We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Package
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites for a Friday - Sunday night. Hotel wasn't sold out, but was busy nonetheless. Breakfast offerings were decent and well stocked. The breakfast room was large enough to seat many people and the hours offered were perfect from 6a-10a

We stayed in a room with two queen beds and had plenty of room for suitcases and all the wine we bought. The room was clean with updated decor and the heat/airconditioning actually worked the way you would want it too. Too often you wake up roasting to death when you select the room temperature to be 70 or less.

We did not use the pool or the hot tubs or exercise facilities so I am unable to comment on those.

Most of all this hotel was in a great location right between Healdsburg and Santa Rosa which made it very convenient for visiting all of the great wineries in the area. There is also a UPS store right across the street for shipping wine home. There is a grocery store across the street and a Starbuck's as well. No real local type restaurants, but with Santa Rosa and Healdsburg so close that wasn't an issue to us.

Overall a solid hotel that is well taken care of and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay! There are several great local restaurants right here in Windsor, including one of my favorites, Chinois - an asian fusion restaurant. As you say, Healdsburg and Santa Rosa are so close - which adds so many additional dining options - there's something special and fresh for everyone! Hurry back and we'll point you in a direction to start your culinary journey! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    112
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
95
141
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guymon, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very attractive, clean, quiet, comfortable. Wonderful staff, very helpful, friendly, accommodating, went out of their way to please us. Convenient to 101 and northern Sonoma county wineries. The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Glad to have had you stay with us! We hope that you'll hurry back. There's always something new to discover in beautiful Sonoma County, and we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. The price we paid was great but the room itself far exceed what we expected.
Rooms were huge with windows which blocked the freeway noise. For us that is a huge plus. In the future if we are in the area and need this location, this hotel will be at the top of the list

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay! Hurry back as our pool area upgrade is just about to start! It will include the addition of a new solar water heater that will extend the swimming season for our guests while saving energy at the same time! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The bed felt like you were going to fall on your head like the foot of the bed was lifted; then when I woke up in the morning I had the worst back ache, never experienced that before. If you plan to stay at the Hampton Inn make sure you have a good bed or ask to trade rooms; I guarantee I will be checking the bed in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
All of the beds in the hotel are the same so there's no reason to "shop" for a comfortable one. I'm a bit baffled as most people comment on how wonderful our beds are! Still, I'm sure that everyone has their own opinions. The good news is that our guest's satisfaction is 100% guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a great stay! All staff were polite, friendly and accommodating. It is a 10 minute drive to Healdsburg, which is a drawback (but worth it, considering the great deal we got on this hotel), but there are also many places to eat right around the hotel. Very convenient location, easy access to freeway, very quiet, and perfectly comfortable. We appreciated the free breakfast and the great service. Highly recommend this hotel for a great and affordable wine country visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Healdsburg is actually only 2 miles from the hotel. J Winery and Rodney Strong are located a short 5 minutes from the hotel. In 3 minutes you can be surrounded by vines in the middle of nowhere or 7 minutes standing in a redwood grove! So much to do. We hope you hurry back. We sure enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in the Hampton Inn & Suites for a wine country trip in December. All of the wineries we planned to visit were a short 15-20 minute drive from the hotel. The staff were friendly & helpful, hotel was clean and well maintained and rooms were designed for both business & leisure travelers. I loved the ample number of plugs on the desk for recharging electronic devices. It is annoying to crawl around on the floor searching for an unused outlet. They had a desk that is ideal for working along with a comfortable desk chair. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Beds are so comfortable, bedding is soft and cozy and they provided nice robes. The fridge and microwave were nice amenities. The location is close to restaurants in Windsor Town Green as well as downtown Healdsburg. Each morning they offer a full buffet breakfast with ever-changing hot dishes, as well as fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. Staff are there to whisk away trash, replenish food and help guests. The fitness center has everything you need to stay fit. The outdoor pool, great in the summer and the jacuzzi are nice additions. I loved staying here, felt well taken care of and loved how close everything was. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm also glad that you enjoyed and used our added electrical convenience hub. We heard from our guests that they wanted more plugs and USB electrical connections at their bed-side, so we added the hubs. It makes it great to charge your cell-phone or plug in your tablet. Again, thanks for staying with us and hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco (East Bay)
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Check in and check out: Courteous, quck and friendly. Good start and ending
Room: Quite adequate, about average size in this class of hotels. Clean, quiet and housekeeping promptly brought the extra towels and pillows that we requested.

Biggest good surprise: Was expecting standard "Continental" breakfast of all carbs with only yogurt and hard boiled eggs for protein. This breakfast included all the standards for a place without a restaurant plus a serving tray of an egg dish and meat. Included an omlet and turket bacon one day and a bacon and egg muffin another day. Breakfast area kept clean and well stocked.

All this for a very attractive price.
Location: Right in the heart of the Sonoma Russion River Pinot and Chard wine country. Minutes from Healdsburg, Santa Rosa, Sebastapol and just a shout drive to Gurneville and the coast. Perfect hub to start your wine tasting trek.
We will return

Room Tip: Maybe 3rd floor is better for a quiet stay and of course away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay! We work hard to exceed our guest's expectations. This week we're adding brand new ergonomic desk chairs to the rooms, with many more enhancements in the works. Hurry back and I hope that you find nothing but an even better, cleaner hotel! We love having you here and we love improving our product & service for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Santa Rosa and Healdsburg, the Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor-Sonoma Wine Country is the perfect new hotel from which to launch your next Sonoma County adventure! Surrounded by 100's of world-class wineries, we are a short drive to Lake Sonoma, Bodega Bay and the beach, or the Redwood Forest. We are also just minutes from the Russian River and an excellent starting point for your next bicycle adventure through the vineyard-covered countryside. The hotel features refrigerators and microwaves in every room and offers complimentary high-speed internet access to all guests - both wired and wireless. We also offer a free, full hot breakfast every morning to start your day off right. Of course your stay with us is 100% guaranteed, so book your next trip with confidence after reading what our guests are saying about us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn Windsor
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.