We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't meet the owner!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Willits
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't meet the owner!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

After a very long trip along the 101 north, we stop in Willits to stay for the night because it had been snowing and the road had closed for the evening. After a few unsuccessful attempts at finding a room we stumbled across this place where the very lovely Ashleigh who was at the front desk accomodated us. She was very helpful! But let me back up for a second. As we were pulling into the driveway a man was standing at the front door giving a hand gesture to us like he was saying "no availibility". Being very confused by this, we park and go inside where he approaches us at the front desk while on his cell phone saying to us "we have no openings!!!" Now Ashleigh has already helped us, so I say to him " yes there is-she already told us there is". At this point he gets flustered mumbling things under his breath to where I reply " what does it matter to you anyway?" And this is where it gets good.... He says "I'm the owner!" Wow.... Just wow.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We understand the frustration during the hectic "snow" storm in our area. As you can imagine - things here at the front desk were hectic because we had people that could not get here for their reservations - actually a basketball team was in process of cancelling during that time and we had to make sure that we finished that step so we could then let people in the lobby know what exactly we had to sell so that we didn't oversell.

Deepest apologies if you felt anyone was rude - I personally was not there because I could not get up the hill - so have heard conflicting reports - however, whatever the case - customer service is of top priority to us and I apologize if you felt you were treated anything but kindly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    54
    19
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
70
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Passed through Willits on our way down to Los Angeles for Thanksgiving and chose Baechtel Creek Inn after reading several reviews posted on TA. I'd say that 90% of the time, we are very satisfied with choices based on TA reviews. This was one of those exceptions! When we arrived, our room was ice cold. We had reserved a room several days in advance, so you'd think someone could have turned on the heat. They knew the room was going to be occupied. The heater turned out to be very noisy and went on and off all night. Not a restful nights sleep! Also, I think the housekeeper must have been interrupted while she was preparing the room and forgot to come back, because we had no soap, coffee, glasses, or cups. Very little toilet paper was left on the roll. I had reserved a "superior" king room based on the comments about those rooms being quieter. With that noisy heater, we might as well have been next to the highway! There was nothing special AT ALL about that room. Don't waste your money on a "superior" one. I will say that the young woman in reception rummaged around and brought us what we needed with apologies. She seemed to be there all alone. We are on our way back to Eugene, and will stay in Ukiah instead!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the lack of amenities in your room. We have had some housekeepers leave and some begin and apparently it caused some problems for you! Not acceptable. Please feel free to contact me to discuss these issues!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is our second stay and the staff and manager make every attempt to make you feel welcome and relaxed. They have been rentovating the rooms and they turned out great!!! Definitely a plus ! Since it sits back off the road its very quiet. The property is very well maintained. I would recommend the Inn to anyone coming to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you Mary Beth - we are pleased that you had a good time and found your stay plesant. We are in our winter season, the time we are able to do repairs, upgrades, etc and are just starting that process!

We look forward to seeing you again,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The front desk staff focuses on greeting their customers as guests with appreciation and good services, the housekeeping and maintenance staff treat the customers in the same manner. What's impressive is that you see the General Manager(s) in there getting their hands dirty. They will handle many of the duties such as maintenance, housekeeping, front desk operations and preparing their home-cooked breakfast items so the guests have an opportunity to be fed well. This is a rare observation of other General Managers involved with tasks of a subordinate. Most will just push paper work and give directions and not participate with other duties unless it's absolutely necessary. You may be pleased as a guest whether it's a business or personal stay. It's a very nice hotel for the Willits, CA area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are working hard to provide our guests with a great experience - both as far as our rooms, and our customer service. It is nice to hear that we are succeeding! We appreciate your observations and noticing the little things that do make such a difference!

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The manager was very friendly and worked with us on price. Our room was nicely furnished and clean. The breakfast was what I would consider gourmet with every option imaginable. We stayed in 14 different hotels on a 17 day driving trip and this was the best experience we had. Located in a quiet, lovely area. Nice pool and spa. Very important to us was that it was a smoke free facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are thrilled that out of so many stays - we were your favorite one! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast - we do strive to make it as healthy and robust as possible for our guests. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in WIllits on numerous other occasions, but first time at Baechtel Creek Inn.
Location is better than any other property in town, in that it is "set back" from Highway 101, so it does mitigate most of the highway noise at the property. A downside (just for esthetics) is the motel is located behind, and adjacent to, McDonald's and Taco Bell properties, but it did not bother me in the least.
Had reservations so check in was fast, friendly, and professional.
Room was immaculate and sufficient for a lone person or couple; comes with small refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, shower/tub combo, and King bed.
Only complaints were room did not have enough electrical outlets, reading lamp adjacent to work desk had no outlet unless you unplugged either the clock radio or bedside lamp.
Also, there is only one ice machine on the property; it is adjacent to the office which was a distance from my room at the far other end of the motel.
But, it was a nice evening so it was not an issue for me.

Motel is two story, with stairs, no elevators. So, if you have a lot of luggage or too tired to haul your stuff upstairs, opt for downstairs.
Breakfast is provided 6:30am to 9:30am in small dining area adjacent to front desk.
Items include fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, toast, bagels, and two egg dishets. Not sure exactly what the egg dishes were. One was marked "vegetables", the other "with meat". Tried both.
Vegetable one seemed to have scr ambled eggs with hash browns, mushrooms, and onions mixed in. The other, the "with meat" dish..looked like it contained eggs, but did not taste like it to me; it appeared to have egg with red peppers but I never tasted any kind of meat(s).
Sad thing for these egg dishes was they were in a large metal tray, no heat...they were cold and no way to heat them up..no burners, no microwaves, etc. Not sure what to make of this.

Also had lots of hot coffee, milk, orange juice. Breakfast not the high point of my stay unfortunately.
There is a hot tub opened all year, and the pool was closed in the fall/winter when I was here.
All things considered, I would recommend the Baechtel Creek Inn as a clean, comfortable, quiet place to spend some time. I intend to return.

Room Tip: No elevators, two story facility. If you have lots to carry to your room and dont want to "lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your well thought out review. We appreciate that you took the time to note where we are located, our rooms, features and breakfast. We always love it when a guest notes that we are the only hotel that is off the road - in a court and in front of us are a McDonald's and Taco Bell - and we sit at the end of the court - with nothing else back here.

We do strive to keep our rooms clean and well mantained and up to date. Currently as our off season begins we are replacing shower/tub units with more up to date, replacing our carpet and putting in new drapes - all in the next few months! We do agree that outlets are a problem in many hotels, especially now that people travel with so many phones, tablets, etc. We have been looking into a device called a Cubie - which mounts onto a piece of furniture and has 3 outlet plugs and a plug in for phones. So look for that soon also.

Our egg dishes - most of the time we offer two - one vegatarian and one with meat - is in a chaffing dish which has an electric heater right underneath it. Probably not visible to our guests. The chafing dish has an underpan with hot water - then the main pan sits on top of that. I apologize that the eggs felt cold - and will check into that.

Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a nice place! Kudos go to the staff -- all very friendly helpful and above and beyond. Property is beautifully maintained. The breakfast in the lobby and breakfast room or adjoining pool is high quality and well supplied. Coffee and Tea anytime! The pool was cold in October but they had the hot tub up to snuff for seniors and toddlers-- very much appreciated. There was just nothing lacking with the service. The rooms are definitely clean and lovely linens, extras. They are a tad bit small, but that is just the CA layout style. It was a destination wedding and this was the Inn that was picked.. thought it was great. Would highly recommend to any group of people or travelers

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room-- ask for a lower level if you have problems getting luggage u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Ms. Sattler: We were delighted to host the guests of the Ferris/Casten wedding - everyone was great and we were thrilled to see everyone having a great time. Kudos to the Bride and Groom, Mo & Damien, for thinking of so many ways to welcome and take care of their guests - from the rehearsal dinner on Friday night to the hot chocolate and dessert after arriving back to the hotel from the wedding! We were delighted we could host their friends and family and do all that we could to provide a memorable occasion!
We hope you come back to California and have time to check out this amazing area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection

Address: 101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the "Gateway to the Redwoods," we are the premier location for visitors seeking a more individualized, distinctive travel experience and who seek a sense of the local flavor of our county and the historic town of Willits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Willits
Clarion Willits
Willits Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.