We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop here if you have the time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granzella's Restaurant & Deli

Granzella's Restaurant & Deli
451 6th Street, Williams, CA 95987
(530) 473-5583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Williams
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
BONANZA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Stop here if you have the time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have eaten here several times in the restaurant and the deli to take with me.

The restaurant has a wonderful menu to select from and there is something for everyone. The decor of the restaurant is very pleasing and I have always been hard pressed to leave.

The deli has so much to select from, that at times, I cannot make up my mind. There are breads, meats, cheeses, drinks, and many more items. The sandwiches are very taste and all items are middle of the road in price.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend stopping here if you have the time. It will be a delight to your senses and pocketbook!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    94
    41
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good breakfasts at reasonable price. Interesting memorabilia on the walls and nice deli, and alwthora of various olives.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Breakfast, finallly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We usually leave the Silicon Valley early to try and miss the Bay Area's Monday morning traffic rush (not always successfully). Leaving at 6:30, we used to stop at Bill & Kathy's at the juncture of the 505 and I-5...but, since its closing, we've had to push on to Williams and Granzella's. By the time we get there, their breakfast rush is over and our hunger is reaching a peak.
I must say we do enjoy the place...not only for the much needed coffee and vittles. We usually buy something to give to the neighbor who keeps an eye on our house while we're gone (this time it was a freshly baked Focaccia (should have gotten one for ourselves as well). In warmer seasons, we also get freshly made deli sandwiches to enjoy at one of the rest stops in the Shasta or Siskiyou Pass areas).
This time, however, my wife had the breakfast special (pancakes w/bacon $5.29) and I had the tri-tip skillet w/country fried potatoes ($9.75). I think those prices are very reasonable and the food was certainly fine. By the time we got there, there were only a few diners in the restaurant, so the service was quick and friendly. We've been there before at lunchtime when the place is mobbed.
Our Plan B in case we get caught in heavy rush hour jams is to find a place in Vacaville, since there's literally nothing in between Vacaville and Williams. So far, we've been fortunate and have found Granzella's to be a breakfast life saver.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Check out the deli section, the ice cream counter, all the variety of olives, and all the other fun things in the restaurant. Great stop for sure!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
515 helpful votes 515 helpful votes
“It's not Chainfood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

On a trip up I-5 in California, lunch time approached and we could not bear to think about eating at another chain or fast food restaurant. Fortunatly our GPS came to the rescue and listed Granzells'a at an upcomming exit. As we had never heard of it, the odds were in our favor that it was not chainfood. And, indeed it was not.

This establishment is a bit touristy in nature consisting of a sit down Itialian restaurant, a deli, a large bar/saloon and a local products store.

We ate at the restaurant, after a 20 minute wait (lunch time). The food was average for the price and the service was good. The entree I ordered (Italian Susage as I recall) was good, but different than I expected - which of course is one of the things that makes non chain establishments much more interesting. In this case though I think I would have preferred my dish prepared in a more typical manner. The others in our party ordered different things and had not complaints.

The deli looked quite interesting with a wide variety of things you could order in terms of just meats and cheeses or made to order sandwhiches and some other hot entree items. If we stop here again, I think we'll order at the deli counter instead to save some time since the food looked equally as good as the sit down.

The bar/saloon was pretty good size and well attended, seing as how it was a Sunday at around noon. In fact I was intrigued in the number of people in there given the size of the town and can only surmise, to my dismay, that many of them would soon be out on I-5 driving near me.

The local products shop looked touristy but fine. The main product of the area is olives and they had every concievable form of them for sale. they also had a wall area consisting of a dozen or more olive vesions for free tasting which is a nice touch.

So, all in all, a good choice on I5 north of Sacramento - espeically compared with the normal highway exit chain food fare.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granzella's Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Granzella's Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granzella's Restaurant & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.