We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Too Far From Healdsburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8865 Conde Lane, Windsor, CA 95492   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
St. Louis Metro
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not Too Far From Healdsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My sister and I were escorting our Mom on her "Bucket List" trip when we decided to spend the night in the Wine Country.

Our check-in was quick and efficient. The room was spacious with plenty of room for three, and the beds extremely comfortable. There were several different complimentary newspapers from which to choose, and the breakfast bar offered quite a few options. My sister ate like a horse, and no one complained, so we left happy campers...LOL!

My husband and I stayed here several years ago, and like this trip, our family would not hesitate to frequent this establishment again. It is conveniently located and a great option for the Wine Country. There is a bowling alley next door and you can walk to downtown Windsor with very little trouble.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hey, thanks so much for spending the Holiday with us. Your five point review is truly appreciated! I'm so glad our hotel has made a good impression with you and your family. And that the breakfast made a good impression with your sister. haha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    55
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
20
67
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great location for a wine trip. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are nice, and clean. There is a nice size refrigerator in the rooms along with a coffee pot. The complimentary breakfast is great. There are ceramic coffee mugs and plates avaialbe. Free newspapers daily and lots of info on surrounding area. Take the time to walk around the little town of Windsor. It is charming and tidy!

Also, go see the Spirit of Man sculpture exhibit at Paradise Vineyard. It is free, and very well done. Kids can run around as you follow the path through great, large sculptures!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the five point review! I'm happy you brought up the stoneware we provide at breakfast. It has made a big difference in appeal, experience, and most importantly our environmental impact. Thanks so much for electing to stay at our property, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A nice hotel, with spacious and comfortable rooms, very clean. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Windsor is a nice town and is an excellent base camp for exploring the counties of Sonoma and Napa. In October, the colors are charming, beautiful. All in all the experience was very positive and we keep good memories of the place. Breakfast is included, the price very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Wow, all the way from Italy! Home of the number one wine destination in the world. I'm so glad we made a positive impression with you here in Sonoma County, and that you were able to take home beautiful memories. Thanks what it's ALL about, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, PA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just returned from a 2 day Sonoma Wine Road Tasting event which had vineyards both north and south of Windsor and this hotel is just off Highway 101 which was very convenient. Comfortable, clean rooms, we stayed on the top (3rd) floor with 1 elavator which had a short wait sometimes. Great choices for the complimentary breakfast, everything from pancakes to bisquits and sausage gravy, sweet rolls, bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs or omletes, some fresh fruit + bagels, toast, muffins. Downtown is only a couple of blocks away with a wide choice of restaurants and shopping options.
I would stay at this hotel again, anytime I am in the area.
Front desk staff very friendly and helfull with advise.
Small room you can use for computer and printer for boarding passes.
About 1 hour and 30 minutes from SFO.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for reviewing our hotel. For all the points you mentioned Windsor is a great base for coming out to play in Sonoma County. I love that the front desk staff gets so much mention on Trip Advisor reviews. We really are fortunate to have so many great personalities running our front desk. When I travel, that's the make it or break it aspect for me. Most mid-scale hotels are comfortable and lovely in their own ways. They all offer the bed I need in a comfortable room. Usually a pool and some sort of breakfast etc etc.. but when you have a dedicated and friendly staff that truly love doing what they do it creates something quite special in the experience. And I think our reviews prove that. Thanks again, and hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

All the Holiday Inn Express's are decent hotels with an okay free breakfast and this one didn't disappoint. Very nice front desk folks and a clean, comfortable,room.

The nice surprise was what a great ton Windsor turned out to be. We'll definitely base there for future trips to Sonoma.

Room Tip: It's not "in town" but on a nice day you can walk to the main section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the five point rating! We are pleased Windsor managed to win you over, and are tremendously fortunate to be located in a town that's so easy to fall in love with. For the second year in a row J.D. Power elected Holiday Inn number one in guest satisfaction for the mid-scale hotel market segment. I guess that means we're pretty easy to fall in love with to! So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a family wedding to attend in the wine country of California. We live in Texas and had never been to Sonoma County, so we really didn't know what to expect. It is wonderful to end a trip with nothing but good thoughts. Holiday Inn Express is located right on the Interstate 101 that goes from the San Francisco area north. It is a fairly recently built hotel, and access to and from everything we needed was quick and efficient. The hotel was clean with lots of windows and very bright. They served a full breakfast with a breakfast area large enough to take care of lots arriving at the same time. The maid on duty was efficient and kept the food bins and coffee pots full. Food was tasty and quite a variety was offered.
From the hotel their are four areas in the valley where grapes are grown and wonderful, quaint old roads to travel through the vineyards and see the country. We were not interested in tasting the wines as much as we were to see the country we hadn't been to earlier. Our days were spent traveling these narrow roads, and seeing the vineyards which were full of grapes ready for harvesting.
The hotel parking was excellent. Driving in to the front of the hotel, you had to drive through a small garage to get to the parking lot which was fenced in and a gate which had to open to leave, which allowed our car to be very safe.
The service was great and plenty of maps were on hand and help to get to the places we needed to go.
Although we do not bicycle there were many cyclists in the area, and it was a great area for it.
I wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend the Holiday Inn Express to anyone going to that area. It was economical for the area, efficient and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much for taking your time to review our hotel and the surrounding area. We appreciate the helpful information your review contains for people still on the fence about where to go. The Sonoma Valley has so much to offer and I think you captured it quite beautifully! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We travel to wine country once a year and always enjoy staying at the HIX in Windsor. Very clean, comfortable and accomodating. Complimentary breakfast is excellent and substantial and gives a good stomach foundation for a day of wine tastings. Conveniently located for easy driving to all valleys and wineries in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEinWindsor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks so much for making our hotel your Wine Country home! Looking forward to having you stay with us again next year. We are highly motivated to stay the best for our guests so if you could do me the great favor of leaving constructive feedback for me anytime you visit that would be fantastic. I always love hearing our guests great ideas on how we can improve their experience. That's what it's all about right??

Have a blessed year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County

Address: 8865 Conde Lane, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Windsor Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located in the heart of Sonoma County Wine Country, nestled between Healdsburg and Santa Rosa. Leisure travelers will enjoy access to over 100 wine tasting rooms in the Russian River, Dry Creek and Alexander Valley, including world famous Rodney Strong, Kendall Jackson or the local favorites of Segeshio or Bella. It is just a short drive to view the stunning trees at Armstrong Redwoods, or capture the breathtaking Sonoma Coast. Our hotel is close to additional attractions including Safari West, Wells Fargo Center of Performing Arts, and Charles Schulz Museum, home to the 'Peanuts' gang. Our location is walking distance to the charming Windsor Town Green. Many enjoyable dining choices, boutique shopping, coffee shops and a variety of events on the Town Green such as the Farmers Market, summer concerts and family fun. Business travelers appreciate our comfortable and convenient location in proximity to the Santa Rosa Airport Business Park and Windsor Business Park. Corporate rates are available to our business travelers. We welcome federal and state government employees. The hotel offers a 24-hour business center. While lodging in our Windsor hotel guests will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast, free wireless Internet, fitness center, indoor jacuzzi and sauna, outdoor heated pool. We look forward to having you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.