We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was skeptical but it was fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Garlic's

Johnny Garlic's
8988 Brooks Rd. So., Windsor, CA 95492
(707) 836-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 49 Restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Was skeptical but it was fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We totally went to this restaurant expecting the "gimmick" of it being Guy's place but it wasn't. Staff was friendly - prices were reasonable and the food was outstanding. We actually went back two nights later because we wanted to try some of their other dishes. The special of the day (Duck Two Ways) was unbelievable. My husband said it was one of the best dishes he has ever had at a restaurant. Love their "French Pig" pizza. What a great variety. Go and try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    58
    30
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow- we were stuffed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved everything we tried! The pizza sticks were really interesting and upscale - with a panko crust. The salad were creative and tasty. We shared a burger - with a pretzel bun and onion strings- so yummy. Great beer selection too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geyserville, California
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Love their salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great cocktail, casual, good food. I'm in love with the California salad with steak. Great place to go with just my hubby or a group.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Traveling to the Sonoma valley for the weekend as a fan of Guy I figured we had to give this place a try. We arrived around 8 on Friday night and the place was busy. We were greeted and seated right away by a attentive staff. Having seen the Ahi tacos on DDD we decided to give them a try. They were as described very light and refreshing. The rest of the meal was good but not great. The California burger I ordered med, was well well done but the flavor was ok. All in all I would say give the place a try, but I agree with other reviews that the pricing is a bit steep for the quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

really enjoyed the food. courteous staff. we were a large group and everyone really enjoyed them selves. will difinitely go back

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Garlic's also viewed

Windsor, Sonoma County
Windsor, Sonoma County
 
Windsor, Sonoma County
Windsor, Sonoma County
 

Been to Johnny Garlic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Garlic's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.