We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but FABULOUS staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8865 Conde Lane, Windsor, CA 95492   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Windsor
State College, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, but FABULOUS staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stay at this property every time I am in town for business, which is at least 4 times a year for multiple days in a row. More importantly, we have put out company technicians here for months, as we install equipment throughout the Napa area.

This hotel staff is the most outgoing and accommodating group of people I have found in all of my stays. i.e. I arrived one night at 11:30 PM, after 17 hours of travel due to airline delays. The lady at the front desk brought me a bottle of water, yogurt and fruit, because I mentioned my long travel and not having eaten.

The rooms are very clean, the staff is out going, friendly and genuinely pleasant. The hotel is convenient to visiting the Napa area. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room in the back, away from the road out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your business and for the great review on Tripadvisor. I'll make sure to share it with the rest of the staff. They will be delighted to hear your review. Taking the time to make your comments heard on review sites like Tripadvisor and official surveys has a huge impact on this staff's performance. As a crew when you begin to notice just how much people are paying attention to the easy things.. a smile, politeness, passionate service ect and how that's really all people want (beyond a quality product) it builds a momentum and a sense of true accomplishment as a team. So again thank you, and indeed to the entire TripAdvisor community for being open to sharing your experiences with and about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
53
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis Metro
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My sister and I were escorting our Mom on her "Bucket List" trip when we decided to spend the night in the Wine Country.

Our check-in was quick and efficient. The room was spacious with plenty of room for three, and the beds extremely comfortable. There were several different complimentary newspapers from which to choose, and the breakfast bar offered quite a few options. My sister ate like a horse, and no one complained, so we left happy campers...LOL!

My husband and I stayed here several years ago, and like this trip, our family would not hesitate to frequent this establishment again. It is conveniently located and a great option for the Wine Country. There is a bowling alley next door and you can walk to downtown Windsor with very little trouble.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hey, thanks so much for spending the Holiday with us. Your five point review is truly appreciated! I'm so glad our hotel has made a good impression with you and your family. And that the breakfast made a good impression with your sister. haha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great location for a wine trip. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are nice, and clean. There is a nice size refrigerator in the rooms along with a coffee pot. The complimentary breakfast is great. There are ceramic coffee mugs and plates avaialbe. Free newspapers daily and lots of info on surrounding area. Take the time to walk around the little town of Windsor. It is charming and tidy!

Also, go see the Spirit of Man sculpture exhibit at Paradise Vineyard. It is free, and very well done. Kids can run around as you follow the path through great, large sculptures!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the five point review! I'm happy you brought up the stoneware we provide at breakfast. It has made a big difference in appeal, experience, and most importantly our environmental impact. Thanks so much for electing to stay at our property, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A nice hotel, with spacious and comfortable rooms, very clean. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Windsor is a nice town and is an excellent base camp for exploring the counties of Sonoma and Napa. In October, the colors are charming, beautiful. All in all the experience was very positive and we keep good memories of the place. Breakfast is included, the price very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Wow, all the way from Italy! Home of the number one wine destination in the world. I'm so glad we made a positive impression with you here in Sonoma County, and that you were able to take home beautiful memories. Thanks what it's ALL about, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just returned from a 2 day Sonoma Wine Road Tasting event which had vineyards both north and south of Windsor and this hotel is just off Highway 101 which was very convenient. Comfortable, clean rooms, we stayed on the top (3rd) floor with 1 elavator which had a short wait sometimes. Great choices for the complimentary breakfast, everything from pancakes to bisquits and sausage gravy, sweet rolls, bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs or omletes, some fresh fruit + bagels, toast, muffins. Downtown is only a couple of blocks away with a wide choice of restaurants and shopping options.
I would stay at this hotel again, anytime I am in the area.
Front desk staff very friendly and helfull with advise.
Small room you can use for computer and printer for boarding passes.
About 1 hour and 30 minutes from SFO.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for reviewing our hotel. For all the points you mentioned Windsor is a great base for coming out to play in Sonoma County. I love that the front desk staff gets so much mention on Trip Advisor reviews. We really are fortunate to have so many great personalities running our front desk. When I travel, that's the make it or break it aspect for me. Most mid-scale hotels are comfortable and lovely in their own ways. They all offer the bed I need in a comfortable room. Usually a pool and some sort of breakfast etc etc.. but when you have a dedicated and friendly staff that truly love doing what they do it creates something quite special in the experience. And I think our reviews prove that. Thanks again, and hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

All the Holiday Inn Express's are decent hotels with an okay free breakfast and this one didn't disappoint. Very nice front desk folks and a clean, comfortable,room.

The nice surprise was what a great ton Windsor turned out to be. We'll definitely base there for future trips to Sonoma.

Room Tip: It's not "in town" but on a nice day you can walk to the main section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the five point rating! We are pleased Windsor managed to win you over, and are tremendously fortunate to be located in a town that's so easy to fall in love with. For the second year in a row J.D. Power elected Holiday Inn number one in guest satisfaction for the mid-scale hotel market segment. I guess that means we're pretty easy to fall in love with to! So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a family wedding to attend in the wine country of California. We live in Texas and had never been to Sonoma County, so we really didn't know what to expect. It is wonderful to end a trip with nothing but good thoughts. Holiday Inn Express is located right on the Interstate 101 that goes from the San Francisco area north. It is a fairly recently built hotel, and access to and from everything we needed was quick and efficient. The hotel was clean with lots of windows and very bright. They served a full breakfast with a breakfast area large enough to take care of lots arriving at the same time. The maid on duty was efficient and kept the food bins and coffee pots full. Food was tasty and quite a variety was offered.
From the hotel their are four areas in the valley where grapes are grown and wonderful, quaint old roads to travel through the vineyards and see the country. We were not interested in tasting the wines as much as we were to see the country we hadn't been to earlier. Our days were spent traveling these narrow roads, and seeing the vineyards which were full of grapes ready for harvesting.
The hotel parking was excellent. Driving in to the front of the hotel, you had to drive through a small garage to get to the parking lot which was fenced in and a gate which had to open to leave, which allowed our car to be very safe.
The service was great and plenty of maps were on hand and help to get to the places we needed to go.
Although we do not bicycle there were many cyclists in the area, and it was a great area for it.
I wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend the Holiday Inn Express to anyone going to that area. It was economical for the area, efficient and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for taking your time to review our hotel and the surrounding area. We appreciate the helpful information your review contains for people still on the fence about where to go. The Sonoma Valley has so much to offer and I think you captured it quite beautifully! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County CA
Address: 8865 Conde Lane, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Windsor Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located in the heart of Sonoma County Wine Country, nestled between Healdsburg and Santa Rosa. Leisure travelers will enjoy access to over 100 wine tasting rooms in the Russian River, Dry Creek and Alexander Valley, including world famous Rodney Strong, Kendall Jackson or the local favorites of Segeshio or Bella. It is just a short drive to view the stunning trees at Armstrong Redwoods, or capture the breathtaking Sonoma Coast. Our hotel is close to additional attractions including Safari West, Wells Fargo Center of Performing Arts, and Charles Schulz Museum, home to the 'Peanuts' gang. Our location within walking distance to the charming Windsor Town Green offers you many enjoyable dining choices, boutique shopping, coffee shops and a variety of events on the Town Green such as the Farmer s Market, concerts and family fun. Business travelers appreciate our comfortable and convenient location in proximity to the Santa Rosa Airport Business Park and Windsor Business Park. Corporate rates are available to our business travelers. We welcome federal and state government employees. The hotel offers a 24-hour business center and one meeting room. While lodging in our Windsor hotel guests will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast, free wireless Internet access, a well equipped fitness center, indoor spa and sauna, outdoor pool. We look forward to having you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.