We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old West Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Old West Inn to your Saves list
The Old West Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Main St, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Nice manager. Inexpensive. Room was tidy, clean, and well-equipped with microwave, coffee maker, fridge, and cable TV. The rooms were not theme-based like the outside but seriously, who cares for the money. There was also a day bed with trundle in the room along with the king bed so four could have comfortably slept in the room.

Would definitely stay again. No brainer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thanks for the really nice review! :)

The motel layout is designed so well, and so many of them are really theme based, but its unfortunate not all of them are, and we are working little by little to give this place what it deserves. In few years time, We guarantee that this place will have all its rooms really themed. For now, we have managed to put New Mini Refrigerators, new microwaves, new air-conditions, and even big tv's in half the rooms .. in 4 years :) So hopefully better features and amenities to better service our guests in future.

But we really appreciate you taking some time to write about this place. Thanks for the wonderful review. :)
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
37
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stopped in Willits for the night on our way from Loleta down to San Francisco, and what a lovely little town! I had read the reviews of The Old West Inn on trip advisor and decided to give it a try. We asked for a king, and our room (the post office) had a king bed, a day bed, and a trundle bed - all for the low, low price of only $60! The room was very big, very clean, everything worked as it should have, and I can't think of one complaint. It's in the middle of town, close to some awesome little placces to eat and shop, and I would most definitely stay there again! I would definitely recommend it to everyone I know who happens to be headed thru Willits and needs a good, cheap, convenient, safe place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thanks for the lovely review!!

We have that small trundle bed in almost all the rooms here, in fact 2 of the rooms have 2 of those in them. Our thoughtful process of keeping the prices very moderate is only to make sure all the guest could stay comfortably and without breaking the wallet apart.

But we really are very humbled and grateful of your review.
Thank you so much!
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We loved the look and atmosphere of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, bright and cheerful. We loved having a microwave, fridge and Wi-Fi in the room. A fantastic value for your money. Convenient to local restaurants and grocery stores.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :)

We, as the management are just as simple and unsophisticated as our rooms are. And to make this place just as charming and loving, we do take the modifying perspective a little seriously, and hence we get the results from guests like you. It truly feels good to manage this place with a lot of affection. And we promise to continue to make this place better as the time passes.

But for now, Thanks for staying with us and more so, thanks for this lovely review.
Management.
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This is a cute little motel with a Western Theme. Each room has a name (Stage Coach, Sheriff, Jail, etc) The rooms are clean and the management is extremely friendly and nice. I liked how they decorated the rooms with antique-like items just to make the rooms look cozy. The rates were extremely reasonable. However, keep in mind that the hotel isn't exactly new. There were only two drawbacks to our stay...the rugs need to be replaced (they were wrinkly and worn) and the continental breakfast isn't anything more than six items: milk, one type of cereal, juice, bananas, coffee, and pastry.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thanks for the wonderful review. :)

Yes, you are right. The place isn't so new at all, it was built back in 1989 and just been managed well through the years and we have been taking care of it since the past 4 years now and honestly, we really enjoy modifying this place in every bit we can.

The rugs for all the rooms will most likely replaced within next year, that's one aspect of this place we have been keeping an eye for as well and the breakfast is limited in a sense because of not enough space but we are definitely working on making it better too. :)

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and Thanks for the review.
Management
The Old West Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Traveled to Willits to visit family. On a Previous visit stayed at another hotel and was disappointed and it was also expensive. It advertised a home made breakfast with fresh fruit. The food was mediocre at best and there was no fruit. For our next stay we decided to try the Old West Inn. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and very quite. We chose a king bed and there was also a trundle bed in the room. I was staying with my daughter, her teenage daughter and teenage son. These accommodations were perfect for us. The room was large and sat back away from the noisy highway. The management were very friendly and extremely accommodating. This is not an expensive hotel and does not have a lot of frills but it did offer a clean and friendly environment for my family. When traveling to Willits this is the hotel for me and my family.

Darlene D.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. :)

We are very glad we could provide you with good service and better hospitality. This building does have that "barn looking" thought from the outside and we are trying to get as many guest as possible to look inside and to see the rooms and your review just proves our point. We have stayed reasonable in price and worked hard to keep this place clean as possible for the past 4 years and hearing from guest like you just makes us feel proud of ourselves. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Management,
The Old West Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I chose this hotel based on other reviews. What a pleasure. My room was lovely. Clean and welcoming. The themed rooms are fun. The twig bed frames are beautiful and I want one for my house. lol. Other family members stayed in another room just as nice.
The staff is friendly, the grounds immaculate. The price, fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thanks for the wonderful review, we really appreciate your response. :)

And we are glad you enjoyed your stay, its one part of the Motel we like to give more importance to, we like to make sure all our guest enjoy their stay and it really feels nice to hear back good responses from our valued guests. Thank you very much for the great review, i will make sure to post it on the motel website.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Hubby and I were suppose to be in Fort Bragg but got caught in really bad weather on our way up from San Francisco. We decided to call it a day and stopped in Willits. We checked tripadvisor and priceline for places to stay and decided to stay at The Old West Inn. We just showed up at the front office at 8pm and asked for a room, on a Saturday evening during a long weekend. The guy at the front desk looked very tired but was very gracious and polite. We asked him what the rate was and he charged us $55 including tax for the night. We have been burned badly in the past in small towns when deals were too good to be true, so we were kind of weary about seeing the rooms. Once we walked in we just relaxed. The room was quite spacious, had huge california king , as well as , a day bed. The bathroom was spotless and my husband complained smelled of bleach ( this was music to my ears ). The room was also extremely clean and well maintained.
The furniture is quite dated and nothing special but I think that is the point . We stayed in room 4, with the title doctor outside. For $55 for a night , really cannot complain, it feels like a upgraded motel room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwestinn, Manager at The Old West Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thanks for the generous review :)
I was the person who checked you in, sorry for looking tired (my brother and I do all the manual labor ourselves at the hotel). This hotel does have that feeling from outside, but as you said, the real deal is in the rooms. We have been working really hard to make this place better and it feels really good to hear that hard work does pay off. Thanks again for the review. Management. The Old West Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old West Inn

Address: 1221 South Main St, Willits, CA 95490
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old West Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place for a family getaway, clean and quiet, friendly and helpful management. Western-styled theme rooms to light up the decor and proper amenities to comfort your stay. Free Wi-Fi, 39' LED TV with HDTV with Dish Network, Double-sided Pillow-top Mattresses and Cold Continental Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old West Hotel Willits
Old West Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old West Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.