We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visiting wineries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas Package
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting wineries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Just off the freeway, it is an excellent affordable location to use as a base for exploring the wine country. Guy Fieri's restaurant is just across the street - great food! Hampton's usual great selections for breakfast in a very nice breakfast room, with big screen TV, and board games available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
You are right - so much to do and so much to eat around here! A hard place to diet. We've got several great restaurants in walking distance, and several others within a 3 minute drive. Remember to ask for a wine-tasting packet when you check in. It includes a wine-road map and several complimentary wine tasting passes to some great wineries! Oh course it is complimentary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    129
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
118
161
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We've stayed at many Hampton Inns..This was our first time to stay at this one in Windsor...
The best part is the breakfast/reception room....Very stylish and comfortable....Couches, tables, two sided fireplace, center tall eating bar with stools, and many breakfast tables....Super high ceiling, maybe 20 feet or more? Food was average,OK, the next morning....

Our room (top floor, #339) was a "standard king room"...It was the smallest "standard room" I have ever seen at a Hampton so far...And quite dated all around really, but still nice...
The heater unit was quite noisy (it was icy cold outside). Had to turn it off to sleep.
The bathroom fan stayed on permanently, (wished we could of turned it off) and we could hear the central exaust fan off in the distance....
Also, we could hear the freeway zooming by....(window faced freeway). ..Just too many noises here and I specifically asked for a "quiet" room...This wasn't it....We still slept well!
Was able to walk to the Town Green for dinner and shopping...
Location is in a busy, but nice, neighborhood..

Staff was pleasant at check-in. Walked by the front desk many times, coming and going, and never saw anyone there again on our stay...

Not sure I'd stay here again...

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are truly "quiet"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. Just to clarify - the hotel is 3 years old - certainly not old enough to be "dated" in its decor. With our 100% satisfaction guarantee I'm suprised that we didn't hear from you about the noise in that room. I've not received any complaints about that room to date, but we certainly wouldn't have wanted you to pay for a sub-standard experience! Still, I'm glad that you note that you "still slept well!" Looking at the other 80+ reviews on this site and without any complaints to date, I'd certainly love to visit with you about specifics if you could call the hotel. We definitely want to make each guest experience a positive one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Very friendly staff, great breakfast choices, nice clean hotel and great location. Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
So glad to have you with us! We love feedback and work hard to be the best value in Sonoma Wine Country! Hurry back while our rates are so affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Great location for visiting family, wineries and Santa Rosa Symphony. Very Affordable. Our family had 3 rooms in all. The extra space in the suite was great for family members to meet. Beds a bit hard for my back, and sheets were not top quality. Rooms were clean and quiet (top floor), and service was fabulous. Nice selection for healthy breakfast.

Room Tip: Families - Upgrade to a Double Queen Suite - twice the room for only a few dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thanks! We're working on the breakfast! We've added hard-boiled eggs, greek yogurt, slow-cooked oatmeal, low-fat granola and more fresh fruit. We're looking to add a gluten-free cereal as well based on guest feedback. We are never satisfied, so our guests can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was our 2nd time staying at the Hampton. We were attending the "Taste Along the Wine Road" event. We also recommended this to another couple and they stayed there as well. Great location, right off the interstate. Close to many wineries. Good Breakfast, friendly staff. Clean. Will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
We're so glad you came back. With Satisfaction and Loyalty scores in the top 10% of all Hampton Inns, we love to see our wonderful guests return. I have a friendly staff that loves to serve our friends while you're with us. We hope to "wow" you more each stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here at the end of August. The hotel is good and pretty quiet, there is plenty of food options within easy walk of the hotel. It is only a 15 minute walk into Windsor centre, unfortunately under Highway 101, but easy on a nice evening. Also very good location for Sonoma and Napa and some great secenery around here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thanks for mentioning the famous Town Green! It's our center of life for residents in the summer - with free weekly concerts, free "Movie on the Green" night, farmer's markets, etc. It is so close that you can walk safely there or there is plenty of parking for the 3 minute car ride. Either way, people come for the wine country but often end up falling in love with Windsor! We hope you hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here to tour wine country in Russian River Valley. Short drives to most places including Healdsburg and Santa Rosa. New, spacious lounge, eating area. Close to lots of restaurants. There is a trail right behind the hotel for a short stroll. Great staff.... When I return to RRV, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSatterfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
You are right - such a beautiful area with so much to do within minutes of the hotel! Oh and now we've recently added a slow-cooked crock of hearty oatmeal with to-go cups and all the fixins to our breakfast buffet. Can't wait to see you back in wine country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 8937 Brooks Road South, Windsor, CA 95492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Santa Rosa and Healdsburg, the Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor-Sonoma Wine Country is the perfect new hotel from which to launch your next Sonoma County adventure! Surrounded by 100's of world-class wineries, we are a short drive to Lake Sonoma, Bodega Bay and the beach, or the Redwood Forest. We are also just minutes from the Russian River and an excellent starting point for your next bicycle adventure through the vineyard-covered countryside. The hotel features refrigerators and microwaves in every room and offers complimentary high-speed internet access to all guests - both wired and wireless. We also offer a free, full hot breakfast every morning to start your day off right. Of course your stay with us is 100% guaranteed, so book your next trip with confidence after reading what our guests are saying about us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn And Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Hampton Inn Windsor
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.