We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Willits
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sonoma Wine Country
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Dropped in without a reservation on July 4th. Everything worked out just right. The place is very well maintained, breakfast was worthwhile with fresh choices. Price was reasonable for a major Holiday. Jan who is an owner is a pro at the front desk. She made all the difference. Willits, CA wasn't our destination but it served perfectly for us as we headed up to and back from Benbow. Groves of old growth redwood trees are pocketed in northern Mendocino and into Humboldt counties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Willits is called the "Gateway to the Redwoods" because it is located right at the start of the magnificant Coastal Redwood Groves to the North and also to the West. It is also called the "Heart of Mendocino County," because of its centralized location within Mendocino County - easy access to the Coast, the Redwoods and our wineries!
We are glad you were able to stop on your way and stay with us and we appreciate your taking the time to let others know!

We hope to see you again,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    54
    19
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
70
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here while attending the Kate Wolf Music Festival. The room was clean, quiet,and comfortable. They serve a great breakfast in the mornings, with fresh egg dishes,waffles, cereal, pastry, and fresh fruit. The pool and hot tub were fantastic and provided a wonderful way to relax after a long hot day and evening at the festival.The staff was friendly and accommodating. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during the Kate Wolf Music Festival. We always appreciate the nice group of guests we get attending this great festival - held at the last weekend in June! We are glad our hotel and services were worthy of a five star rating!

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a lovely property that is being upgraded. The grounds are beautiful and they have a
spa which we didn't use. Our room wasn't ready so we were upgraded to premier king room.
It was a standard size hotel room but with nice ammenities i.e. bathrobes. We were able to park in front of our room which made moving luggage very easy. Breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit as well as pastries. Things such as carpets are being replaced and will add to the upscale feeling. We thought the price was appropriate for the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and your observations on what we are doing to our property. We are not a resort, but rather prefer to think of ourselves as a Country Hotel. Our goal is to provide unique lodging that is not your typical cookie-cutter feel, by providing more amenities and breakfast which is above the ordinary "chain" hotel. We appreciate that you saw this and took the time to write a review.

Our newest project, and there are always at least one going on, is to replace our existing tub/shower combos with tile walk in showers! We will have our first three ready soon and then the other 40 something!

Thank you again and we hope to see you back again,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We are working our way down the Oregon and California coast lines. We have been staying in Comfort Inn and Quality Inns as we are Choice Privilege members. The Baechtel Creek Inn is a part of this same chain of hotels. This hotel is definitely a step up from the Quality Inns we used the past few nights. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were actually usable. This is an older hotel so the carpet shows the use this establishment obviously gets. Breakfast was good. Especially liked the watermelon as a fresh fruit option that we have not found at other hotels. The gal at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Gave us a great restaurant recommendation.

The only negative was the fact that I booked this hotel using the Comfort Inn website. I asked for hotels in Ft. Bragg. It did say there were no hotels located in Ft. Bragg. However, it gave me the Baechtel Creek Inn saying it was "in the area". Unfortunately, my mistake..........I did not look on a map to see that Willits is 33 miles from Ft. Bragg, and Rt. 20 is a road with lots of curves so it took almost an hour to go the 33 miles. Once I realized my mistake, I called to see if I could cancel my reservation. Sadly, I was informed that there is a 24 hour cancellation policy so I would be charged if I cancelled. Most hotels allow a cancellation to be made before 4:00PM the same day as your check-in date. Be aware that Baechtel Creek Inn's cancellation policy is not that generous!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We belong to a new collection of unique, boutique and historical inns that are a membership (not a franchise) with Choice Hotels. Our guests still earn their Choice Priviledge points. Thank you for noticing the details of the breakfast - we always try to do some type of seasonal fruit.

So sorry you thought you were booking in Fort Bragg - the Choice Hotel website will pull up hotels approx 25 miles in all directions unless you change the qualifications. You probably didn't notice we are in Willits. Our cancellation policy is 24 hour - and we do let our guests know and send an email to confirm their reservation. Glad you were able to stay with us though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of finding this little gem and absolutely loved it! We have been raving about it to our friends and family since visiting. It's such a cute place with lovely and very helpful hosts. We immediately felt relaxed and at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Their knowledge of the area was so helpful - great sightseeing tips and excellent restaurant suggestions.

Our room was very clean, spacious and well appointed. But the highlight of the room was the massive bed. So comfortable! Also noteworthy was the water pressure. A fan of a hot shower with good pressure, it was spot on.

Having their own spa with a range of treatments was great. I must say, one of the highlights of our whole trip was a spa treatment, a deluxe facial, by a therapist named Sarah. Oh my goodness! Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. I can't rave enough (and I'm very fussy with treatments). Please add this to you to-do list.

We loved our stay and will be back. We're already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write us such a lovely review. We are thrilled you were happy with your stay! Our beds are amazing - Sealy mattresses with two layers of tempurpetic foam inside! Our Spa Therapists are amazing and Sarah is much in demand for her facials! Thank you again,

Jan & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Baechtel Creek Inn several times. I'm giving this hotel the top rating. The attractive rooms are spotless. The property, which backs up to the lovely Baechtel Creek, is very well maintained. Gorgeous roses everywhere. The pool and hot tub are set against the creek, such a pretty view. The room price includes a sizable breakfast buffet, which is an amazing value. We indulged in a variety of spa treatments during our stays and found the massueses and estheticians to be top notch. The entire staff at the Baechtel Creek Inn is welcoming, warm and helpful. You can feel this establishment is run with a passion for hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review and taking the time to notice all the little things which make a property nicer . . . like the flowers! We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Jan & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We traveled in from Reno and decided to stop for the night. The grounds are just wonderful. Someone takes a lot of pride in this place. The room was just average. For the price I was disappointed.$119.00 a night I expected more. The next night we stayed @ Gold Beach and got a one bedroom two bathroom with kitchen and living room for the same price.The room here was just basic. That being said, the employees are very friendly. The breakfast was very good.
They have a gazebo out front for smokers which is nice so I don't have to feel like a criminal for smoking. We got to meet the resident dogs. Very cute.
They have a pool and hot tub. My friend stuck her hand in the hot tub and said it felt just warm so we didn't partake. Over all I would stay here again as it is nice. Just a little over priced. But maybe not 'cause the breakfast was really good! lol

Room Tip: I see that they have themed rooms. Maybe ask for one of those. If I had known that when we stayed ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us as you were passing through Willits. We appreciate that your took note of the landscaping and small things we do to make our guests feel welcome. Our hot breakfast is homemade and something most of our guests really enjoy. We hope to see you again as you "pass thru!"

Jan & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection

Address: 101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the "Gateway to the Redwoods," we are the premier location for visitors seeking a more individualized, distinctive travel experience and who seek a sense of the local flavor of our county and the historic town of Willits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Willits
Clarion Willits
Willits Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baechtel Creek Inn, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.