We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old West Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Old West Inn to your Saves list
The Old West Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Main St, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Certificate of Excellence
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This isn't the Hilton but for a small town it's great. The proprietor and family are very friendly. It's clean, the beds are very comfy and it's in a good location. I would stay here again any time. It's an awesome value!

Room Tip: all of them are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us, we really appreciate it.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Room 16 - The Hotel, is the honeymoon room we have here, its one room that puts a smile on almost every couple and if we do happen to have guests which are newly-weds or on their honeymoon, we opt in to give that room.

Our definition of customer service is just as basic as it should be: if our guests are happy, we are too.

Thanks for writing such a nice review for us, we really appreciate it.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
44
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

You can't tell how nice the rooms are from the street side--you have to go around to the back to see the grassy courtyard and quaint (if kitschy a bit) setting and "old west-themed" décor. Room was spacious and there were some nice details--mirror outside the tub/toilet area, fridge, plenty of room to place suitcases, etc. The water tasted metallic, though, so we used bottled water. I noticed that taste elsewhere in town, so it's probably not the hotel's fault. Breakfast was VERY basic--only cereal and apples and fruit when we got there--sweet rolls and bananas gone. And there was only a small couch and coffee table for ALL the hotel guests--in the office! So we took our cereal carefully back to our room and sat on our beds and ate. We would probably stay here again, though, because of the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for writing a nice review for us, we really appreciate it.

A lot of people who have never seen or heard about this hotel find it difficult to give us a chance because of the street side of the hotel, it does look a bit old, even I have to agree with that. We tried small bits to repair the front side, but we all agreed that it needs a complete new renovation.

We heard many of guests say the same about the water, and its definitely not the hotels fault, its the city water itself. The entire town gets the same water and there really isnt much we could do about that. We do provide bottled water in the vending machines.

But thanks for writing about us, we really appreciate it.
Thanks,
Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Staid one night here on our way up to Oregon. Not much for drill, but for the price I wasn't expecting any! The service was extremely friendly, the room very clean, and the atmosphere fun! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review for us! We really appreciate it.
Many of our guests find that Willits is a good mid-point from their trip either from southern California or from Oregon. I love travelling myself as well and know the importance of customer service, so as a unit, it makes us feel very obliged and confident about ourselves when someone recognizes that. It just thrives us to do better.

We are humbly grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took some time to write a little about our property.

Thanks,
Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We didn't officially stay here but I must comment on the staff. We made a reservation however were stuck in a different city and could not make it. The staff was very understandable and cancelled it with no problem. Their friendly and courteous manner made me wish we could have made it. I'm sure the service there would of been superior.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for writing such a generous review for us! It's purely awe-worthy to see someone do that.

One point I would like to make to anyone who might be reading this, for any given hotel, if you have made the reservation and for some reason you find yourself out of the schedule, please be courteous to call the hotel directly and ask for the cancellation, even if its on the same day, that one simple phone call could easily save you one night's charge, there are many nice managers that go out of their cancellation policy and make those exceptions.

But we are very grateful to you for showing some courtesy in writing such a nice review for us, we really appreciate that.

Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed with friends for one night. It is a very cute idea for a small motel. It has the appearance of storefronts in an old western town. The rooms were decent size and very clean. Breakfast was limited and there was really no space to eat it. We would highly recommend the motel and would definitely stay here again if in Willits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us!

We really like the concept of this hotel too, and we really wish we could change much more than what we have at the moment. I personally envision this place to be rather historic, and keep it in a way that it will hold its presence for future. There are a few obstacles in the way to make those changes right now, but it will be done.

Breakfast area is in the office itself, its not the biggest available area that we could provide the guests with, but it's the only space we have available that we could prepare for breakfast.

But thanks for taking some time and writing a little about us, we really appreciate it!
Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

While stopped in Williits for a cool drink we check Tripadvisor for motel reviews and found good reports on The Old West Inn. This place is great, drive around back and walk in to your room. It has a great grass area and patio to sit outside and enjoy the weather. Everyone from the staff (owners) to the guests were all super friendly. The room was clean, the bed was good, the internet worked well and the staff couldn't do enough for us. They gave me rags to wipe down the bike and trailer and ask numerous times if we needed anything and if the room was ok. This family of owners cares about their business and aim to please. 5 stars for a room for under $80.00 Well go back.

Room Tip: Call ahead we got the last room, they are very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us!

I think the success of this place really depends on the grassy courtyard area. When we first arrived here, there was a broken bench with 2 almost broken chairs with it, so we immediately got rid of those and put proper table and also a patio swing, if you are here to relax, why not do that a little more comfortably?

Our family is genuinely enthralled to receive such nice responses from so many guests, we live simply and courteously.

But thanks for taking some time and writing a little about us, we really appreciate it!
Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Old West Inn! It is such a quaint place and makes one feel like he/she is truly stepping back in time! Because it is small, it is a lot easier to get personal attention and service if needed. The owners are very attentive to matters and do an excellent job in maintaining the inn. The rooms are very nice and include all needed amenities, including mini microwaves and refrigerators. We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at The Old West Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review for us!
We only have 19 rooms in total, so it does become fairly easy to get the maintenance done, due to the hefty time schedule and also very few members that operate this place, all the small details could be given a proper attention.

We love this place as much as the next person and its something we can call it our home too, so its not always business to us, and which is why we have a friendlier approach to everything here.

But thanks for taking some time and writing a little about us, we really appreciate it!
Have a good day ahead,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willits
0.4 mi away
Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Willits
Super 8 Willits
#4 of 9 in Willits
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Willits Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
24.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old West Inn

Address: 1221 South Main St, Willits, CA 95490
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old West Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place for a family getaway, clean and quiet, friendly and helpful management. Western-styled theme rooms to light up the decor and proper amenities to comfort your stay. Free Wi-Fi, 39' LED TV with HDTV with Dish Network, Double-sided Pillow-top Mattresses and Cold Continental Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old West Hotel Willits
Old West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old West Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.