We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Willits
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marble Falls, Texas
1 review
“Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The manager was very friendly and worked with us on price. Our room was nicely furnished and clean. The breakfast was what I would consider gourmet with every option imaginable. We stayed in 14 different hotels on a 17 day driving trip and this was the best experience we had. Located in a quiet, lovely area. Nice pool and spa. Very important to us was that it was a smoke free facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are thrilled that out of so many stays - we were your favorite one! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast - we do strive to make it as healthy and robust as possible for our guests. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    50
    19
    15
    10
See reviews for
40
68
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in WIllits on numerous other occasions, but first time at Baechtel Creek Inn.
Location is better than any other property in town, in that it is "set back" from Highway 101, so it does mitigate most of the highway noise at the property. A downside (just for esthetics) is the motel is located behind, and adjacent to, McDonald's and Taco Bell properties, but it did not bother me in the least.
Had reservations so check in was fast, friendly, and professional.
Room was immaculate and sufficient for a lone person or couple; comes with small refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, shower/tub combo, and King bed.
Only complaints were room did not have enough electrical outlets, reading lamp adjacent to work desk had no outlet unless you unplugged either the clock radio or bedside lamp.
Also, there is only one ice machine on the property; it is adjacent to the office which was a distance from my room at the far other end of the motel.
But, it was a nice evening so it was not an issue for me.

Motel is two story, with stairs, no elevators. So, if you have a lot of luggage or too tired to haul your stuff upstairs, opt for downstairs.
Breakfast is provided 6:30am to 9:30am in small dining area adjacent to front desk.
Items include fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, toast, bagels, and two egg dishets. Not sure exactly what the egg dishes were. One was marked "vegetables", the other "with meat". Tried both.
Vegetable one seemed to have scr ambled eggs with hash browns, mushrooms, and onions mixed in. The other, the "with meat" dish..looked like it contained eggs, but did not taste like it to me; it appeared to have egg with red peppers but I never tasted any kind of meat(s).
Sad thing for these egg dishes was they were in a large metal tray, no heat...they were cold and no way to heat them up..no burners, no microwaves, etc. Not sure what to make of this.

Also had lots of hot coffee, milk, orange juice. Breakfast not the high point of my stay unfortunately.
There is a hot tub opened all year, and the pool was closed in the fall/winter when I was here.
All things considered, I would recommend the Baechtel Creek Inn as a clean, comfortable, quiet place to spend some time. I intend to return.

Room Tip: No elevators, two story facility. If you have lots to carry to your room and dont want to "lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your well thought out review. We appreciate that you took the time to note where we are located, our rooms, features and breakfast. We always love it when a guest notes that we are the only hotel that is off the road - in a court and in front of us are a McDonald's and Taco Bell - and we sit at the end of the court - with nothing else back here.

We do strive to keep our rooms clean and well mantained and up to date. Currently as our off season begins we are replacing shower/tub units with more up to date, replacing our carpet and putting in new drapes - all in the next few months! We do agree that outlets are a problem in many hotels, especially now that people travel with so many phones, tablets, etc. We have been looking into a device called a Cubie - which mounts onto a piece of furniture and has 3 outlet plugs and a plug in for phones. So look for that soon also.

Our egg dishes - most of the time we offer two - one vegatarian and one with meat - is in a chaffing dish which has an electric heater right underneath it. Probably not visible to our guests. The chafing dish has an underpan with hot water - then the main pan sits on top of that. I apologize that the eggs felt cold - and will check into that.

Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a nice place! Kudos go to the staff -- all very friendly helpful and above and beyond. Property is beautifully maintained. The breakfast in the lobby and breakfast room or adjoining pool is high quality and well supplied. Coffee and Tea anytime! The pool was cold in October but they had the hot tub up to snuff for seniors and toddlers-- very much appreciated. There was just nothing lacking with the service. The rooms are definitely clean and lovely linens, extras. They are a tad bit small, but that is just the CA layout style. It was a destination wedding and this was the Inn that was picked.. thought it was great. Would highly recommend to any group of people or travelers

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room-- ask for a lower level if you have problems getting luggage u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Ms. Sattler: We were delighted to host the guests of the Ferris/Casten wedding - everyone was great and we were thrilled to see everyone having a great time. Kudos to the Bride and Groom, Mo & Damien, for thinking of so many ways to welcome and take care of their guests - from the rehearsal dinner on Friday night to the hot chocolate and dessert after arriving back to the hotel from the wedding! We were delighted we could host their friends and family and do all that we could to provide a memorable occasion!
We hope you come back to California and have time to check out this amazing area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Checked in to a nearby "motel"...dirty, broken articles in the room etc. Checked out immediately and pretty much resigned ourselves to travel onward to Garberville. Called Baechtel Creek Inn on our cell phone, the desk clerk said we could view the rooms before we signed in. Everything we ever wanted in lodging for the night! Beautiful room, robes in the room, a lovely patio area with a fountain, the room itself was absolutely immaculate. Daughter went to the jacuzzi, I browsed in the lobby where skin care products were available. We felt very taken care of by the staff. When morning came, we were going to grab some coffee and head down the road, but the hot breakfast offered was too tempting...My daughter & I want to come here and try the spa. Feels more like a resort than a hotel...Thanks ...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
OLindaN - thank you so much for your lovely review! We are thrilled that you felt so comfortable and noted all the effort we work hard to accomplish; making sure our rooms are clean, the breakfast, and our amazing landscaping! All of these things are done to add up to an amazing experience and we are delighted that you felt that way.
We look foward to seeing you and your daughter again - our Spa Therapists are the best in the area and we know you will love them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamuning, Guam
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Clean and quiet, central location, wonderful staff and management. Family-owned with caring and accommodating staff in a well-kept property. Complimentary breakfasts to start the day includes a hot dish similar to a Spanish frittata with a choice including a breakfast meat or a vegetarian option. Nice Belgian waffle grill to bake your own. Fresh fruit selections and Good coffee. For future trips to Willits, this is the only choice!

Room Tip: No restaurant on the premises although a complimentary breakfast with a hot dish is provided every d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed meeting you both! We appreciate your comments on our breakfast as we do work diligently to provide healthly, homecooked food instead of the premade choices at many hotels! We appreciate our guests noticing!

Thank you and look forward to seeing you again!

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

At first you will think it is just a off the road motel. We were so glad we stayed. The staff was friendly. The rooms were confortable. The food was good. Is it a 5 star no but it felt like visiting family. would go back anytime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are delighted that you felt like you were visiting family as we do take customer service very seriously. We find that in today's world - hospitality is sometimes becoming hard to find and we want our guests to feel welcomed and valued.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spend 160 or more nights on the road each year, most of those in hotels that all look pretty much alike. The Baechtel Creek Inn is a nice change of pace. The rooms are decorated with a sense of style and the breakfasts are a delight for the road weary. The owner listens and responds to guest feedback, as she has started breakfast earlier so I can drive to see clients, and has offered a splendid vegeterian egg casserole. When I am in Willits.. This is where I stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do strive to give our guests a more unique experience than the typical chain hotel and although we are not a resort, we are glad you noticed all the little things we do that make us more unique!

We are currently in process of putting in new carpeting, new drapes and sheers and also updating our bathrooms to include walk in tile showers! These changes will occur over the next few months and we are excited to share our new look with our guests!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection

Address: 101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the "Gateway to the Redwoods," we are the premier location for visitors seeking a more individualized, distinctive travel experience and who seek a sense of the local flavor of our county and the historic town of Willits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Willits
Clarion Willits
Willits Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.