We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Wine Country Access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8865 Conde Lane, Windsor, CA 95492   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Windsor
Miami
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Location for Wine Country Access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We always stay here when we travel to wine country (once or twice a year). The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Next to Hwy 101 for convenient access to Sonoma Valley, Healdsburg, Russian River Valley, Dry Creek Valley, Alexander Valley, Sebastopol and cross the mountain drive to Napa. Breakfast biscuits and sausage gravy provide a good stomach foundation for absorbing a day of wine tastings.

Room Tip: We've always enjoyed the room as assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad our staff and services have made you feel comfortable at our hotel during your visit's to Sonoma County.

And it's true about the biscuits and gravy... They are a great foundation for a day of just about anything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
56
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean hotel with helpful staff. Convenient to Windsor and many cute outplaying towns. Close to Santa Rosa Airport. Decent breakfast included in the price. Although I didn't use the pool, it looked clean. Nice balconies. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Suziql,

Thanks for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thanks for the great recommendation. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERBANK
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place due to price and location, close to Sonoma and Healdsburg without breaking the bank. On check-in we made sure this was a non-smoking room and they confirmed that all rooms were. Well throughout the whole night we were catching whiffs of smoke. Gross. On top of this, the walls are paper thin. We had to listen to a couple go at it all night with their music blasting as well. We will no be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Shawn,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience with our hotel and the TripAdvisor community. I deeply regret the frustrations and inconvenience you endured while staying at our property. Over Valentine's weekend we sometimes get guests that are just not as respectful of the fact that there are several rooms with other people trying to have a peaceful night's sleep surrounding them. I would love to discuss this further with you to identify the problem room and perhaps discuss some compensation for your trouble. If you are interested please give me a call here at the hotel. Simply ask for Michelle. I hope you opt to call as I genuinely look forward to speaking with you about this. Have a blessed day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent two nights at the HI Express Windsor. This is a great location to explore the Sonoma Valley wine country from. Downtown Healdsburg with its numerous tasting rooms are less than 10 minutes North and Santa Rosa is about 10 minutes South. Lots of restaurants immediately around the hotel both chain and local. A Safeway supermarket is very close also if you have an extended stay or want some goodies for your room. There's also a bowling alley immediately behind the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hey Sean, I'm really glad you enjoyed Windsor and found our hotel to be so suitable! Also, I truly do appreciate that you took your good time to share the positive experience you had here. That's so very thoughtful of you. Hope you're having a great Valentines Day and also that you'll be able come back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stay at this property every time I am in town for business, which is at least 4 times a year for multiple days in a row. More importantly, we have put out company technicians here for months, as we install equipment throughout the Napa area.

This hotel staff is the most outgoing and accommodating group of people I have found in all of my stays. i.e. I arrived one night at 11:30 PM, after 17 hours of travel due to airline delays. The lady at the front desk brought me a bottle of water, yogurt and fruit, because I mentioned my long travel and not having eaten.

The rooms are very clean, the staff is out going, friendly and genuinely pleasant. The hotel is convenient to visiting the Napa area. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room in the back, away from the road out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your business and for the great review on Tripadvisor. I'll make sure to share it with the rest of the staff. They will be delighted to hear your review. Taking the time to make your comments heard on review sites like Tripadvisor and official surveys has a huge impact on this staff's performance. As a crew when you begin to notice just how much people are paying attention to the easy things.. a smile, politeness, passionate service ect and how that's really all people want (beyond a quality product) it builds a momentum and a sense of true accomplishment as a team. So again thank you, and indeed to the entire TripAdvisor community for being open to sharing your experiences with and about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Metro
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My sister and I were escorting our Mom on her "Bucket List" trip when we decided to spend the night in the Wine Country.

Our check-in was quick and efficient. The room was spacious with plenty of room for three, and the beds extremely comfortable. There were several different complimentary newspapers from which to choose, and the breakfast bar offered quite a few options. My sister ate like a horse, and no one complained, so we left happy campers...LOL!

My husband and I stayed here several years ago, and like this trip, our family would not hesitate to frequent this establishment again. It is conveniently located and a great option for the Wine Country. There is a bowling alley next door and you can walk to downtown Windsor with very little trouble.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hey, thanks so much for spending the Holiday with us. Your five point review is truly appreciated! I'm so glad our hotel has made a good impression with you and your family. And that the breakfast made a good impression with your sister. haha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great location for a wine trip. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are nice, and clean. There is a nice size refrigerator in the rooms along with a coffee pot. The complimentary breakfast is great. There are ceramic coffee mugs and plates avaialbe. Free newspapers daily and lots of info on surrounding area. Take the time to walk around the little town of Windsor. It is charming and tidy!

Also, go see the Spirit of Man sculpture exhibit at Paradise Vineyard. It is free, and very well done. Kids can run around as you follow the path through great, large sculptures!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the five point review! I'm happy you brought up the stoneware we provide at breakfast. It has made a big difference in appeal, experience, and most importantly our environmental impact. Thanks so much for electing to stay at our property, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County

Address: 8865 Conde Lane, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Windsor Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located in the heart of Sonoma County Wine Country, nestled between Healdsburg and Santa Rosa. Leisure travelers will enjoy access to over 100 wine tasting rooms in the Russian River, Dry Creek and Alexander Valley, including world famous Rodney Strong, Kendall Jackson or the local favorites of Segeshio or Bella. It is just a short drive to view the stunning trees at Armstrong Redwoods, or capture the breathtaking Sonoma Coast. Our hotel is close to additional attractions including Safari West, Wells Fargo Center of Performing Arts, and Charles Schulz Museum, home to the 'Peanuts' gang. Our location within walking distance to the charming Windsor Town Green offers you many enjoyable dining choices, boutique shopping, coffee shops and a variety of events on the Town Green such as the Farmer s Market, concerts and family fun. Business travelers appreciate our comfortable and convenient location in proximity to the Santa Rosa Airport Business Park and Windsor Business Park. Corporate rates are available to our business travelers. We welcome federal and state government employees. The hotel offers a 24-hour business center and one meeting room. While lodging in our Windsor hotel guests will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast, free wireless Internet access, a well equipped fitness center, indoor spa and sauna, outdoor pool. We look forward to having you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.