We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Willits
GreenLeadersBronze level
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

This was fine for $60-80. It is basically a motel. Rooms are old, everything is dated, heater was noisy, microwave had dials not digital, pillows, linens not quality. The spa- not sure where that comes from. There was a motel room they converted for massages. Outdoor hot tub was not hot & jets splashed water on your fase. They didn't even provide lotion with the shampoo & conditioner. On a positive, the front desk person was pleasant & helpful, breakfast was good and they had pretty plants & a nice set up of outdoor and indoor tables and chairs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetjewel, GM at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
We were sorry to read that this guest was not happy with their stay. We have been in the process of rennovating our rooms - we have retextured, recarpeted, repainted, and our new furniture and mattresses are arriving next week. We always seek to keep our rooms updated and clean and comfortable.

Our Spa is located in what used to be some of our hotel rooms. They have been redone and are beautiful. I am attaching a photo so you can see how one looks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    50
    19
    15
    10
See reviews for
40
68
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
central Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

While traveling through northern California, we ran into car trouble in Willits. Fortunately for us, we broke down near this hotel. The staff was accomodating and friendly. They had two rooms for us, as we had to spend a night unexpectedly in Willits with five people.

We certainly would stay there again. Staff went the extra mile, even discussing with Choice's corporate people to ensure that we received credit for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetjewel, GM at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, June 18, 2009
Thank you for such great comments about our wonderful staff. They appreciate positive comments when their service has been outstanding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx, az
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We were driving by and we need it to stop somewhere to sleep for the night and go on. Very nice and friendly staff.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I stayed here as a stopover on my way towards Mendocino and I highly recommend it as an alternative to the expensive hotels and B&B's in Mendocino. I had a massage and it was one of the best I had, which is a very pleasant surprise. Dinner at Purple Thistle was excellent. I have never had such good organic wines. I had an upstairs room quite close to McDonalds. Yes, you can hear the drive-thru speakers, but only if you are already awake. I don't think it was that bad. The bed was very comforable. Breakfast was fine although nothing to write home about. The coffee is very good. Bring your own mug so you may enjoy some of it on your drive towards Mendocino.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

What a wonderful spot to stop and spend the night. Off the highway so very quite with clean, comfortable rooms and fantastic beds - best night's sleep of vacation. Staff was very friendly and helpful just wished I could have stayed for a spa treatment in such lovely surroundings!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

Not sure why this place gets great reviews. It looks quaint from the outside but the room we had was old and nasty. Was very expensive. Everything in the room was old. Parking was pretty crazy. Breakfast was weak with old fruit. Would reccomend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay longer and take advantage of some of the spa treatments. Nice, clean, spacious rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection

Address: 101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the "Gateway to the Redwoods," we are the premier location for visitors seeking a more individualized, distinctive travel experience and who seek a sense of the local flavor of our county and the historic town of Willits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Willits
Clarion Willits
Willits Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.