We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Dole Drive, Westlake Village, CA 91362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Four Seasons and have nothing but great things to say. From check-in to check-out, everyone was so helpful and accommodating of any request we had. The room was beautiful and well appointed. The spa was wonderful and relaxing. The food was very good. The service was really the exceptional part, though. As an example, one evening we were in the restaurant for late night drinks and dessert. We asked for a drink that they were unfamiliar with. The bartender found the recipe and made it for us. She came over later and offered us another one (on the house) after "perfecting the recipe". This is definitely a hotel we will visit again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    128
    49
    17
    10
See reviews for
163
224
34
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, North Carolina
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed at this property 2 weeks ago. The hotel is designed like an "old school" Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. Think of the classic Fairmont style. Chandelier in room, gold/yellow wallpaper abounding and bold carpet hues like cobalt blue, jade green, and cherry red.

First, the staff was highly accommodating and very friendly -- typical of Four Seasons but very appreciated nonetheless.

The rooms were large, as expected, with top notch furniture and carpeting. The bathroom was pure marble and very large, with a separate toilet area, a flat screen TV, a separate tub and shower. Toiletries were all L'Occitane (one minor complaint: they're using the old version of L'Occitane shampoo/conditioner and the newer lemon verbena is preferred).

For room service on night, I ordered a filet with red wine sauce and it was just delicious and cooked perfectly! Please order the macaroni/cheese gratin as a side. It's the 2nd best mac 'n cheese I've ever tasted (sorry: celebrity chef Michelle Bernstein wins in this category!). Room service forgot the creme brulee (the only part of the dinner I thought was average) and the server did a nice thing by gently knocking on the door and asking for permission to come in with his key so that I wouldn't have to get up from my room service table. Nice touch.

One reviewer commented on the thin walls. I must admit that for a luxury property the walls were fairly thin. I did here some commotion a couple of times from an adjacent room. The hotel is a fairly new property. I've noticed lately with a lot of the new hotel properties that I've stayed in that the wall insulation has been less than adequate. I stayed in a brand spankin' new Marriott Courtyard in Colliersville, TN and I might as well have shared the room with my neighbor, as the walls were so thin. These walls aren't nearly that bad but are not quite up to normal Four Season standards.

Having said that, I stayed at the Westlake Village Inn 3 weeks prior and would NOT return to that property and it is purely for the outside noise I experienced there. The room was fine at the Westlake Village Inn. I experienced 10 times more noise there than at the Four Seasons, due to rooms opening to the outdoors and to clay tiles, and due to being placed adjacent to the iron railed metal stairway.

Room Tip: The waterfall side has better views but slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Although the Hotel is inconvenient, if you need to travel to LA during busy time, we found the value and the spa make it worthwhile to stay as opposed to a more convenient downtown hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We visited family in Westlake Village last weekend and had to choose between the Westlake Village Inn and the Four Seasons. Our family recommended the former, we chose the latter. Probably a mistake.

Visually and from within, the hotel can't be beat. Our room was well appointed, great linens and super comfortable. The common areas, spa and grounds were wonderful. This is a hotel that really lends itself to pictures. Couple great photos with the Four Seasons brand and that probably explains why most would choose this hotel over others in the area. Staff is another Four Seasons asset.... always helpful and informed.

Unfortunately there were several problems with the hotel or at least our experience last weekend. First - location. The hotel is essentially in a business park bounded on one side by a large highway. The size of the property coupled with smart landscaping and design softens this issue but it still remains a problem. The Westlake Village Inn and Hyatt are located on the other side of the highway in more of a residential area with golf course, lake and parklike setting.

Second problem - noise. We were in room 334 - AVOID ANY ROOM EVEN CLOSE. It was located above the Lobby Lounge where an event was taking place Saturday night with a heavy base going 'til after midnight and rocking every room even close to the event. We complained at 11pm, were told it would end by midnight and were given comp breakfasts the next morning. The music did stop then at 1pm it became clear there was completely insufficient soundproofing between rooms - the party in the next room was talking with an overseas party and we could hear every word. Security visited the party in the next room but it was clear that the problem was not with sound level within the room but with soundproofing. At 8am the next morning, cartoons started in the room on the opposite side of us. Front desk staff offered to move us at 3am but we were just to tired to contemplate such a move.

Third problem - food service. We had the breakfast buffet Sunday morning in the Lobby Lounge. At $29 each plus the cost of espresso coffees, juice, etc. and being at the Four Seasons, we expected great things. We started off with coffees made with Lavazza beans in Lavazza cups.... not a good start. Let's just say no one searched the world for fine coffees and came up with Lavazza. The selection on the buffet was not only poor but the display was dreadful. Baked goods including breads clearly were produced off site (baked on site) then loaded onto a cheap looking Ikea cart. What fruit (melon, watermelon, pineapple) was provided was of high quality but limited in type and again, sparse and poorly displayed. The primary food items included an omelette bar, french toast, a vegan frittata, bacon, and a veggie patty. Note to F/B manager - check out the buffet breakfast at the Fairmont San Francisco.

Fourth problem - ownership. Robert Murdoch. Need I say more. Scumbags may hire first class hoteliers to run their properties - this doesn't change the fact they are still scumbags. I suspect most people wouldn't care about this point - it is an important issue to us.

As one might expect from the Four Seasons, the front desk manager was professional and very understanding and provided us (and several other hotel guests) with a certificate for a complimentary deluxe room on our next visit. I expect our next visit, given what we know, will be much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid any room close to special event facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asrhodes, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We were especially grateful to have the chance to speak with you during your visit and work to resolve your concerns during the visit. The unfortunate noise disturbances have been addressed by senior management and upon your return visit, we are encouraged your experience will improve. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the Farmers Market Breakfast experience. Upon your next visit we hope you have time to enjoy our Sunday brunch which offers a greater diversity of menu selections. We look forward to your forthcoming return to Westlake Village and the Four Seasons Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you live in Southern California, this is an easy getaway for sleep deprived parents who do not want to be too far away from their young kids left at home with their grandparents, and requires almost no planning. Guests of the hotel can use the spa facilities at their leisure. Because the massage therapists are part of the hotel's wellness program, they are top notch and can zero in on any health issues you may have. They also make recommendations for continuing care at home. I highly recommend Tierra Sur Restaurant (Herzog Winery) not too far away in Oxnard if you want to leave the hotel to eat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed on business for a Sales Conference and was amazed at the beauty of the place the friendly staff and stay in general great large bathrooms comfy beds and easy work spaces!
Thank you for making my stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher the better for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Exceptional hotel , staff & amenities. Best stay we have had anywhere..and we
travel a lot. Unlike most hotels, the food was consistently fabulous..no reason to
go out anywhere else to eat. Although a most luxurious, upscale hotel, there was
not an ounce of "stuffiness" which was refreshing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village

Address: Two Dole Drive, Westlake Village, CA 91362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Westlake Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westlake Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to both Los Angeles and Malibu, Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village offers a convenient destination for both business and leisure with extensive meeting space, diverse dining options, acres of gardens, an extensive Spa and health-inspired programs at California Health & Longevity Institute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
Four Seasons Westlake Village
Westlake Village Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.