We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I've come to expect from Quality Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Williams

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Williams to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Williams
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 C St., Williams, CA 95987 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Williams
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not what I've come to expect from Quality Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Nothing really stood out as being bad. It was adequate. But relative to other Quality Inns, I expected a better room for the money. Particularly for it's location. I've paid way less, for way better. I would suggest stopping at the Comfort Inn in Woodland about 20 miles south.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We have lived here a couple weeks while we were buying a house. After we were here a while, I decided to check out its reviews and was prompted to write one myself.

First, it is no longer called the Comfort Inn. It changed its name to the Quality Inn. I believe this may be due to the fact that it came under new ownership about 2 years ago. I think the current owners do a good job. I noticed a lot of reviews about outdated rooms. Yes, the bathrooms are done in pink tile, but personally I think it looks good. The comforter is a neutral striped gold. Overall, I would say it's not sparkling shiny and new, but I wouldn't really go so far as to call it "outdated." I was very happy with our room.

The positive points are the cleanliness, the complimentary breakfast and newspaper, the customer service, and the spaciousness and the amenities of the rooms. The breakfast is really good, better than most continental breakfasts. They have boiled eggs, waffles, sausage, bagels, danishes, and more. Our room had a microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, iron, and hairdryer. They also have a very clean pool and hot tub. And the mattress was much more comfortable than what we usually find at the cheapest places. Also, they have free wifi in the lobby, and they will give you a cord for free to get internet in your room. Most places in Williams charge for internet.

The location has good and bad points. It's very close to I-5 and the entire town of Williams doesn't really have a "bad" neighborhood. It is walking distance to most of town including restaurants, bars, etc. However, it is way too close to the freeway. Our room was on the freeway side, and the noise was very noticeable. However, we stayed here for a long time, and it only bothered us when we were outside the room trying to talk on our cell phones (the reception wasn't good inside for Sprint). It is nearly impossible to hear anything outside the room because the freeway is so loud. Inside the room you can still hear it, but it's not nearly as loud. At first I thought it would keep us up at night, but with the AC on you can't really notice it. But I definitely suggest getting a room on the opposite side of the hotel, not on the freeway side.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here on your way up or down I-5. I think it is a good value. There is a Motel 6 literally next door that is often a little cheaper, and I usually do stay in Motel 6 due to cost when I only have to stay one night, but since we were living here for a few weeks, we decided to go with something a little more decent, and we are glad we did.

By the way, go to Louis Cairo's for drinks and food (if you can spend $20/plate). Only go to Granzella's for food if you can't afford Louis Cairo's. But if you like to drink, Louis Cairo's is better and stays open later. Granzella's bar will ignore you if you come in after 9pm. But both have good food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Travel home on I-5 north we needed a hotel for the night. We used one of those free travel coupon booklets. We went to the Comfort Inn it look alright. It was a very used old motel. The rooms were clean. It is a very much in need of a updating pink tile on counter and in bath tub. The heater didn't work. We asked for a new room. Went to new room light over sink didn't work. Stayed in the old room. Beds were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was waffles, pastries cereal, orange, coffee and tea. Everyone at the motel was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williams hotels

Surrey, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Stopped here for one night on a roadtrip down I-5. Clean and comfortable. Reasonably priced. Nice continental breakfast. No complaints.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

Older Motel. Rooms Clean. Needs some renovations. Breakfast area too small.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

I am writing this from my room at the Comfort Inn in Williams. The upside is the free high speed connection, the down side is the peeling wallpaper and overall poor condition of the rooms (especially for the cost). It also has a terrible location. I made a reservation based on someone else's recommendation and without checking TripAdvisor (big mistake). When I arrived in Williams and drove by the hotel I tried to switch to Granzella's but they were sold out. I would suggest staying at Granzella's or keep on driving.

  • Liked — Internet access
  • Disliked — General condition of hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Always check TripAdvisor
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

Found the Comfort Inn on the internet and was wildly disappointed. Hotel is very much in need of a refresh. Our room had blankets with large holes, hair dryer whose holder was broken (i.e. dangled on counter), tub with major enamel chips, sink with crossed hot/cold, no drain cover on sink, holes in carpet, poorly functioning door lock. Add to that the most ridiculously small hotel pool I've ever seen, horrid location at the end of town, and sheets/blankets so small they didn't cover both bodies in the double - don't stay there. The only redeeming feature was a great breakfast buffet. I'd recommend either the Motel 6 next door, or bypassing Williams altogether (nothing to see).

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — poor quality at far too high price
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid it
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Williams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Williams

Address: 400 C St., Williams, CA 95987 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Williams 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Williams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Williams
Comfort Inn Williams
Williams Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Williams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.