We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot to spend the night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Willits
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot to spend the night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice, clean and attractive motel set back from the street which makes is quiet. We had one room with two queen beds that were very clean, includes a coffee pot and a small frig. Price was reasonable at $109 a night. I would have liked to try the spa if we had more time. Would recommend the motel based on service, price, location and comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you - we appreciate your review and taking notice of the things we work hard to do to make our hotel stand out! We would love to have you stay with us again.

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    43
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
58
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The beds were so comfortable and clean...I could have slept all day..Great breakfast and
beautiful dining room with view of pool and creek outside. Quiet and clean and I loved the
waffles, my favorite..Fresh homemade..and hot.
The owner Jan was a really great host and told us about fabulous resturants in the area..She's
and her staff were very friendly and helpful...I would stay there again, hopefully in the summer.
Beautiful area and close to the ocean...Glass beach was beautiful...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side upstairs very quiet. Great heater worked to warm room very quickly and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you Marsha for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back in the summer.

There are so many things to do here - the Skunk Train leaves Willits daily from end of May thru September for its historical trips thru our scenic valley and redwoods, the Mendocino County Museum is located in Willits and is a fascinating piece of the history of this area. We have lovely hiking trails which used to be old logging trails - and because of our centralized location within our County - it is easy to take day trips to the Coast - the giant Redwoods and America's Greenest Wine Region! We love to assist our guests in finding the out of the way spots and are thrilled when they discover the beauty of our county!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beds so comfortable, I didn't want to get up. Freshly cooked breakfast items, french toast, waffles, egg and potatoes dish, oatmeal. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean and quiet. Great, easy location to find. They go the extra mile to make sure your stay is fun and refreshing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you had a great night's sleep- our Sealy Mattresses have been a favorite of many guests! We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were driving through and couldn't make it much past Willits, CA and we thought we'd be stuck at a dinky motel but found this beautiful gem that makes you feel safe and secure as well as a little pampered. And it was a great price!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
So glad you disovered our Inn! We appreiate your comments and have shared them with our staff. We hope to see you again!

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

comfortable, clean, quiet. good bed and linens.
good location, we were just passing through.
only disappointment was no PBS on their cable system. wanted to watch Downtown Abbey season premiere!
helpful staff about local restaurants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write us a review. We have satellite tv and have just added new receivers to get many more channels - so thank you for that observation!

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I took a nostalgic trip to Willits, the town where my grandparents retired in the early 1960's. We have been there many times, but this was our first time at the upgraded inn. I received excellent, personalized service from the moment of calling in a reservation. Having told the manager we were coming for wine tasting and some good restaurants, I promptly received an email back with a list of the manager's favorite wineries and restaurants. The manager also suggested a wine dinner that was to be held in the Ukiah area. The manager personally made our dinner reservation for us at the new Adam's restaurant in Willits, and we loved the recommended Patrona restaurant in Ukiah. Our room was very nice, the morning breakfast tasty, and when we forgot a bottle in our room, the manager personally mailed it to our home.... Excellent service all around, and contrary to the rating of being the number three play to stay in Willits, I have seen them all and this is the number one place..... Will return next year.....

Room Tip: We had one of the upgraded rooms in the adults only building....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We are glad we could be part of your nostalgic trip to Willits. One of the truly enjoyable parts of the hotel business is assisting guests in finding all the hidden gems in our area - the boutique wineries and the fascinating museum that is here in Willits and the ranch of the famous racehorse, Seabiscuit are just a few of the treasures. We get enthused listening to guests as they tell us about their experiences and pleasure in the things sites and places we have recommended!

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The images of the rooms do not match the rooms. I asked for a pet friendly room, and got a disgusting smelly room--and by smelling, I mean SMELLING OF CIGARETTES not dog! When I complained, instead of moving me to a non smoking room, the manager insisted I was wrong (I wasn't) and lied about this being a smokers room. The customer service sucked, the breakfast was greasy, gross and served on paper plates. The customer service is TERRIBLE. If you are trying to go upscale, you need to properly cater to people with dogs. This is a rat motel with a bow tie. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanBaechtel, General Manager at Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
There are reviews which are constructive and then there are reviews which are just mean and unconstructive.
This guest had a small pet and booked the last of our pet rooms for the night (we have 4 pet friendly rooms.) She called and said the room smelled like smoke and she wanted another room. Not only were we out of pet friendly rooms, but were also out of our traditional rooms as well. We had maintenance go up to the room and she insisted to him that this was a smoking room. We are 100% smoke free - and let her know that it was not a smoking room. Although we personally did not smell smoke ( and we are very sensitive to smoke smell) we offered to bring in our ozone machine which works by electric current if she would be willing to go down to the lobby for 20 minutes. She said no - and asked for a fan, which we brought her.

We also let her know that if she did not want to stay, we understood and would refund her money. She said she wanted to stay. She requested an express checkout and we did that.
.
The following morning she insisted the room was a smoking room and I personally assured her we were 100% non smoking property. I also let her know that if we would have had a room to switch her to, we would have - and she began telling me that most hotels allow pets in every room and we should do the same. We even discounted $40.00 from her bill for her dissatisfaction and asked her if that worked for her.
We feel we did everything possible for make this guest happy and can only conclude that the old saying "There is little difference in people, but that little difference makes a big difference. The little difference is attitude. The big difference is whether it is positive or negative."
~W. Clement Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection

Address: 101 Gregory Lane, Willits, CA 95490
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Willits
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Willits
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the "Gateway to the Redwoods," we are the premier location for visitors seeking a more individualized, distinctive travel experience and who seek a sense of the local flavor of our county and the historic town of Willits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Willits
Clarion Willits
Willits Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baechtel Creek Inn & Spa, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.