned out to be true for us. You can either eat in the smallish, cozy bar area or the main dining room, or the sushi bar. We chose the dining room where the tables were nicely spaced. Had miso soup, Lady in Red sushi roll (wonderful!) and yakitori, along with a couple of drinks and it was plenty. Really enjoyed - will be back!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have visited this restaurant three times and have not been disappointed. The seafood is always very fresh and the menu offers some colorful and unusual but delicious combination of rolls. They do a good job with the tempura. Nice selection of saki and a tasting offering which is well priced if you want to try three different ones. Best to go here with some friends because it is a bit expensive and if you go by yourself, which I did once, it's easy to drop $50 on lunch. But you will leave satisfied.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ume Restaurant also viewed

Windsor, Sonoma County
Windsor, Sonoma County
 
Windsor, Sonoma County
Windsor, Sonoma County
 

Been to Ume Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ume Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.