We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Westminster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Westminster to your Saves list
Super 8 Westminster
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   15559 Beach Blvd, Westminster, CA 92683 7104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Westminster
SAN JOSE
1 review
“Breakfast?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I didn't see any sign that breakfast was offered, nor was I told that it was available. In fact, there was NO coffee or tea setup in the lobby. It would have been nice to at least have some coffee before I departed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8westminster, Webmaster at Super 8 Westminster, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting about our hotel. Breakfast is offered on the posted schedule, and I’m very sorry that was not communicated to you. Much has changed and improved at our hotel since your stay, and I hope you’ll join us again so you can see for yourself how we’re getting better day by day. Again, I apologize that we did not meet your expectations at the time of your stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
26
13
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband, young boys and myself arrived at Super 8 on a Thursday for 3 nights. I was happy with the evening clerk that checked me in. He was pleasant and the check in process was quick. Our room was clean and up to date with tasteful modern furnishings. I was intending to write a pretty good review for this motel until check out time approached. My older son, almost 4, was not feeling well and needed my extra TLC which of course set me behind packing our things to meet the 11am check out time. Well, I thought I would call the front desk to let the motel know that I needed an extra 45 minutes to check out. When I called a lady answered and told me she could only give me 30 minutes extra and if I was past 11:30 then she would charge my credit card on file. I informed her that I refused to pay an extra charge and that I have never heard of a hotel/motel refusing to let their customers check out 1` hour after the regular check time. She informed me that it was fair due to the fact that the next guests were able to check in to the motel at their regular check in time at 3pm. I said "are you kidding me?" I was waiting for Astin Kutcher to come knocking at my door to tell me I was really on his show "Punked". Of course no one came knocking at my door and the lady clerk and I exchanged some words back and fourth. I will have to tell you that she was one of the worst people I have ever encountered in my life. I would never want anyone to go through that, so my advise is to find another motel/hotel. STAY AWAY FROM THAT WICKED WOMAN.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8westminster, Webmaster at Super 8 Westminster, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for taking time to comment about our hotel. I’m very sorry that our customer service was not up to our usual standards during your stay. Since that time, we have made a number of changes and improvements at the hotel, including staffing changes and retraining. We think if you visit us again you’ll find a much better experience, and we look forward to welcoming you when you’re in the area again. I sincerely apologize for the trouble you had during this visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DISCOVERY BAY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

JAY, the manager was very helpful. the location seemed to be a bit "questionable", but it turned out to be just fine, and the night staff(some guy) assured us that we were in a safe neighborhood.
At first we had a room where the toilet was broken. We were offered another room, however, the night staff (some guy) thought he was being helpful by showing us that the toilet wasn't really broken, and all we had to do was take the lid off of the toilet and attach the toilet handle to the flushing thingy. gross. We took the other room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This clean Super 8 is close to the highway and Little Saigon (Vietnamese supermarkets and restaurants). It was reasonably priced. I called to book 1 extra night prior to what was booked through Expedia and they were good about it and gave me the same rate. Although it is close to the strip mall with a bar but no worries my rental car was always where it should be. Breakfast area is quite small just across from the reception. The rooms were clean. This location is ideal if you would like to visit the beaches (Manhattan, Hermosa, Redondo), Palo Verdes and San Diego areas. That's what we did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here when we were driving along on a roadtrip around the USA and it started to get dark. We decided to take a random highway exit and came across this place.

I rushed into the reception to check prices and after hearing they were quite low, and receiving really friendly service from the woman behind the desk, I went out to the car to tell my girlfriend that I'd book us a night.

Despite us dropping in at night and looking for a last minute room, the woman behind the desk was really warm and welcoming. We were given a discounted king room which was quite large with a clean bathroom. The WiFi worked fine.

We also used the laundry at the motel which was fine, and noticed a decent yet small fitness room and hot tub (unfortunately we didn't have time to try these). The included breakfast was also very good - served in a dining room with a TV, we helped ourselves to a hot buffet breakfast ranging from juice, yoghurt, toast and cereal, to waffles and sausages with 'biscuits and gravy'.

While we didn't get to see much of Westminster (although we did buy a camera from the nearby Target superstore), it is quite close to Denver.

I'd definitely recommend this place if you're passing through but want a little more than a 'just passing through' motel, or even if you're looking for cheap accommodation outside of the bigger cities (we came from Fort Collins and headed out to explore Boulder the next morning).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Smelly and in poor condition. Blankets were stained as were the sheets and there was a huge burn hole in the blanket. I really think the bar next door was filled with working girls that were spilling into the parking lot.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8westminster, Webmaster at Super 8 Westminster, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

It has been some time now since your visit, and many aspects of the hotel have changed and improved. I only wish we had been able to provide a nicer experience during your time with us. While we can’t do much about the neighbors, we can and have made improvements to the facility itself. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not up to your standards, and I hope you’ll try us again if you’re ever in the area again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Westminster

Address: 15559 Beach Blvd, Westminster, CA 92683 7104
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Westminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Westminster 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Westminster Hotel Westminster
Super Eight Westminster
Westminster Super Eight
Westminster Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.