We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old West Inn

Save Saved
You added The Old West Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old West Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Main St, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Willits
Spokane, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is a great value for my dollars. I've stayed several times while traveling for business. It's not fancy, but for the ridiculously low rate you get a really clean hotel, cute old west theme, comfortable beds, breakfast, all the little things like frig and microwave and bath amenities, and your rooms look out on a grassy western courtyard which entirely eliminates the noise from the busy highway right in front. It has WiFi, big flat screen TV, what else could you want? Right in the middle of a really cute town on the Redwoods Highway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us! We really appreciate it!

We don't have flat screen TV's in all the rooms, just yet. We soon should have flat panel TV's in all the rooms. But we are very lucky to be a part of the redwood forest, its a vast area to discover and have a good time with.

At the hotel, our main task is to make sure all our guests gets the "at home" feeling, so we, as the management try to make this place nice and cozy.

But thanks for taking some time and writing a little about us. We really appreciate your time.
Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We drove into Willits in late January without having researched any motels. The first place we looked at was small and pretty run down, but then we found the Old West Inn. It was $14 more than the first place, but we were glad to pay it. The manager was super kind and helpful and was able to help us find a delicious dinner in town which was walking distance. He gave us a good deal since it was winter and gave us a huge, very quiet and clean room with a comfy king bed, a day bed with a trundle bed under it, a bar with stools for eating breakfast, and a fridge & microwave. The hotel has kind of an old west theme which is cute, and all of the rooms are behind the office facing a nice grassy area, so there's no highway noise to speak of. Just a couple complaints: the breakfast was not great - there were 2 kinds of cereal, a gallon of milk, a gallon of fake orange "juice", some pastries, and coffee. No fruit. And, the room was cold! We couldn't find any heater, which is probably fine most of the year, but in January, it would have been nice! All in all, we were really pleased with this hotel and the management and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us! we really appreciate it.
All the rooms in the hotel are slightly larger than the average hotel rooms, even tho the property doesn't look as big, the rooms have been given some very good thoughts. We have had difficulties in the breakfast department, but so far, its been a basic cold continental breakfast.

The heating unit is the same as the A/C unit. Its a common misunderstanding which a lot of people hard to understand. We always request every guest to call us any time during their stay to inform us about any question. We are always happy to oblige to help anyhow we can.

But thanks for taking some time and writing a little about us. :)
We really appreciate it.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stopped in at 3:20 am. Just as I was about to head back to the car, someone came to the window. They were very polite, as I probably woke them up, and offered me the AAA rate I qualified for. We only were passing through until 9 am, then heading back on the road but the inside of our room was spacious, clean, and accented in period decor. I can imagine this would be fun for a family. The courtyard was also gorgeous. My only issue was that the parking lot is in the back, and we had to walk all the way up to our room by the office in the freezing cold, back and forth. Also the wood floors along the doors are quite creaky, so use the gravel at night to be courteous!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the middle of the rooms to cut down travel time between the car and the office. Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review for us! We really appreciate it.
We are definitely a popular choice amongst the family/children travelers. Willits is a travelling town, and having 10 hotel in a close proximity implies plenty of accommodation. We are grateful that our facility is a point of interest for a lot of visitors.

There used to be a swimming pool where the courtyard is at the moment, which is the only reason why they designed the parking lot to be all the way in the back. In winter, the walk to the rooms feels longer than usual, even I can agree to that. We always request people to walk on the concrete pavement as well. Thanks for an excellent suggestion.

But thanks for taking some time and writing a little about us, we really appreciate it.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had hoped to pass through Willits on my way home from Pismo Beach, but exhaustion told me I needed to rest. Got my phone out to seek a reasonably priced hotel for a Monday night stay and The Old West Inn came up. It was just down the street from where I was fueling at Safeway, which has the cheapest gas, so went in and was cordially greeted by one of the owners. The part facing the street is pretty rustic looking, so I had some reservation about staying. The facility is U shaped with a lawn down the middle. It was obviously an older facility, but the room was in great shape and nicely appointed. As I walked from the far end where I parked to my room, noticed that each room was named after a type of business, i.e. Barber, Dentist etc. Didn't need to use the A/C which provides both heat and cooling so can't comment on any noise there. But, there was no street noise because of the configuration and the continental breakfast was just that, coffee, cereal and pastry. Again, the manager was very kind and engaging and despite the outer exterior look, would certainly recommend this hotel for a Willits stay.

Room Tip: If you get a room near the front desk, would recommend trying to park on the side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us! We really appreciate it.
There are plenty of people who find the outside of the hotel a bit out of the normal. Even the hotel management has its reservations about how it looks from the outside. We are aware of its disadvantages and always keep that in the back of the head.

All the rooms are appointed different names for their decors, The interior of the hotel is well designed. The only problem with having a smaller building is not having an extra room for breakfast. Our continental breakfast which consists of 2 Cereals, Pastries, Coffee, Orange Juice and Milk has a limited space.

Thanks for taking some time and writing a little about us. We really appreciate it.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoona, pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for one night on our recent trip from NAPA to the Redwoods. We enjoy staying at places that are a little out of the ordinary. The price was definitely right. Each room is cleverly decorated in a different old west theme. The rooms and the facility are neat and clean. The inn is located right along the busy highway, but the rooms are all blocked by the office which hide the noise from the highway.
You should know that because of the low price, a fair number of construction workers stay here. At least that was the situation when we were there, not that that caused any problem.
They tend to get up early and leave for work, that's all I am saying.
If I was ever in the area in the future, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review for us! we really appreciate it.

Our place definitely is a little different than the average "Hotel/Inn." We used to have the regular key for the rooms until this morning and starting today, we have the electronic keycards locks here, a little bit of hardware upgrade for an antique property.

The town of Willits is currently under a lot of construction sites, including a major Willits Bypass, The Howard Memorial Hospital - New Location, A part of Mendocino College and a few other. There are many construction workers staying in various hotels for the next 6 years.

Thanks for writing such a nice review for us and taking some time to write a little about your stay. we really appreciate it.

Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Considering how busy the main road through Willits is, the hotel was very quiet. The room was spacious - a little old fashioned, but not identikit motel room like a lot of places. Everything was very clean. I found the mattress wasn't firm enough to be really comfy and the metal four poster frame was rickety (Hotel Room). The manager was really welcoming and helpful and the other staff we saw were friendly.

The breakfast wasn't up to much - danish pastries from Safeway and weak coffee, but it was included in the price.

The guest info folder in the room was really useful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us, we really appreciate it!

We are lucky to have the front of the hotel covering all the rooms in the back, as it blocks most of the noise. Our mattress are different in a few rooms, most of our rooms have a Firm - Serta Mattresses, and as time goes by, we will change all of the mattresses to those Serta ones.

Guest Directory in all the rooms are a great help for us, we have made sure every little aspect and frequently asked questions are detailed in it, including how to use the TV and channel listing, as we installed DirecTV last year. Not only the frequently asked questions, we also have a list of all the restaurants in town, local facilities like the Post Office, Safeway, Hardware stores, etc.

But thanks for taking some time and writing a little about us. We really appreciate it.

Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not the Ritz but felt very lucky to find this hotel after searching for the area below the Redwoods, many hotels just looked totally run down and seedy. The staff at this hotel are the best and go out of their way to accommodate any requests (even going so far as to go through the garbage looking for my husbands bait). Well kept rooms and grounds felt totally comfortable staying here. Customer service here was EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us! we really appreciate it.

We consider ourselves to be fortunate to have a "different" property than most hotels as well, its nice to see some change. We put customer service as our first priority, and we always promise to keep that as our number one priority as well.

There are so many guests that forget things inside the rooms and we always try to call the guests right away if we have their contact information available, or have it in a box full of lost & found. We really recommend booking reservation through the hotel's website or calling in directly for that very reason as well, as anyone from the management department will be able to contact right away.

But thanks for taking some time and writing a little for us. We really appreciate it.
have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old West Inn

Address: 1221 South Main St, Willits, CA 95490
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old West Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place for a family getaway, clean and quiet, friendly and helpful management. Western-styled theme rooms to light up the décor and proper amenities to comfort your stay. Free Wi-Fi and Continental Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Old West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old West Hotel Willits
Old West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old West Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.