We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here! Great Price, Very Clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old West Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Old West Inn to your Saves list
The Old West Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Main St, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Here! Great Price, Very Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Excellent service, very clean and priced much better than neighboring hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan P, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank You for writing us such a nice review, short and simple. :)
We appreciate your time and Thank you for staying with us.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    45
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
36
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Templeton, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Traveling to Willits was about an hour further down the road than we had hoped to drive but after reading the reviews for this hotel, we decided to try it. We were very happy with the hotel; the pride of ownership is evident in how well maintained it is. Our room was clean, the staff were friendly and accomodating and the price was a great bargain. We will make this hotel our first choice when traveling down Hwy 101 in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for such a generous review! :)

We, as the Motel Management really are very proud to be working at this place, we saw the potential it has in it 4 years ago, and which was the boldest move our family decided to make and hearing from everyone, i think we have proved how good we have done so far.

We have worked on the simple motto, that keeping the place as clean as it could be, manage with all the care that we could give and keep it as affordable as it can ever be, which has worked perfectly for us and we will continue to do so in the future.

Thanks for taking some time and writing about us, we really do appreciate it.
Management.
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We want to echo the positive comments about our stay at the Old West Inn. We stayed in "The Jail" room (each room has its own theme) and found it spacious and comfortable. There is no street noise because the office blocks it. The staff were very friendly and accommodating (needed an extra box of Kleenex because I had a cold). A modest continental breakfast is included. The Yum Yum Tree (Chinese restaurant) is a 10 min. walk away and it was one of the best Chinese restaurants we have been to in a long while.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thanks for writing such a nice review!

The "Jail" room is one of the coolest room we have here, and the room does look more brighter after your stay because we changed the carpets in most of the rooms here. So adding to the contrast of the color in that room, new carpets does make it appear more presentable. I too can say many good things about the Yum Yum Tree as its been our personal favorite too.

But thanks for taking some time and writing about us. I will make sure to add it to the motel website.

We really appreciate it. Thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

Shows pride of ownership. Great value. Offers cereal for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thanks for taking time and writing a review about us. We really appreciate it.

:)
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The room was larger than I am used too. It had a king size bed and a day bed with a trundle. Nice decorated theme rooms. Very quiet. Wide variety of TV channels. Microwave, refrid., free WIFI, clean. Staff was helpful and accommodating. Very reasonably priced. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on while traveling.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thanks for the wonderful review :)

It's very nice to see our guests appreciate the hard work we put into this place.We as the management run this place as a big family, which helps not just us but also the guest as they could enjoy the place just as well as we do. The motel is small but very well equipped with all the basic amenities.

But thanks for taking some time to write about us, we really appreciate it.
Thank You.
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Nice manager. Inexpensive. Room was tidy, clean, and well-equipped with microwave, coffee maker, fridge, and cable TV. The rooms were not theme-based like the outside but seriously, who cares for the money. There was also a day bed with trundle in the room along with the king bed so four could have comfortably slept in the room.

Would definitely stay again. No brainer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thanks for the really nice review! :)

The motel layout is designed so well, and so many of them are really theme based, but its unfortunate not all of them are, and we are working little by little to give this place what it deserves. In few years time, We guarantee that this place will have all its rooms really themed. For now, we have managed to put New Mini Refrigerators, new microwaves, new air-conditions, and even big tv's in half the rooms .. in 4 years :) So hopefully better features and amenities to better service our guests in future.

But we really appreciate you taking some time to write about this place. Thanks for the wonderful review. :)
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stopped in Willits for the night on our way from Loleta down to San Francisco, and what a lovely little town! I had read the reviews of The Old West Inn on trip advisor and decided to give it a try. We asked for a king, and our room (the post office) had a king bed, a day bed, and a trundle bed - all for the low, low price of only $60! The room was very big, very clean, everything worked as it should have, and I can't think of one complaint. It's in the middle of town, close to some awesome little placces to eat and shop, and I would most definitely stay there again! I would definitely recommend it to everyone I know who happens to be headed thru Willits and needs a good, cheap, convenient, safe place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thanks for the lovely review!!

We have that small trundle bed in almost all the rooms here, in fact 2 of the rooms have 2 of those in them. Our thoughtful process of keeping the prices very moderate is only to make sure all the guest could stay comfortably and without breaking the wallet apart.

But we really are very humbled and grateful of your review.
Thank you so much!
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old West Inn

Address: 1221 South Main St, Willits, CA 95490
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old West Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place for a family getaway, clean and quiet, friendly and helpful management. Western-styled theme rooms to light up the decor and proper amenities to comfort your stay. Free Wi-Fi, HDTV with Dish Network, Double-sided Pillow-top Mattresses and Cold Continental Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Old West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old West Hotel Willits
Old West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old West Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.