We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed, well located & comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Package
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well appointed, well located & comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in the Hampton Inn & Suites for a wine country trip in December. All of the wineries we planned to visit were a short 15-20 minute drive from the hotel. The staff were friendly & helpful, hotel was clean and well maintained and rooms were designed for both business & leisure travelers. I loved the ample number of plugs on the desk for recharging electronic devices. It is annoying to crawl around on the floor searching for an unused outlet. They had a desk that is ideal for working along with a comfortable desk chair. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Beds are so comfortable, bedding is soft and cozy and they provided nice robes. The fridge and microwave were nice amenities. The location is close to restaurants in Windsor Town Green as well as downtown Healdsburg. Each morning they offer a full buffet breakfast with ever-changing hot dishes, as well as fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. Staff are there to whisk away trash, replenish food and help guests. The fitness center has everything you need to stay fit. The outdoor pool, great in the summer and the jacuzzi are nice additions. I loved staying here, felt well taken care of and loved how close everything was. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm also glad that you enjoyed and used our added electrical convenience hub. We heard from our guests that they wanted more plugs and USB electrical connections at their bed-side, so we added the hubs. It makes it great to charge your cell-phone or plug in your tablet. Again, thanks for staying with us and hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    158
    35
    9
    9
See reviews for
160
194
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco (East Bay)
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Check in and check out: Courteous, quck and friendly. Good start and ending
Room: Quite adequate, about average size in this class of hotels. Clean, quiet and housekeeping promptly brought the extra towels and pillows that we requested.

Biggest good surprise: Was expecting standard "Continental" breakfast of all carbs with only yogurt and hard boiled eggs for protein. This breakfast included all the standards for a place without a restaurant plus a serving tray of an egg dish and meat. Included an omlet and turket bacon one day and a bacon and egg muffin another day. Breakfast area kept clean and well stocked.

All this for a very attractive price.
Location: Right in the heart of the Sonoma Russion River Pinot and Chard wine country. Minutes from Healdsburg, Santa Rosa, Sebastapol and just a shout drive to Gurneville and the coast. Perfect hub to start your wine tasting trek.
We will return

Room Tip: Maybe 3rd floor is better for a quiet stay and of course away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay! We work hard to exceed our guest's expectations. This week we're adding brand new ergonomic desk chairs to the rooms, with many more enhancements in the works. Hurry back and I hope that you find nothing but an even better, cleaner hotel! We love having you here and we love improving our product & service for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was an acceptable room. Lack of pant hangars , no bathtub, coffee pot hard to get at . Breakfast was poor. The eggs were dried scrambled eggs. The fruit salad was soggy. Lack of television stations.

Room Tip: IMy room faced the courtyard pool. Nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. Guests indicated that a roomy full-size shower was preferable to a cramped "shower-over-tub" experience. If you do want a bathtub next time, however, we do have them in our double-queen bedded guest rooms. The good news is that if the hotel doesn't meet with your satisfaction then we don't expect you to pay! That makes a Hampton a great bet wherever you go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A great location to stay while touring the wine country, It is central to many destinations. The entire complex is clean and well maintained and the service and personnel were excellent. Amenities such as free breakfast and wine tasting, coffee in the room, and coffee and tea in the lobby at all times, makes for a comfortable stay. Our room was spacious and the bed and bedding were comfortable. We made use of both the refrigerator and microwave. In addition, the nightly room rate was a lot less expensive than comparable surrounding hotels. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a good trip and stay with us. Hurry back, we'll be adding ergonomic desk chairs soon and are looking forward to Hampton's upgraded amenity program that should be just around the corner. We love our "value season" and hope more people discover it! Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a suite that was spacious and clean. Breakfast was included in the stay and coffee was available in our room and in the lobby. The property is located across the street from a shopping center with a variety of restaraunts so location was good too. But beds were the firmest I've slept on ever! Very uncomfortable! Everyone in our family flipped and flopped all night. I've stayed at other Hilton properties and the beds are not that hard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Sorry to hear about your experience with the beds. We have relatively new beds and feature the same exact bed that you would find in other Hampton & Hilton-branded hotels. This is honestly the first time I've ever heard anyone comment on the beds in a negative way. The great news is that we have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you are not satisfied, you don't pay! No other hotel brand stands behind their product in that way! You can't lose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here because of an Amazon deal that we purchased. Very pleased with the stay. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, it is in a very convenient location to many wineries and walking distance to shops/restaurants/bars/etc. The breakfast was very good with a large selection.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It's a great time to stay in the wine country without the crowds and higher rates! Hope you do hurry back - and bring your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A fine place to stay for your get away or wine country trip. The room was spacious and very clean. It was exceptionally quiet with quite comfortable beds that suited this old man's back. Refrigerator, microwave and flat screen T.V. make this room perfect for a couple of nights stay. A very nice breakfast with a wide enough variety of hot and cold items to suit even the most picky. Great location as mentioned in other reviews. Super friendly staff helped us negotiate a tricky trip into the countryside for our niece's wedding, then inquired about the event the next day. Don't even think twice about booking here when your in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and soft pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly enjoyed having you here! It truly delights my staff when our guests leave happy! Hurry back - we have improvements and enhancements in store!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
6.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
4.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Santa Rosa and Healdsburg, the Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor-Sonoma Wine Country is the perfect new hotel from which to launch your next Sonoma County adventure! Surrounded by 100's of world-class wineries, we are a short drive to Lake Sonoma, Bodega Bay and the beach, or the Redwood Forest. We are also just minutes from the Russian River and an excellent starting point for your next bicycle adventure through the vineyard-covered countryside. The hotel features refrigerators and microwaves in every room and offers complimentary high-speed internet access to all guests - both wired and wireless. We also offer a free, full hot breakfast every morning to start your day off right. Of course your stay with us is 100% guaranteed, so book your next trip with confidence after reading what our guests are saying about us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn Windsor
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.